Lake view from dockmaster bedroom, upper level
Lake Wallenpaupak lakefront
Hosted by Dale
Dale is the host.
5 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
5 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Enjoy the sunrise over private beach, dock, lakeside bar-b-que, with patio table and chairs, large deck for outdoor dining, 3 bedrooms, lake view from master bedroom w/ skylights(pull down stairs), wood floors, sun room, Separate (no internal stairs) lower level with living room, 2nd bathroom and deck. Maximum 5 people. Gradual grassy slope leading to lake, no railing.
New gas stove/oven.

The space

A warm sunny house with pine paneling in kitchen and great room, large deck is delightful overlooking lake. Views of lake through 3 large windows upper master bedroom, skylights. Lots of lakefront space to enjoy.

Guest access

Whole house

Interaction with guests

If possible, I will greet you when you arrive. Otherwise, we'll arrange a place to leave the keys.

Other things to note

Stone patio with picnic table and bar-b-que at lakefront. 50 ' private beach and dock, canoe can be used.
Replaced kitchen appliances including new gas stove, mircrowave, and larger toaster oven.


Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Heating

Prices
Extra people $52 NZD / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee $125 NZD
Security Deposit $295 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price $362 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Please park only in designated areas to the left of the front stairs. In general, no pets, please. And no smoking! Fireworks are not allowed in Woodlyn Shores. No ATVs.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

3 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kristin User Profile
August 2017
Dale’s house has warmth and character. We found it to be very clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking our meals. It was a real pleasure to sit out on the deck, looking up at the trees and down to the lake, and hearing its lapping waves. We had a wonderful time canoeing on the lake and walking about the neighborhood. Dale was a helpful and gracious host, and I’m sure she would have been responsive to any problems we had. But we didn’t have any. The house was beautiful and the direct access to the lake was awesome!

Hugh User Profile
July 2016
Used private feedback because trust the host to attend to matters of concern. HB

Dan User Profile
July 2016
Dale seemed very nice! She was easy to contact and quick to respond. The house feels roomy and has a beautiful view. They have a huge porch which is wonderful to sit at. Dale even allowed us to borrow her canoe, which was a delight to paddle around the lake. While the house is at a very pretty location on the lake, there were some quirks with the house that made our stay less enjoyable and made me a bit concerned for our safety. First and foremost, the kitchen is not very workable. The stove worked (though you had to hand light it), but the oven did not. When we brought this to Dale's attention, they just told us to use the toaster oven. The toaster oven is, of course, a great deal smaller, and hard to operate as the labeling has all but rubbed off (as it is quite an old toaster) so you don't really know how to set the knobs. The fridge and freezer is really small. We rented this place for six people, so we assumed they would have amenities that suited six people. The fridge was not much bigger than a college mini fridge. The majority of the beds were unbearably uncomfortable. The bed in the basement is a pull-out bed that gets so damp (as the basement is quite humid) that if you were to slide your hand against the bottom of the remarkably lumpy mattress it would return entirely wet. We gave up on the bed and set up an air mattress down there. As for safety, the house only has one exit. There were no smoke detectors or carbon monoxide detectors in sight. Several lamps had very old wiring that was taped up in some way with electrical tape. There was one fire extinguisher, but for outdoor fires (as there was a fireplace) we were not offered a working hose or even a bucket. The roof leaked when it rained. At one point a ceiling tile fell loose. The house did have internet, which me and my family really did love, but the wifi router would not allow our phones to connect. I just ordered a replacement router from amazon for us to use for the remainder of the week. Bottom line, I think the house was not worth the cost. We've stayed at other houses on the lake that didn't have any of these issues and paid less. You could certainly have a lovely vacation at this house, as we did for the most part, but you're going to have to lower your expectations and deal with a lot of quirks. If the house was a bargain, I wouldn't have been so upset with what we had to put up with. But as it stands, we feel a little bit ripped off.
Dale User Profile
Response from Dale:
This was our first rental. Although we worked hard to accommodate, we didn’t anticipate the problems with the oven or wifi. We had the house professionally cleaned, and it was sparkling when we greeted Barb. I'm sorry if some dishes in the closet were overlooked. We allowed for a maximum of 6 guests, buying extra chairs, and a new patio table, but I guess the ¾ size refrigerator (not a mini) was a problem for them. I told Barb about the small freezer compartment in an email response to her many questions. I changed the listing from 6 to 4 people. When we were told the oven didn't work, I thought our apology was accepted, and regret that we couldn't fix it at that point. I’ve written to Barb and offered her a rebate because of it. We will fix or replace the oven, and the toaster oven, as well. It is safer to have a stove without a pilot light burning in a seasonal house. Matches are provided. Smoke detectors will be installed (an oversight). We wish Barb had notified us if there was a leak, as we would have sent someone to fix it immediately. We'll do it now, but wish we had known earlier. We have always found the beds to be comfortable, but will revisit that. We did add a memory foam pad to the Sealy sofa mattress in the lower level, but I will put in another mattress entirely. In hot weather, condensation in lake/forest environs can occur. If we had known, we would have asked Dan to increase the number of hours on the de humidifier. We’ll set it up in the room so guests can adjust it more easily. There are two exits, one to the deck, and one to the front steps. We will replace the lamp. Sorry if it seemed unsafe. It wasn't. The tile that fell was a cover for a removed wood stove vent, not a ceiling tile. They called about it, and we explained how to snap it back in place. Internet was installed just before Barb arrived. The wifi worked for us, and we tried to figure out why it didn’t for these guests. We’ll replace the router. I sent Barb an apology since she was unhappy, along with an offer of rebate. We want our guests to enjoy their time in our lake house and are working to improve the house on all fronts!
July 2016

New Rochelle, New York, United StatesJoined in October 2014
Dale User Profile
Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings