HouseMy co-host, Cinna.
Converted attic, century home, downtown Kitchener
Converted attic, century home, downtown Kitchener

Private room

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

My house is a century home loaded with charm and character. It's right in the downtown core, very close to the Farmer's Market, shops and restaurants, bus lines and tech companies, and an easy bus ride to Uptown Waterloo and both Universities. There is a second room available in the house, therefore you may be sharing the house with one other guest. In the third floor converted attic, there are two beds, with a comfy chair, a small desk and lots of storage. Parking is available for one car.

The space

Your private room is the entire third floor of my century home. There is plenty of room for two beds and a corner to relax or work. There is a large walk-in closet and a dresser for storage. It has original hardwood floors and plenty of charm. The stairs to get up to the third floor are more narrow and steep than a typical stairway, therefore not the best choice for someone with limited mobility, but once you are up in the room, it is very spacious, with a sloped ceiling on the sides.

Guest access

In addition to the private room, you'll have shared access to my kitchen, living room and dining room, as well as one full bathroom and a powder room. You're also welcome to enjoy your morning coffee (or perhaps an evening glass of wine), on either the front porch, or the second floor balcony.

Interaction with guests

I'll be there to greet you and get you acquainted with my home, and my dog, Cinna. I'll do my best to be around during your stay, and at the very least will always be available to answer questions via cell phone. I'm happy to provide you with tips for great restaurants or things to see in the area, or to just let you enjoy the peace and quiet of the neighbourhood.

Other things to note

My dog will stay at home during the day while I am at work, but she generally just sleeps or keeps watch for birds and squirrels out the windows.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 4PM - 10PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 22 / night after 2 guests
Security Deposit: 335
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price: 64 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 10PM

- Dogs are the only pets allowed, must be well trained and friendly, and must be crated if left unsupervised in the house.
- No additional guests allowed that are not part of the original reservation.
- Quiet time after 10pm.
- Guests are expected to keep their room reasonably tidy, and to clean up any common areas after use.
- Parking is available for one car only (some switching of cars may be required, as it is only a single width driveway).
- If you want to cook, you are welcome to use basics such as oils, vinegars and spices.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - The set of stairs up to this room is steeper and more narrow than typical, therefore not ideal for someone with limited mobility.
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared - Bathroom, Kitchen and all living spaces are shared.

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

32 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Katy User Profile
August 2017
My second time staying here. Great choice for a central place in Kitchener.
Megan User ProfileMegan is a superhost.
Response from Megan:
Thanks again Katy!
August 2017

Gustavo User Profile
July 2017
Nice place, quiet, clean and inexpensive, I recommend you it.
Megan User ProfileMegan is a superhost.
Response from Megan:
Thank you so much Gustavo! I hope you and your family enjoyed your time in Kitchener.
July 2017

Gary User Profile
July 2017
Spacious, elegant, friendly and convenient, what more could a traveler want? Oh, and the famous Sushi Star is just a block away :)
Megan User ProfileMegan is a superhost.
Response from Megan:
I really appreciate your kind words, especially since I know you've stayed at a number of places around town. Thank you!
July 2017

Clifford User Profile
July 2017
Unforgettable experience with wonderful stays!
Megan User ProfileMegan is a superhost.
Response from Megan:
Thank you so much - hopefully I'll get to see you again next time you're in town.
July 2017

Natasha User Profile
July 2017
Thank you Megan for the lovely stay.
Megan User ProfileMegan is a superhost.
Response from Megan:
It was wonderful to meet both of you, I'm glad you enjoyed everything.
July 2017

Susan User Profile
July 2017
Megan's place is amazing! Really beautiful home, every detail is well thought out. The attic room is spacious and spotless, Megan even laid out colouring books and pencils for guests. Washroom was large and beautiful and also flawlessly clean along with the rest of the house. Megan was very communicative and accommodating and you can tell she spends a great deal of effort on Airbnb guests. Only thing to keep in mind is that the stairs to the attic room are very steep, which is very accurately listed in the description so may not be suitable for people with mobility issues. We had large luggage and so was hard to carry up there, but Megan also very kindly arranged a spot in the living room and even offered her basement. Highly recommend!

Melhik User Profile
June 2017
Beautiful house as good as the pictures, the attic room can be a bit challenging especially for longer stay/ with luggages but still made it work

This host has 15 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Kitchener, CanadaJoined in January 2016
Megan User ProfileMegan is a superhost.

I'm a high school French teacher. I've owned my house for three years, during which I've had long term tenants for a year or more at a time. Now I'm ready to move on to occasional guests through AirBnB. I have many years of experience in the service industry, and am happy to put everything I've learned into providing you with a warm and welcoming place to stay - your home away from home.
I was fortunate enough to be able to live in France, and travel throughout Europe, during University, and then I lived in South Korea, and traveled throughout Asia in my twenties. Some highlights were learning to ski in the Alps, doing cartwheels on the Great Wall of China, and most recently, sailing in the Adriatic Sea. I love to cook and bake, and get dirty in my garden. I'm involved in my local community, and would love to be able to tell you all about it.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings