Double Bed in Beautiful Home
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Beautiful bedroom in a historic home with wood floors, comfortable mattress and large shared bathroom.

Must love dogs (albeit non-shedding). Less than two miles from downtown Charleston and the interstate in a safe, quiet, residential neighborhood. This is one of two bedrooms we rent out from our house.

The space

This room has beautiful large windows and wood floors. The double bed is very comfortable. A vanity and closet are available for your use. For longer stays a dresser is available.

Guest access

The guest has access to the whole house, including kitchen privileges. There is also a lovely, large backyard, wrap around deck and front porch, which the guest is welcome to use.

Interaction with guests

We both work full-time, but I (Kara) am always available by phone. I'm happy to show you around Charleston on the weekends or point you in the right direction!

Other things to note

Please, please communicate what time you will be here. Check-in is 4pm-10pm, which means we can be available within those times. It does NOT mean we will be waiting from 4pm-10pm for you to get here (we have to run errands, walk dogs, go to the gym etc. in the evenings as well). We understand that things come up, but if your schedule changes let us know as soon as it does so we aren't waiting around. Check-in is LATEST 10:00pm unless you have made prior arrangements with us before your booking.

The washing machine and dryer are available to guests who stay a week or more.

We do not provide coffee or breakfast, but guests are welcome to make their own.

We have three dogs: two goldendoodles and a standard poodle. None shed and are considered "hypoallergenic" breeds. The dogs have free range of the house (but not your room) and are very, very friendly. They are low-key and will leave you alone unless you want to be snuggled with.


Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Heating
Air conditioning

House Rules
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

-Please no smoking in the house. There are porches for that.
-If you use the kitchen (which you are welcome to do) please do your dishes when you are done.
-Please let me know if something breaks or you need something. I won't know if you don't tell me!
-Please take off your shoes before coming inside.
-Please do not leave wet towels or glasses on the wood.
-Please close the toilet lid before flushing.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

135 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jeanette User Profile
September 2017
Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The shared bathroom was very clean and nice. Great place to stay.

Daniel User Profile
September 2017
Kara and Austin's place was easy to find off the highway (away from the noise), tucked away in a small neighborhood up on a hill through windy and steep roads. There was no sign of the dog when I stayed, the house was really neat and clean, a small kitchen and the room was just as it was pictured in their ad. I met Austin much later in the evening and Kara chatted with me through the app as she was out of town. I had the house to myself and ate my Japanese ramen with hot water made in the electric kettle. Early in the morning, the housekeeper came in and started to clean downstairs. If you're not an early riser, wear earplugs. The housekeeper was really nice. Overall, my time was enjoyable there and I would stay again.

Elizabeth User Profile
September 2017
I had a wonderful stay at Kara and Austin's home. Their place is very clean and quiet. They have little signs up in their house to help guests with their stay and even included a list of things to do and see in Charleston. They were also willing to work with me and my schedule needs which I really appreciated. I highly recommend checking them out if you are planning to stay in the Charleston area!

Anna User Profile
September 2017
Kara and Austin were great hosts! I was passing through Charleston for the night and needed a place to stay, and their cozy room was perfect--I slept so well. They were very welcoming and their dogs were so sweet. I quickly felt at home.

Amanda User Profile
August 2017
I stayed with Kara and Austin long term, during a clinical rotation, and they surpassed all my expectations. Everything was exactly as described in the ad ad and they were very accommodating to all the kitchen and laundry needs that come with a long term stay. They made sure I was always comfortable and gave me any advice I needed on place to go or restaurants. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone looking for a short or long term stay in Charleston.

Sean User Profile
July 2017
Kara and Austin's house in Charleston WV was beautiful, comfortable, and well equipped. We loved the wood floors, interesting architectural details, tall ceilings, and big ope bathroom. The kitchen was also very well equipped and it was nice to be able to make a meal and have a glass of wine after a long day of travel. The bed was comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep. I would definitely stay at Kara and Austin's again and would recommend it to all fellow travelers. Our timing was such that we missed meeting Kara and Austin, but their communication leading up to our arrival made sure we found everything we needed.

Cleo User Profile
July 2017
Great place, just as it is pictured. The house is beautiful. Kara and Andrew are super nice. I would stay there again, I would recommend to a friend.

This host has 167 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Charleston, West Virginia, United StatesJoined in June 2013
Kara & Austin User ProfileKara & Austin is a superhost.
(Kara) I am a regional journalist based in Charleston, West Virginia. I love good coffee, my three dogs, hiking, traveling, vegetarian food, chocolate and practicing yoga. (Austin) I am a pediatric nurse. I have a terrible sweet tooth and am NOT vegetarian, but do eat vegetari…
Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings