BEDROOM in 1853 one-room stone house, Blue Door InnBATHROOM in 1857 apartment, Blue Door Inn
BLUE DOOR INN Alma | Apartment
Hosted by Katherine
Katherine is the host.Katherine is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Upper Apartment offers a bedroom in our 1853 one-room stone house connected to the 1857 stone addition. Full bath and family room/kitchen. Stone walls, original wood floors and lots of history.

The space

The Upper Apartment of the Blue Door Inn offers our most "historic" experience in the oldest part of the building. 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, kitchen and family room. Just like home!

Guest access

You can access the Upper Apartment of the Blue Door Inn, the upper porch, the gardens and the patio with fire pit & grill.

Interaction with guests

Your host lives next door and is available to assist with your stay, planning activities, history of Alma & Buffalo County, photo ops and upcoming events in the area.

Other things to note

Rates for Sunday through Thursday nights reflect a 20% mid-week discount. Please be aware that a 5.5% Wisconsin Sales Tax and a 5% City of Alma Lodging Tax will be collected upon your arrival.

Wireless Internet

Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price $221 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Enjoy this historic building, relax in the slower pace of life in Alma and have fun! We usually encourage quiet time at 10pm so that other guests in the Inn are not disturbed.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

1 night minimum stay

7 Reviews

Check In
Jacque User Profile
October 2017
The apartment was perfect for our needs, clean, quiet (occasional train but that can’t be helped) and Katherine was a great host offering a nice breakfast of locally sourced food.

Sara User Profile
August 2017
The apartment was gorgeous and very cozy. Katherine was helpful and very welcoming. We had a great time, hope to make it back next summer!

Ryan User Profile
June 2017
-great place -great location -owner was very helpful and knowledgeable -very relaxing and slow pace area

Katie User Profile
May 2017
This is a beautiful space, comfortable, even better than the photos! We loved the courtyard outside and the upper balcony. Breakfast was awesome. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Lee Ann User Profile
October 2016
Kathy was a very kind host. She was available much of the time and if not she was reachable by phone. The apartment was very nicely furnished, it felt a bit like home. It is an historic building with many of the old features preserved. I would warn that the train is very close but it did not bother this very light sleeper. The setting in Alma is fantastic close to all the small quaint towns in the area. She also puts on a mean spread for breakfast whether continental or the full deal on the weekends. All in all an great stay, just too short.

Ralph User Profile
August 2016
The Blue Door Inn certainly meets all the requirements of being Historic experience. I was disappointed that I had to pay an additional 10.5 tax above my Airbnb fee. This was not explained on Katherine's listing as is required by Airbnb. It made our stay more expensive than I feel it was worth. I find a town with two streets, a population of 700, and no stop signs, yet has a 5.5 hotel tax maybe a little over the top.
Katherine User ProfileKatherine is a superhost.
Response from Katherine:
Blue Door Inn has made the choice to not increase their pricing on AirBnB to reflect state & local taxes, we feel it's important to have the same rates for our Inn across all reservation systems. AirBnB policy gives a Host this option, however we've just learned that the receipt sent to Guests indicates that all taxes have already been paid. A glitch that needs to be addressed to not place the Guest or the Host in an awkward situation. As a licensed Wisconsin lodging we are required to collect sales tax (5.5%) and lodging tax (5%) on all of our lodging stays. There is not a specific spot on AirBnB to list this information and we generally email our AirBnB Guests to inform them of the taxes due when they make a reservation and certainly at check in (per AirBnB policy). This particular reservation was made in the morning of the same day as the stay and there was insufficient time to contact the Guest.
August 2016

Jean User Profile
June 2016
A great space. Charming "old-world" feel, with the comforts of modern appliances, etc. A large bathroom made taking a bath a luxury; no crowded feeling - just totally relaxing.

This host has 13 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in March 2016
Katherine User ProfileKatherine is a superhost.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings