Our small back garden in early Spring.The guest room
A private room for two in London
Hosted by Helen
Helen is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The space

A charming airy room in an Edwardian house, with period features. We are in a pleasant residential area -Zone 2-with excellent transport links. My husband Gary and I are childless but do have Minnie the Cat. We allow smoking and a weekly cleaner attends to our and our guests' needs.
There are four bedrooms, but we use one as a studio and another as our dressing room. There is one bathroom and two separate toilets. Our kitchen is available for guests to use and there is a separate laundry room.
Herne Hill is a mostly residential area with houses from the Victorian , Edwardian and early 20th century eras. There are restaurants, pubs and shops and nearby is the very pretty Dulwich Village, known to Shakespeare and Dickens.
Gary has retired from Hatton Garden, the centre of London's jewelry trade but still works as an art tutor volunteer in the NHS and I work as a chemistry teacher in a private boys' school in South London. I leave early so guests have plenty of access to the bathroom. We have hosted students from all over the World and enjoy entertaining and also learning from visitors.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Smoking allowed
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 25%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

6 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Doug User Profile
September 2017
Helen was extremely welcoming, and went well beyond the usual Airbnb experience. Thanks for breakfast and being so kind.

Candice User Profile
July 2014
Booked the room at Helen's for my parents and it was an amazing and comfortable stay. The place was true to pictures and description. Helen and Gary are both really friendly and great hosts! A nice and clean home, and a safe and quiet neighbourhood/environment. Thank you for your generosity, kindness, and making us feel at home!

Candice User Profile
June 2014
Loved the experience and stay with Helen that we booked it a second time! Thanks for accommodating us! (:

Caroline User Profile
June 2014
We really enjoyed our two days with Helen and Gary. The house is a delight -mostly white walls with subtle touches of colour and it's full of pictures and sculptures by Gary and his friends. Helen and Gary and exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was pretty and the bed most comfortable. The area of London is close to buses and trains (not the underground) and it is easy to get into the centre of London. It is a very safe part of the capital so you feel free to walk the streets happily at night time. This B&B suited us perfectly and we will be hoping to go back there one day.

Kathryn User Profile
June 2013
Helen was a lovely host, really welcoming. The room was beautiful, with a view of the garden and interesting artwork on the walls. The house is also beautiful, full of light, art and books. I hope to have another reason to stay again.

Ann-Kathrin User Profile
June 2013
Helen and her husband were lovely hosts and did everything to make us feel at home. Beautiful house with a lovely little garden in a nice and quiet residential area, about 8min from Herne Hill train station. We especially enjoyed having breakfast in the garden. Thank you!

London, United KingdomJoined in May 2013
Helen User Profile

My husband Gary and I have hosted many foreign students for over 15 years. I am a chemistry teacher at an independent boys school and Gary has retired from Hatton Garden, the precious metal and jewellery centre of London, and he now works as an art tutor volunteer in the NHS. We are childless but have Minnie the cat, who is very demanding. We allow smoking and are easy going and I hope helpful to all our visitors.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings