You don't get more central than thisLiving Room
On the Royal Mile, right next to St Giles
On the Royal Mile, right next to St Giles
5 guests
2 bedrooms
5 beds
1.5 baths
5 guests
2 bedrooms
5 beds
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

1/5 Parliament Square is located precisely in the centre of Edinburgh's Old Town. On the famous Royal Mile, it is 300m from Edinburgh Castle and overlooks St. Giles Cathedral. Most of Edinburgh's historical attractions are just a short walk away.
This luxurious apartment sleeps five in two bedrooms.

The space

The apartment is in a listed historical building, built partly in 1750 and partly in 1850. However, we can assure you it has since been refurnished and decorated to a more modern standard! We are sure you will find it a very comfortable and highly convenient base for your visit to Edinburgh and Scotland. Guests who have their own laptop can also enjoy a free broadband connection either through the supplied cable or by wifi connection throughout the apartment. Cable TV, with over 100 channels, is also provided in the unlikely event that you want to stay indoors on your visit.

Guest access

The whole apartment is your's for your stay.

Interaction with guests

I work overseas much of the time. When I am not able to meet you personally there is a 'meet and greet' service, where you will be met at the property at a pre-arranged time to give access. Full instructions of this procedure are sent out in the formal confirmation. Entry is from 14:00 onwards but if previous guests are not departing on your day of arrival it may be possible to give you entry earlier. Departure is at 10am. As the apartment is often booked back-to-back during the busy months, it is usually not possible to provide a late check-out or a facility to leave baggage. However, the good news is that a guaranteed late departure up to 20:00 can be obtained for 50% of that daily rate. Please email me when you book if you want to utilise this facility and a price will be calculated. Most guests find it convenient to use the 'left luggage' facility at the Waverley Train Station. This is nearby and the good news is that it is not only downhill (which saves the walk back to the apartment collect bags) but is also right next to the Airport Bus starting point where buses are always waiting ready for departure to the airport.

Other things to note

- Unlimited Wifi is provided free of charge
- Cable TV is provided free of charge.
- The apartment is completely cleaned after each guest and luxurious necessities are provided.
- The apartment is in a Grade 1 listed building partly built in 1750 and partly in 1850,. In common with most other apartments in Edinburgh, lifts (elevators) are not permitted. The apartment is 3 floors up but you will soon get used to that and the good news is that your Edinburgh holiday will leave you feeling quite fit! I apologise that the apartment is thus not accessible to those with walking disabilities.


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
3 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 2PM - 11PM
Check out by 10AM

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Dec 01, 2017 - Feb 28, 2018 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Whitney User Profile
December 2016
Donna is a wonderful landlord who contacted me in advance by email to offer us a lot of help, including arrival instructions, a detailed road map and attractions of Edinburgh. These are so good! We checked in Donna's lovely house with Lukas's help. Everything is perfect more than I expected. We have a nice stay! If there is an opportunity, we'd like to come again. Thank Donna!
Donna User Profile
Response from Donna:
Thanks, Whitney. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it. You and any friends are welcome back anytime. Have a prosperous 2017 Donna
December 2016

Rose User Profile
October 2016
We spent a great long weekend in Donna's appartment. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well decorated. The appartment is also completely furnished, which makes it very appropriate for a long stay. As the previous guests we were a bit disappointed not to be able to leave our luggages on the day of our departure. We had to pay the left luggage service at the trainstation. Otherwise the appartement is very well located to discover the city and we felt at home.
Donna User Profile
Response from Donna:
Rose, every feedback comment helps me to improve. This is appreciated. Luggage storage does present a problem for both myself and my guests as it is so busy in Edinburgh and I often have back-to-back bookings. The positive side is that the train station does have storage facilities which are conveniently located for both trains and the airport bus outside the station, being closer to both than the apartment itseIf. I appreciate that this may suit some guests and not others and I apologise for any inconvenience. I will make this clear on our listing. Thanks again for your helpful feedback and I'm pleased that you enjoyed the apartment.
October 2016

Mary User Profile
October 2016
We did not meet Donna. The apartment is managed through a third party, Edinburgh Self Catering. We were met by one of their employees (Lukas) who showed us around the apartment. Although in our reservation confirmation email from AirBnB the check out was advised as being flexible, that was not the case. Edinburgh Self Catering have a 10am set time of which we were unaware until after our arrival. Lukas told us to contact the company with regard to the times. On querying that by text and email with the contact person (Sean) whose details we were given by Donna, this was the response. "This is what is sent out with all bookings The latest departure time is 10am. However, a guaranteed later departure (up to 20:00) can be pre-arranged for a fee of 50% of the daily rate for that day. Please note this is subject to no existing booking arriving that day. Please check the website availability calendar by going to the description page and clicking "book now"." Having made our reservation through AirBnB we had not received any communication from the third party management company. There is also no facility to store luggage there if your flights are later in the day, as ours were. The apartment itself is in an excellent location and was the perfect size for our family of 5. It was comfortable and well equipped. We would highly recommend it, just be aware of the rather early check out time restriction.
Donna User Profile
Response from Donna:
Mary, thanks for your very reasonable and helpful feedback. I'll take on board your comments and make changes.
October 2016

Cathy User Profile
September 2016
Donna was very welcoming and made it easy to book an extra night when we needed it.
Donna User Profile
Response from Donna:
Thanks Cathy, hope you enjoyed Edinburgh and will return soon.
September 2016

Katrien User Profile
September 2016
The host canceled this reservation 45 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Donna User Profile
Response from Donna:
Unfortunately a calendar sync failure resulted in a double booking, possibly due to a virtually simultaneous booking. This has now been resolved.
September 2016

Galen User Profile
July 2016
Donna provides useful information for Edinburgh for us. Also with detail direction in check-in & out. Very considerable. The apartment is just super convenient with nice decoration and facilities. Wonderful experience.
Donna User Profile
Response from Donna:
Galen, glad you enjoyed the apartment. Thanks for your comment - it's always good to get constructive feedback. Enjoy your world tour.
July 2016

Caroline User Profile
July 2016
We had a wonderful stay in Donnas flat. The pictures are accurate and the flat is situated in the heart of the old town. We didn't meet Donna in person, but she always promptly answered our emails and gave us a lot of helpful information. We can really recommend it.
Donna User Profile
Response from Donna:
Thanks Caroline. I hope everything went well in Edinburgh and that you return to Scotland sometime soon.
July 2016

Edinburgh, United KingdomJoined in September 2015
Donna User Profile

I've always loved travel. As a doctor, I know about headaches too. The biggest headache was often finding the right place to stay at the right price. We wanted a place to ourselves but found that hotels had limited options for families. Our Parliament Square apartment will hopefully suit those in a similar position.

Languages: English, ภาษาไทย
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings