The bedroom has a comfortable queen size bed and en suite bathroom.The bedroom has large bay windows and lots of natural light.
Beautiful sunlit room in Obs
Beautiful sunlit room in Obs
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

We have a spacious bedroom with an en suite bathroom in one of the city's best-loved and funkiest neighbourhoods. The house is beautifully renovated and lovingly furnished.

Public transport, shops and night life are a short walk away.

The space

This is a room in a wonderfully renovated old Victorian house in Observatory.

Your room comes with high ceilings, wood finishings, a very comfortable bed and lots of natural light. The large en-suite bathroom includes both shower and bath, and has a mountain view.

Guest access

Your private facilities include bedroom and bathroom. The shared facilities in the house include an open-plan kitchen and lounge.

Interaction with guests

We are a South African/American couple who have hosted lots of out-of-town friends and family. We work hard and are busy people, but we're always happy to give you advice on sightseeing and happenings around town.

Other things to note

Please contact us to arrange key pickup/arrival in advance - we both work during the day.

Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Indoor fireplace
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 5PM - 11PM
Check out by 9AM

- Please don't smoke in the house.
- Please keep the shared facilities clean.
- No young children, please.
- No guests-of-guests, please.

Cancellations

43 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Katie’s place was great! Katie and Murray are super hosts! The place is clean and quiet and the location is also very good. It’s 10 mins to downtown by Uber which works great in Cape Town. The guys are always available and very helpful. I so recommend their place. You won’t regret. It’s by the way walking distance to at least 2 top rated restaurants in Cape Town. And also the view of the mountain from the bathroom is priceless:)))

Andrew User Profile
October 2017
Katie and Murray were very gracious and unobtrusive hosts. The room was indeed warm and sunny, especially appreciated on a few chilly Spring mornings. Magic bathroom with a classic bath and a shower that gives the illusion of being outside. Solid internet connection. Charming church bells on Sunday morning.

Mandi User Profile
September 2017
Had an amazing stay. Katie and Murray were fantastic hosts. Highly recommended!

Sherry User Profile
August 2017
I totally recommend a stay at Katie's place! The home is lovely and the room and bath were terrific. The bed is very comfy, there is plenty of space, and the large desk was great to be able to work at. Katie and Murray were very accommodating and did everything to make me feel at home. I didn't walk around the neighborhood, but it seems like a nice area. Although it is not right near the waterfront, it was an inexpensive Über ride (<$5) to get there - well with it to have such a lovely place to stay. I would definitely return again next time I am in Cape Town. Thanks Katie and Murray!!!

Molly User Profile
August 2017
I stayed with Katie and Murray for almost 3 months. They were extremely welcoming and made sure I had everything I needed. Obs is a great neighborhood that is safe, walkable and close to all things Cape Town has to offer. Great stay!

Eden User Profile
May 2017
Perfectly located in Observatory with many options for delicious and affordable restaurants, cafes and bars which are not touristy. Accommodation contains everything you need and Katie&Murray are very helpful and friendly hosts.

Agustin User Profile
May 2017
Just Perfect :)

Cape Town, South AfricaJoined in May 2014
Katie User Profile

I grew up in the US, spent two years in England, and have been living in Cape Town since 2010 with my South African partner. I work for a reading-for-joy campaign, and I love running, hiking and playing Ultimate Frisbee in my free time. We both love meeting people from around the world and sharing advice and recommendations about our city.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings