Roomy vintage jack and jill style bathroom
Cozy Room Close to Transportation
Hosted by Darlene
Darlene is the host.Darlene is a superhost.
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The space

This 1920's vintage 3 flat building is a relaxation zone. Located on the first floor, it is comfortable, clean and inviting. Perfect for the guest who likes calm.

The room is located off of the kitchen and is very private. It has a twin bed, night stand, dresser/desk and wardrobe. A coin operated washer and dryer, located in the basement, is available for use. The room can accommodate two people with a blow up mattress, but it will be tight. If you are just looking for a place to sleep this will work.

We are centrally located in Oak Park. Very close to the Hemingway House and Frank Lloyd Wright architecture. There are numerous parks and restaurants within walking distance to enjoy during your stay.

Transportation is about a 15 minute walk to either the Blue Line or Green Line trains (we Chicagoans call it an El or the subway). Both take you directly to downtown Chicago and the Blue Line takes you straight into O'Hare Airport. It takes about 8 minutes by car to the 290 on ramp to downtown Chicago or out to the western suburbs. Downtown Chicago offers a bounty of things to do and visit: museums, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, and the Shedd Aquarium - just to name a few sites, and don't forget the theater.

I have two dogs who live in my unit and sometimes they have visitors, so there may be a time when more than one dog is in the unit. Both dogs are friendly and when I am gone they are usually in their respective rooms, so coming and going is no problem.

This is a no-smoking environment but smoking is allowed outside.

All reservations must go through AIRBNB including last minute reservations.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Cleaning Fee $7 NZD
Weekly Discount: 7%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check out by 11AM

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

69 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Eddie User Profile
September 2017
Darlene is a really nice person! I am doing an internship nearby and she is always willing to drive me to the place when available . I had a really good time in her place. :)

Amarjeet User Profile
September 2017
Darlene's place is well situated and charming. The room where I slept was comfortable and cosy. Darlene was an extremely attentive host and made my stay very pleasant.

Spencer User Profile
September 2017
Darlene's place is one of the best places in Oak Park! Very close to where I was traveling to and very clean! Darlene and her family was also very sweet! Especially her little sweetheart of a granddaughter, Victoria! Very quiet room and overall I enjoyed my stay here! When back in the area, I will definitely be coming back and staying here!

Kristiina User Profile
August 2017
I felt like coming home after a long flight. The bed was just super comfy! Darlene was a wonderful and informative host with a lovely home. Would definitely(and propably will) stay here again!

Chris User Profile
July 2017
Great host-so kind. Kept the house very clean while she was home! I think it was a bit pricey, but have no complaints at all.

Sarah User Profile
July 2017
Darlene is a wonderful host! She went out of her way to show me the ins and outs of the place, as well as helping me figure out my way around town. Her home is charming and comfortable, I really enjoyed stay.

Jun User Profile
June 2017
I should have waited to sit down and write the comment until I fly back to MD. However, I cannot wait. I am in the aurport. Darlene''s official title is an airbnb landlord, but she is beyond that. She is more like a girl friend or family, caring about your trip and safety. When she learned I was looking for apt in oak park before my arrival, she told me she could provide suggestions on wherevery I will go if that apt is in good and safe surroundings. She generously gave me a ride to Walmart as I need a bike to visit different apts. And I asked tons of questions about security, quiteness, nearby quality elementary schools of various prospective apts and she helped me filter many unqualified ones, which saved my time. Personally, she is the dream mom or grandmother that I wish to have as she cares about hers children and grandchildren. She looks like a strong mom but she is indeed soft. She has super sense of humor, she is open minded and enbraces different perceptions and religions. She is not a woman ruled by sterotypes, regulations, or policies, she is real and honest about herself and the life, which made her pretty cute and easy going. We have chatted till the midnight and teased at each other, pretty relaxed girl's talk. I feel like i was at home and i felt the connection with her, and her friends that i have never met. Unlike hotel staff or landlords who care only abt benefits, She is vivid. I belive this is why so many people like her and left tons of good comments. She connects with you, if you would like to. The room is neat, cozy, clean and safe. The house is in a quite residence area, pretty safe for walking, close to local transportations. Easy go out and back 'home', like your own home. You will see many of her family members, who are cute, fun, sweet, like Darlene. You would never hesitate to choose her house and you want to come back just because of her. Fortunately, I will be her neighbor soon. SO, DON'T BE JEALOUS!

Oak Park, Illinois, United StatesJoined in March 2013
Darlene User ProfileDarlene is a superhost.

I have hosted exchange students in the past and enjoyed it very much. I have traveled all around the States, to several countries in Europe, and have been to Mexico a number of times. I have always enjoyed the experiences of travel. At this time in my life I have small passions: traveling, gardening, and a good glass of wine. I look forward to opening my home and meeting people from other places.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings