Skip to content
Bright and airy with easy chairA place to work
The writer's house - double room
The writer's house - double room
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Double bedroom in family house, convenient for city centre, beach, universities, Downs and plenty of local cafes. I live here with my son, a musician. It's a bohemian residential area with great bus links. There are parking restrictions. Breakfast is not included and use of kitchen negotiable for longer term stays. You can walk to town or sea and we're close to buses, but there's no direct bus from station. The bed's a small double. Shared bathroom. Photo ID essential.

The space

The house is filled with books, photos and paintings on the walls, so it has its own style. It's homely and welcoming. The room has a wardrobe, table and chair, easy chair, and view of a pretty back garden and flint wall. There is a shared upstairs bathroom with shower and toilet.

Guest access

You can sit outside in the back or front gardens when the weather's good. Check in from 1pm, checkout by 11 am.

Interaction with guests

I work from home when I'm not on my allotment, or out and about. I'm always happy to help with ideas of where to go and what to see.

Other things to note

Behind the back garden is one of Brighton's cemeteries - which means lots of birds, squirrels in the trees and on summer nights, bats. There are regular buses into town and the seafront from the bottom of the road and several cafes and places to eat on nearby Lewes Road including The Gladstone Pub, Mojo's cafe, in the Open Market at The Level, Mohammed Spice of Life and at the end of The Level, a vegan cafe, The Loving Hut.

Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Laptop friendly workspace
Iron
Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $20 NZD
Weekly Discount: 12%
Weekend Price $90 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is anytime after 1PM
Check out by 11AM

Please be considerate and quiet at night because this is a residential area. Sorry no pets. You can smoke outside in the back or front gardens.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Safety card
Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

65 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Emilio User Profile
November 2017
Really nice room to stay, really nice to meet Jacky and her cat.

Kamila User Profile
November 2017
Jackie is such a warm and lovely lady, and her house is gorgeous. She's interesting, helpful and great to chat to with a great sense of humour, and the room is bright and clean with a comfy bed, towels and anything else we needed. The house is in a lovely quiet part of Brighton, walkable to the centre if you want to but also close to bus stops or a £6 Uber journey. We would definitely recommend Jackie, Tiger and their house!

Craig User Profile
October 2017
Great local tips on art, food and places to check out. Welcoming, accommodating and beautiful house with character.

Loukas User Profile
October 2017
Choosing Jackie's place, in that peaceful neighborhood, was not only a nice and comfortable staying in that lovely traditional apartment but also a unique experience. The very special taste and the cozy atmosphere reflects Jackie's warm personality. We were lucky that we found a place that felt like home, in our very first days moving to Brighton. Very convenient location, walking distance from the center, public transportation just few minutes from the apartment, shops and nice pubs around. It was our pleasure to meet Jackie, her son and Tiger!

George User Profile
September 2017
Jackie was very accommodating, she made us feel very welcome and her homemade jams are a treat! Her place is colourful, full of character and in a great location. I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a place to stay.

Nic User Profile
September 2017
We had a relaxing and extremely comfortable stay in this beautifully interesting house. Jackie is a very welcoming and kind person, a perfect host. We enjoyed very delicious breakfasts and loved Tiger, Jackie's charming cat. A great location in a city that's just brilliant for vegetarian eating.

Ele User Profile
July 2017
We didn't have the chance to meet Jackie in person but we know it's a lovely person.. You can see it from the lovely home she takes care about, really warm and full of colorful things that can tell you a story.. We met her talented son, brave musician and really kind young man. Don't miss the opportunity to have a little internal look to this family's home and enjoy at the same time a powerful windy city like Brighton!

Brighton, United KingdomJoined in June 2014
Jackie User Profile

I am a writer, based in Brighton, UK. I grow my own vegetables, teach and read widely. I'm relaxed, a vegetarian, sociable but an early riser. I have travelled in France, Spain, South Africa and other places. I enjoy walking.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings