Skip to content
Desk, lamp, storage space for longer term stays. Laundry available. High speed wireless internet. Meets all business and student needs.Private window view to garden. Air con and ceiling fan too.
Quiet but close. Cool and green.
Quiet but close. Cool and green.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Perfect location for
* travellers needing a good night's rest, not far from shops, eateries and highway but quiet and private with off-street parking.
* longer term stayers who need wifi access to internet for work or business purposes plus desk.

The space

Our home is high block 70's style Qld home in North Mackay. We (2 adult family) live upstairs. The block is large in a quiet location that is only 10 mins walk to shops, shopping centre, doctors, schools, gym, library, cinema, and restaurants. It is on the bus route and not far from the highway. Clean room with comfortable queen bed, window, fan and air con. All linen is provided. One room toilet and shower available downstairs. Pool and internet available. Large park opposite. Suit NS. ND. NA traveler or short term worker. A small kitchen is available too. We can provide you with local knowledge of the areas best kept secrets for nature lovers, fishers and diners :) We happily pick up and drop off guests on arrival and departure if we are able.
Room sleeps up to 2. A boarder lives in the other room downstairs. All areas other than the guest room are shared spaces.

Guest access

Shower and toilet downstairs.
Pool, internet.
Food preparation area - 2 burner stove with oven, bar fridge, microwave, jug, toaster in a 'kitchenette' area downstairs.
Washing machine and clothes line. Dryer in wet weather.
All linen. Air con in room.

Interaction with guests

As much or as little as they want. If you are on for a chat that's fine but if you want some space that's fine too :)
We are busy and often in and out so communication needs to be open and timely :)
We are not always home when guests arrive but we do leave a key out for everyone in the hh to use so just need to let us know your ETA.
Sometimes one or more of us is absent altogether but someone is there to assist you. This will be communicated to you too.

Other things to note

It is good to communicate via mobile when travelling so we know estimated time of arrival. ETA
We can tell u where to find the key and leave the light on if we are not going to be there when you arrive after dark.
The lighting outside is not the best but we are working on that
We are happy to host guests even if we are not here personally.
It is not unusual for folks to come and go and we never meet them and no-one minds

What we offer is humble, homely and relaxing. :)

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
Essentials
Shampoo
Prices
Extra people $46 NZD / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price $50 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Please observe – No smoking, no drugs, no porn, no alcohol and no coarse language on the premises. No loud music – use headphones please. No overnight visitors. No pets. No watching of movies in shared areas.

Phone and Internet - Phone is available as long as you limit to local and Aussie calls and limit your time with incoming and outgoing calls. Overseas folk may call you on the landline, please ask first. Internet to be used wisely – absolutely no streaming please.

Pool- This is a salt water pool and the water goes purple if you pee in it. ;) Please do not wear oil when swimming and always enter with clean feet and clothing. It is best to shower and wash clothes as soon as possible after swimming.

Key - The key is for the back door downstairs and is to be returned to its hidey spot as all members of hh use it. Rooms only have privacy locks.
This house is based on trust and respect.

Ask if you have any questions at all...

Make yourself at home :)


You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher
Availability
1 night minimum stay

118 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Heather User Profile
March 2014
A nice very clean room, very friendly and in a great position if travelling through. Good shops nearby too. No basin in the shower/toilet which was a little disconcerting when brushing your teeth if others around, otherwise kitchen facilities were excellent. Not exactly quiet with people moving around upstairs. Wish I had taken my togs for the pool.

Helene User Profile
November 2017
My stay with Heather was lovely. She was a great host, super warm and approachable, great conversation and very helpful, but also gave you the space to do your own thing. I felt very much at home and at ease, it was a pleasure to stay here on my visit to Mackay. I will definitely stop by again next time I'm in town!

子然 User Profile
November 2017
stayed for a week and will always miss this couple who are always nice and helpful. Thanks for their hospitality! Highly recommend this place.

Malinda User Profile
November 2017
Warm and inviting room, with well set up cooking facilities, etc. The family has gone to great lengths to ensure your stay is a pleasant one, with a sparkling clean pool, complete with equipment, a lovely outdoor setting, hammock, indoor couches, dining table and a bookshelf of books to read, etc. Very warm and inviting, but not in your face. Felt like home!

Mara User Profile
November 2017
I had a great time at Heather's place! Fully equipped room and kitchen. Heather gave helpful tips about the area and drove me to the bus terminal twice. I felt really welcomed would recommend this place!

Sasha User Profile
October 2017
Heathers accomodation was as described. Good location and big room.

Damon User Profile
October 2017
The room was functional and exactly what i needed, Heather and her Husband are a nice couple and very helpful. Checkin was easy and everything i needed was there, would definitely recommend,

Mount Pleasant, AustraliaJoined in April 2013
Heather User Profile

We are a teacher, nurse combination with an older teenage son still at home with us. We all work. I only work as needed. We have had visitors in our homes for many years now, with the wwoof program on our property at Seaforth and helpxers here too. We respect their cultural differences and enjoy showing them the beautiful places this area has, if that is what they want. Often travellers need to rest and gather strength so we like to provide a home where they can comfortably do this. Interaction with guests is as they want it - little or more. Our aim is to provide a comfortable stay no matter how long it is.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings