view of church opposite. Leafy Whalley Range!from the front garden
Large room in vegetarian family home, females only
Large room in vegetarian family home, females only

Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Single bed in large ground floor room of vegetarian family home in a leafy suburb of Manchester (female guests only). Less than 30 mins on the bus to Manchester Piccadilly/city centre, or walk to the University (25min).
Help yourself to breakfast in our kitchen. Cereals, fruit and fresh bread always available.
Home-stay rate available: to join in with the family evening meal, guests can pay £5 extra a single night or £25 a week extra. Please let me know, ideally by midday, if a meal is needed.

The space

Bright, large room with comfy single bed and couch on ground floor of friendly family home in Whalley Range, Manchester. Extra bedding and towels provided. Desk and chair for working. Nice view of church from window.
Microwave and kettle in room for your use, but you can also use the hob in the kitchen, and borrow things like oil, herbs etc!
Breakfast, wi-fi, bedding and towels included. If you require an evening meal or lunch, we can pre-arrange this at a small extra cost - just let me know in good time.
For a one-off evening meal: £5. For the whole week (7 days) £25.
It's a family home, so expect some noise, and then quiet after bedtime! No guests or noisy music etc for this reason, and please be considerate when chatting online etc to friends and family in other time zones!
If you come in late, please ensure the door is locked with both keys, and that the safety light on the front door is switched off behind you.
We have 2 house rabbits, but they are confined to the back living room.
I do housework, or read/work in the evening.
We're vegetarians (actually vegans), and try to eat healthy, organic food. We try to live sustainably, and walk, ride bikes, get buses, recycle, etc. You can borrow a bike to use locally if you want. I can show you the local bus routes. The nearest town is Chorlton, which is nice to hang out in - bars, cafes, library, sports, shops etc. Local bus services into the centre: 5 minutes walk then 10-20 min journey to centre, and train connections to rest of UK.
Whalley Range itself has a few shops, and doctor's, chemist, Post Office, just round the corner from us. Whalley Range is well-known for being a tree-lined area of South Manchester, with many big old c19th houses.

Guest access

The shared kitchen is vegetarian only. We are vegans, but guests can cook/eat eggs and dairy. **This means no meat or fish products can be stored or cooked in the house**. There is limited space in the kitchen at busy times, but we can work round each other! You have a microwave and kettle in your room for heating up ready meals and making drinks if you wish.
**Please do not use the cooker between 10pm and 7am for safety reasons**
The toilet and bathroom (shower) are upstairs, but there is a downstairs WC. **Please do not use the upstairs bathroom when the family is asleep! If you need a shower at busy 'peak' times, please ask me when the best time will be!**
Washing machine in kitchen and drying rack in room.

Interaction with guests

It's a busy house, but I'm always willing to chat, give you directions and share a cup of tea!
We're up about 7am on school days, 8-9am at weekends; bedtime for me is between 10 and 11pm - please don't shower between 11 and 7! There is a WC downstairs near your room.

Other things to note

This is a vegetarian, non-smoking household where children are living.

We are female-only and lesbian-friendly.

We have 2 house rabbits in the back room (in their own space!)


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 2PM - 9PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 9
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 55 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed

House Rules
Check in time is 2PM - 9PM

This is a strictly vegetarian house! No meat or fish in the house please.
You will need to be child-friendly, also not be noisy after bed-time.
No smoking inside or outside the house, and no candles.
I only host non-smokers, as cigarette smoke tends to linger...


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card

Availability
1 night minimum stay

21 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rebecca User Profile
June 2017
Spacious room overlooking a church, with a gorgeous wild front garden in-between. Friendly and welcoming, with a lovely family, but also a sense of space - they were so quiet I slept until 10am! I hope to visit again.

Felix User Profile
June 2017
I had a really lovely stay at Mary's house over 4 nights. The house is in a wonderfully quiet and leafy corner of Manchester, very close to bus stops and shops. Mary made me feel very much at home and it was a real privilege to stay in such a lovely house and amongst such a warm, welcoming and thoughtful family plus the rabbits are amazing! The room was great; incredibly spacious, light and comfortable and the desk made it ideal for when I had work to do in the evenings. Would highly recommend!

Holly User Profile
June 2017
Marys house is a proper homestay in a family home. It felt very homely and comfortable. Mary wasn't home when I stayed but everything was clean, bed was comfortable, fresh fruit was available in the room, and the rabbits were there to keep me company. I travelled in and out of the centre by bus (£2.60 single and a 10 minute ride) and by uber (£4-6 from door to door) both very easy to get and came within minutes. Local shops had a good variety of supplies including a tesco express a few minutes walk away. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Charlotte User Profile
May 2017
See below - still here, still very content. Would absolutely recommend the place to anyone.

Charlotte User Profile
May 2017
Mary's house is a fantastically warm and friendly place to stay - lovely meals can be included for a little extra and Mary and her children are all welcoming and polite. I have actually ended up extending my visit by several weeks and if the delicious crumbles and chocolate puddings continue there is a high chance I may never leave. 5/5.

Kate User Profile
January 2017
Large room, great bus links and Mary is really friendly, welcoming and helpful - great host.

Candace User Profile
December 2016
I stayed with Mary for around 4 months. Her children are lovely, and bunnies adorable! Very friendly and welcoming. If you want to stay with them and are not a family yourself, just be reasonable and aware that the kids still have school and a bed time to respect. 11/10 recommend!

Manchester, United KingdomJoined in April 2013
Mary User ProfileMary is a superhost.

I'm a single parent with three daughters living at home. We are vegans, and we try to live a low-impact lifestyle. We cycle and use public transport, and try to eat organic food. I am a PhD student at the University. I like films, cooking, walking and singing.
I will welcome you into my home and provide your breakfast. I can show you the quickest way to get into Manchester, and lend you maps etc.
Manchester is an interesting city, with plenty of contemporary and historic places of interest.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings