living roomdining area towards livingroom
Room near UD, Downtown, Miami Valley Hospital
Room near UD, Downtown, Miami Valley Hospital

Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The house was built in 1930 and look like a green barn. It has hardwood floors throughout and 1.5 baths. Stove, ref, microwave, washer and dryer for you to use. Has central A/C and heat. I take my 2 dogs on walks in the neighborhood days or evenings. I can walk to the Dollar Tree, Tanks or Krogers. Dollar Tree is everything for one dollar, Tanks is a good place to eat, and Krogers is a grocery store. No smoking or drugs. Free parking on the street.

The space

The Airbnb room has a TV with computer connections. No TV service. It has Netflix and other free watching options. There is a drop down desk/table for your computer or work.
I am still rehabbing the house. I mostly have patching and painting left to do. The Airbnb room is finished. Hardwood floors throughout. The bedrooms are on the 2nd floor.

Guest access

All the bedrooms and the office are private , and everything else is shared. Kitchen, living room, 1.5 bath, washer & dryer, 52" TV screen with Netflix in the living room, (no TV service) gas fireplace (during the winter). Use any of the small appliances, board games or DVD's. There is free parking on the street and usually there is not a problem finding space near the house door. Don't park on the street directly opposite my house during business hours.

Interaction with guests

Ask me what you need and I will try to help you. You might not see much of me. If you are getting in late or I will not be here, I will send you instructions on how to get in.

Other things to note

The dogs like to escape out the door when it is open and they are not street smart. So during your stay please be careful they don't get out. At night they are shut in my bedroom with me. The Airbnb room has a childs gate on the door so the dogs can not go in there unless you want them to.


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

Please clean up after yourself. Please use body wash not bar soap. Bar soap plugs my drains. When you go in and out the front door make sure the dogs do not get out. Do not put wet items on the dresser or floor. That includes drinks, towels and washcloths, etc. There is a drink coaster on the dresser and towel hooks behind the door.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Bedroom is on 2nd floor
Potential for noise - We are on a busy street. Fire engines and ambulances go by. Bring earplugs if it will bother you. I do have a table fan for extra cooling and noise
Pet(s) live on property - 2, 20 pound dogs that are some kind of mixed terriers
No parking on property - Free parking on the street
Some spaces are shared - Bedroom is all yours. You share the rest of the house, kitchen, laundry room etc.

Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

53 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kirk User Profile
August 2017
Janice is a great host with a great place. She was very friendly and the room was clean and tidy. I definitely recommend staying there.

Christopher User Profile
August 2017
I had a great stay. The house and the room were clean and welcoming. Janice is a very nice host. Thanks!

Paul User Profile
August 2017
I am a frequent business traveler to Dayton and I always stay at Janice's. Centrally located, clean, quiet and ideal for my work.

Mohammed User Profile
July 2017
I have very much enjoyed my stay at Janice's. Janice made sure I have everything I need from shampoo, toothbrush/paste, a grill etc... I'd definitely book her place again whenever I'm in town!
Janice User Profile
Response from Janice:
I will tell them. I am glad you were able to stay. Any time you are in the area please stay.
July 2017

Richard User Profile
July 2017
Janice made the arrangements super easy. She was responsive, flexible and had a great host package explaining the ins and outs of the house. The house and my room were impeccably clean and tidy The house was in a very noisy location of the city, however -- made worse by how much noise there was in the house. Whenever anyone walked outside my room, i knew it with resonant floorboards announcing their comings and goings. If I was a good sleeper and not bothered by noise, I would have stayed and been very happy with the arrangement.

Edward User Profile
June 2017
The house is a good location for UD, Maimi Valley Hospital, Downtown and 10 Wilmington. The home is clean, the TV and wifi worked great and the two dogs were friendly and quiet. A short walk is a bar/restaurant, Tanks, good food and drink. I would stay there again.

Federico User Profile
June 2017
Janice is a wonderful host; her house is spacious, clean and comfortable. She has made me feel welcome from the beginning and I felt immediately at home. I highly recommend her to anyone who is looking for a quiet, comfortable place to spend a few days.

This host has 15 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Dayton, Ohio, United StatesJoined in February 2016
Janice User Profile

I have an office in the front of my house where I work doing residential property management, rehabbing and investing in real estate.
I like to walk on the trails the park system and the blocks around the house with the dogs, play with my 2 very friendly 20# dogs, go to movies, read, do things I have not done before and eat! Since I am very busy and can not travel much, it is very nice to talk to the guests, if we meet, during their visit to Dayton.
I host a room in my home. It is a relaxed house with easy going people. I currently have 1 international student staying here that I don't see much. You probably will not see much of me or him.
I now have another Airbnb home close by that is available. It sleeps 6. I finished rehabbing the inside to make you feel you are in 1920,s with all the conveniences. It was fun decorating it. The outside will be finished in summer of 2017.
If you need anything or have questions please contact me.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings