Skip to content
Navigate forward to access suggested results

    How do I read and send messages?

    Messaging on Airbnb starts when a guest makes an enquiry or reservation request. After that, all messages related to that enquiry or reservation request will appear in your inbox.

    You must be logged in to your Airbnb account to read or send messages and you can only send 25 messages within any 24-hour period.

    To read or send a message

    1. Go to your Messages
    2. Click on a message thread to read existing messages or send a new one

    To remove a message from your inbox

    1. Go to your Messages
    2. Open the message thread you wish to archive
    3. Hover over the archive icon near the top of the page and click Archive
    4. To read a message you archived, click the dropdown menu above your messages and select Archived conversations.

    What else to know

    When you click on a message, you can read the conversation and also find the following info on the Details panel:

    • A link to the user’s profile including number of reviews, verifications and description
    • Reservation and payment details such as date of enquiry, number of guests and overview of price information
    • Events such as reservation confirmations, pre-approvals and special offers that are notated in the timeline of the conversations
    • If you’re a host, find out more about how to manage your guest messages

    Note: If a message makes you feel uncomfortable or someone tries to get you to pay outside Airbnb, click the flag icon next to the message to let us know. Please note this feature is only available the Airbnb website and not the app.

    Did you get the help you needed?

    Related articles