The Chelmer Street BungalowFlatmates Sophia, Alessandro & Mark (Sophia & Mark live in the house next door)
Chelmer Street Bungalow
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The Chelmer Street Bungalow is conveniently located in the heart of Oamaru opposite the Botanic Gardens.

Guest accomodation is a spacious, private room with a queen-sized bed. Shared kitchen, lounge, toilet & shower. Wifi & bikes available.

The space

The room is complete with a queen-sized bed, bedside lamp & table, and basic storage. It is suitable for 1 or 2 people. Kids are welcome.

There is a spacious, shared lounge with a log burner and a heat pump for cold winter nights. You are welcome to cook in the shared kitchen.

We are a friendly couple that own houses side-by-side: Mark is a gardening chef and Sophia works at the community gardens nearby. We live in the cottage next door, so you will mostly have the house to yourselves.

The bungalow is across the street from Oamaru Botanic Gardens and Community Gardens. It is a lovely 10 minute stroll or 5 minute bike ride through the public gardens into the heart of the historic precinct and town centre.

Oamaru was voted Sharpest Town in NZ in 2015 and Lonely Planet has named it "the coolest town in New Zealand". Come and find out why for yourself!

Guest access

Guests will have access to a shared kitchen, lounge, toilet & shower. We have bicycles & a tandem available on loan.

Interaction with guests

We really enjoy hosting visitors from around the world. Depending on your interests, we can point you in the direction of local spots & highlight destinations.

If our schedules permit, we can pick you up at the local bus stop. Getting around Oamaru is easy, especially since we are in the heart of town. We can loan you some bikes to get around.

We live in the house next door, but feel free to come over and hang out.

Other things to note

We also have a house cat named Giuseppe and puppy Figo who enjoy pats and snuggles. If you have allergies to cats or dogs, please be aware. If you have a friendly, potty-trained dog, they are also welcome as guests. Our yard is fully fenced.


Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
Essentials
Heating

Prices
Extra people $14 NZD / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We expect our guests to treat our home with respect and keep it tidy.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

82 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Eileen User Profile
April 2017
Nice house, comfortable room and friendly hosts! Recommended.

Sally User Profile
April 2017
Comfortable bed, friendly atmosphere. Cheers

Chunyu User Profile
April 2017
Good room to sleep..

Lance User Profile
March 2017
Great Location. Quiet and restful. Loved the house's Art Deco styling. Friendly and engaging host.

Cherie User Profile
March 2017
It's a great space, has character. The bed was warm and cosy, and nice to sleep in. Ideal. Recommended.

Stan User Profile
February 2017
Excellent and quick communication, everything absolutelly easy going. Great value. Totally would come again

Paul User Profile
February 2017
It was ok, close enough to town, but more suited to back-packers. Shared bathroom, kitchen and toilet. Shower was somewhat basic.

This host has 86 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Oamaru, New ZealandJoined in May 2014
Mark & Sophia User Profile

mark is a handy man and pasta chef. sophia is the coordinator at the local community gardens.

we enjoy sharing thoughts and ideas in conversation over a cuppa tea, learning new languages, collective living, building stuff, ice hockey, longboards, snowboarding in powder, vegetarian food, permaculture and organic farming, tiger worms, veggie gardens, music & dancing.

we have a cat named Giuseppe and a puppy named Figo--they like to cuddle visitors, so if you have a cat or dog allergy, BEWARE!

Languages: English, Español, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings