Sleepers Island cabin -Winnipesauke (dog friendly)
Sleepers Island cabin -Winnipesauke (dog friendly)
6 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Get off the grid in this adorable lake front island cottage. Accessible only by boat and all the conveniences of home. Fully stocked Kitchen, plus extra beverage fridge on the screen porch, 2 full bathrooms, Wifi, Smart TV, 3 bedrooms and a loft with even extra beds and game area. Two mile walking trail. Level backyard with badminton net. Lakeside fire-pit.

Just cruise up in your boat and enjoy the lake and island life!

The space

We love the outdoors and love to spend most of the time on one of our decks or the dock. The loft is for your use but be careful on the low headroom. The views are incredible, one guest said "it's like being in a beautiful tree house." It is the the most relaxing place to hang out and enjoy the lake!

Guest access

The entire house is yours! We have one outdoor locked shed but feel free to treat the cabin like it's your own.

When docking please do NOT use the wood posts- Iron cleats only.

There is a walking trail that is 2 miles long that runs the interior of the island.
House land line is: (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)

Interaction with guests

You can reach one of us by cell or land:
cell: (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)
land: (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)

Other things to note

WATER: Important: House water is "lake water" though a pump. We do not drink it but do cook with it, shower and brush our teeth. There will be drinking water for your use. Please do not toss the water containers.
We have a standard 6x40 ft dock.
The kitchen has a toaster oven, microwave and four top stove (there is no conventional oven)
Also: Fire-pit in the back yard is not to be used. The metal fire-pit lakeside is for guests use. Some wood is provided as is marshmallows! Fire pit permit is on the side of the refrigerator.
IF you lose power there is a wicker tray/basket on top of the kitchen cabinets with flashlights, candles and matches. Power come back on usually quickly. Power company phone is: NHElec coop: ((PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)
Also advice for hiking the 2 mile trail please wear appropriate shoes (not flip flop friendly).


Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $221 NZD
Security Deposit $738 NZD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
4 single beds
Common spaces
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Dock: Do NOT use wood posts- tie up to cleats only.
Hoist: For use with boats 20 feet or less.
Fire pit: Lake side fire pit is for guests
Fire pit backyard: IS off limits and is only used in Winter
Water: House uses lake water- don't potable.
Some drinking water provided.
Deck Railings - do not sit on any deck railings
Use caution walking on either side of the house on the hill and/or among rocks.
Swim raft: Even though there is an Owl to scare ducks they may still use our raft and therefor there may be duck poop. There is a brush at the dock to clean/wash off so as not to get duck itch (which is annoying).
Do not walk or climb on the rock wall in front of the house
No diving off the dock decks or jumping from pilings - water is not deep enough for safe diving and be aware that the rocks in the water at the shoreline are VERY slippery so enter the water using a ladder to be safe.
Steps: Be particularly careful on outdoor steps when wet.
Loft: Be careful going up the ladder to the loft - it’s easy to bump your head going up and on the beams up there. (And don’t fall back through the hole!)
Life Vests: All children should wear life jackets if they are unsupervised.
Toilet: Please flush ONLY toilet paper - the house is on a touchy septic system.
Laundry: move dial to "J" for wash
Dryer: only one mode (we hang many items outside to dry)
Food: Anything in the cabinets is free to use
TV/Netflix: Smart TV- log into Netflix and binge away!
Porch Fridge: We use for beer- feel free to use.
PETS: We allow ONE well behaved dog. We love our neighbors and have assured them that dogs will not wander on their property.
PLEASE pick up after your dog.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

7 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rebecca User Profile
August 2017
Daphnes house was beautiful! The location is great! I could not have ask for a better island house to spend two weeks with my family.

Nicole User Profile
July 2017
Great location and stay. Beautiful sunset views from the dock at night. Prepare to get your exercise with three flights of stairs from the dock to the cottage!

Melissa User Profile
September 2016
We loved Daphne's home!! It was on Sleeper Island, which is about a 10 minute boat ride to Wolfeboro and convenient to all the places on the Lake. The Island is quiet and had a cool hiking trail where you can take your pooch. It was very peaceful. The house was so cozy and had AMAZING views! The porches were perfect for meals and to watch the sunset. Daphne was so easy to work with and was very welcoming and super nice. We didn't want to leave and would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you to Daphne and her family for letting us use their home to experience Lake Winnie! We can't wait to go back :)

George User Profile
August 2016
Owner was very helpful, house was as advertised. We loved the swimming, fishing and relaxing quiet.

Justin User Profile
August 2016
This was the perfect getaway with the family. The cottage was perfect and I couldn't thank Daphne enough for letting us stay in her cottage on Sleeper Island. The location couldn't have been any better and was in perfect distance of fuel, groceries, and places to eat out and get ice cream. The cottage met every expectation! It had plenty of space for the kids to go off and do there own thing but just the right size not to avoid getting pulled into playing a board game and watch a movie with the family. I hope to be able to make this a yearly trip with freinds and family so they can share the same experience!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!
Daphne User Profile
Response from Daphne:
Thanks for the review. You and your family are welcome back anytime! So glad you had fun- an island isn't for everyone but I do like how it brings the family (families) together. Loved having you guys!! :) Come back!
August 2016

Stephen User Profile
July 2016
There was a nice basket of S'mores essentials to greet us. The house was very inviting and the view great! We felt like we were home, not just at some rental. Plenty of sun in the morning and on the dock as the day went by, but also lots of shaded areas. Nice trail around the island, but be sure to wear shoes, not flip-flops.

Tanya User Profile
July 2016
First, we would like to give a big thank you to Daphne for her amazing hospitality and opening up her waterfront home to us!!! Now about the home and its surroundings: the home is located on Sleepers Island on Lake Winnipesaukee. Driving to the home on the boat, you get great views of the Sleepers island and its neighbor, Rattlesnake Island. Pulling up to the home you are welcomed by a great floating swim platform and a very well built dock to tie off to. The home is up on the hill and the stairways to the double decks reel you right in. The top deck is covered and has phenomenal views out to Rattlesnake and waking up each morning to a beautiful sunrise with the MS mount Washington cruising by is so nostalgic of Lake Winni lake-life. On the backside of sleepers island is Smalls Cove where there is a great sandbar! And Wolfeboro town docks is not far away to grab some drinks and eats. And if you want to cruise The Broads, they are right there too. 10 out of 10 for location. For the owners, they were a joy to work with, very responsive and attentive. Daphne and her family wanted us to enjoy their home and make lifelong memories like their family has been doing and we 100% succeeded in that. A big thank you for a wonderful time, a beautiful home and great people to rent from. We look forward to the next time :-)

This host has 4 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Durham, New Hampshire, United StatesJoined in January 2016
Daphne User Profile

These are not in order but we love: nature, dogs, craft beer, good food, humor, traveling, and the outdoors.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings