Skip to content
Large modern built in wardrobe with plenty of storage spaceBright, sunny, spacious room
Relaxing Sunny Safe Room in Sydney!
Relaxing Sunny Safe Room in Sydney!
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Homely, convenient and spacious private room - STRICTLY FOR NON SMOKERS ONLY!

Our top floor apartment is sunny & warm in winter, cool & airy in summer. The perfect base for exploring Sydney - short walk to trains and buses!

Tranquil gardens surround the building. You'll hear the crickets chirping at night, while being just a short stroll to everything.

The space

We pride ourselves on providing a clean and tidy home for your stay. Please leave our home in the same condition you found it in. Any dirt, spills or mess must be cleaned up promptly.

Whether you're coming from the other side of the world, or the other side of the country, you'll feel right at home.

Your room will be clean, with fresh sheets and towel. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash and soap are also provided. If there is anything else you need, we have a large Coles Supermarket just down the road, open till midnight every day.

There is a desk and chair in your room, whether you need to get some work done, update your social networks or writing a novel!

An international power board is also provided, so no need to bring bulky travel adapters. If you need a phone charger or cable, just let me know.

Fast WiFi is available all throughout our apartment, balcony and part of the garden. There's nothing more annoying than being told the WiFi doesn't work in your room (it happened to me in a few places), so no need to worry!

I'm happy to help you plan your trip, give you some recommendations on places to visit and things to do. I was born in Sydney and lived here all my life, so if you have any questions, just ask!

Guest access

Your private room is just for you and won't be shared with anyone.

You will share the bathroom with only my girlfriend Amy and I. Shampoo, conditioner, and body wash are provided in the shower. We do not provide toothbrushes and toothpaste.

You can use the kitchen for light cooking only (heating food in the microwave, boiling water, etc). The lounge and dining rooms are also shared with guests.

We have an internal laundry and washing machine. Please ask us for help if you need to do any washing. Our room and study/office are private and cannot be accessed by guests.

we provide flexible check in and check out, however our days are usually busy. So please let me know when you plan to arrive in your initial message, so we can confirm our availability and make plans.

If we have another booking on the same day as you're leaving, check out will be 12pm so the room can be prepared for the next guest. You're welcome to leave your bags here while you go out.

Interaction with guests

As much or as little as you like and our schedules permit! At least one of us will generally be around, so we're happy to have a chat with guests and help out with any information, directions or recommendations.

We love meeting new travellers and sharing stories about places we've been and places we'd love to visit. I enjoy food, coffee, photography, nature and travelling.

If you have a busy work schedule and not much time, we totally understand the need for privacy and won't get in your way.

Other things to note

Since our working schedule is flexible, if you would like to go on a tour or short trip out of Sydney, I can help to either plan a personal tour with you, or find a suitable group tour to join.

I have a car and depending on my commitments, would be happy to help you visit some further away places for a fee, such as:

• Northern Beaches - Manly to Palm Beach
• National Parks
• Blue Mountains (3 Sisters, Bush walking, Spectacular views)
• South Coast (Seacliff Bridge, Wollongong, Kiama Blowhole and coastal towns)
• Central Coast (Gosford, Terrigal, etc)
• Lake Macquarie, Hunter Valley Wineries, Newcastle

Please let me know what you would like to see and do, and we can plan a trip to meet your expectations and budget.

Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Laptop friendly workspace
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 couch
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

You will be provided with a beautiful, clean and tidy room and home to enjoy. Please treat it with respect and keep it that way.

Please keep the following in mind, for the enjoyment of everyone and our neighbours:

• STRICTLY NO SMOKING, DRUGS OR DRUNKEN BEHAVIOUR ANYWHERE, INSIDE OR OUTSIDE! If you're a smoker, into partying or getting drunk, sorry we cannot accommodate you so do not book.

• Photo ID must be shown at checkin (passport or Australian Driver's licence).
• Please leave your shoes in the laundry, by the front door. We have clean, soft pure wool carpet that is lovely to walk on.
• No loud music, noise or phone calls. Since we live in an apartment, we must be mindful of our neighbours and keep noise to a minimum at all times.
• Please clean up after yourself if you use the kitchen and tell us if you would like to use any appliances.
• No visitors allowed without prior approval.
• Any damage must be paid for before checking out.

Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher
Availability
1 night minimum stay

21 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
This is a great option for the single traveller who needs a well equipped and comfortable room. Bathroom is shared, but it was beautifully clean and available. Mark and Amy are delightful, made me very welcome and let me come and go as I pleased, which was important, as I was visiting my elderly mother. They were very flexible about checking in and out. The location is a little noisy with traffic on the Pacific Highway, although the apartment faces the side and rear. Closing the window also helped.

Michael User Profile
April 2017
Great spot just minutes from the train station into the city. This is not my 1st time staying with Amy and Mark. Nice and peaceful stay in a clean and comfortable room.

Michael User Profile
April 2017
Small but comfortable place. The bedroom and bedding was very clean and comfortable. Amy and Mark are very polite, and very willing to accommodate you, but also allow you your own privacy. Thanks guys, will book again when I am working in the area.

Ramon User Profile
April 2017
Nice house and very clean. Communication with the hosts was very good. I recommend this house to everyone. Thanks!

Michael User Profile
March 2017
Great room, friendly and welcoming host, solid location close to public transport

Paul User Profile
March 2017
This is not my first stay at Mark's place but it will certainly be my last. Starting with the strong positives, the apartment is certainly very clean and Amy, his girlfriend, is a delight to talk to! BUT in the wardrobe there aren't enough coat hangers for more than a couple of days' worth of clothes - not very helpful when you have a week's worth of work shirts to hang up..... If you usually shave with water in the wash basin you will be out of luck here. Mark does not do this and therefore does not see the need to provide a plug for those who do. Similarly there is no plug in the kitchen for anyone wishing to wash up their dishes. To cover this Mark did offer to wash up most nights but the point is that what I wanted was the facilities to enable me to do my own cleaning up...... There is a dishwasher but I was discouraged from putting dirty dishes in this due to the cost of running it through a full cycle. There are two sinks in the kitchen and one of these is normally home to a plastic bag full of rubbish. Back in the bathroom there is nowhere to hang wet towels, and no alternative facilities in the bedroom. Hence guests have to hang their towels over the bedroom door handle. This place may well suit some but I would strongly urge anyone thinking of making a booking to look around at other listings in the area and consider these options very carefully.
Mark User Profile
Response from Mark:
We take great pride in providing a clean and welcoming home for our guests. This can clearly be seen from our other 5 star reviews from plenty of happy visitors (including Paul's first visit, before his incident). Regarding the issues identified above, I feel I should clarify: 1. Unfortunately Paul's second stay was in stark contrast to his first. His first review was highly positive and he had no issues with our home. While we were out, he was cooking and scratched our non-stick frypan by using metal utensils. When talking to Paul, he initially denied the damage. Later, he agreed to pay for the damage, then went to his room and slammed the door so hard I thought it had broken!!! For the rest of the week, Paul was slamming the fridge doors very hard each time. For the sake of being civil I chose not to say anything, after how he reacted initially. Paul's behaviour made my girlfriend feel extremely anxious and uncomfortable, she didn't even want to leave our room when he was home! When leaving on Friday morning, Paul refused to pay for the damage as agreed, claiming I need to give him the tax invoice for the frypan so he can get a tax deduction! After telling him I couldn't find it, he said he will deduct his tax from what he is willing to pay... 2. Paul never made any mention of a lack of hangers. If he needed additional hangers, he could have let us know and we would be happy to assist. 3. We do our best to be environmentally responsible. Therefore we don't see the need to waste a whole sink full of hot water to shave, wash 2 plates or a single cup. We run the dishwasher if there is a lot to be washed. It doesn't make sense to spend 2 hours waiting for a couple of plates to wash, when they can be easily hand washed in only minutes. Furthermore I was happy to wash dishes each night after we all finished eating. 4. There are hooks on the wall and back of the bedroom door where guests can hang their towel, perhaps Paul didn't realise this. Although he stayed for 8 nights over two weeks and had no issues after his first stay. 5. I'm quite perplexed how Paul had any issues shaving. Perhaps I am extremely lucky, but for the past 8 years I have always found water in the bathroom and never had any problems shaving :-) Paul didn't hold back and told us about all the issues he had with his past Airbnb hosts. Given Paul's fussy expectations, he would be best suited to a 5 star hotel with a 24 hour on call butler. For anyone who wants a homely, relaxing, clean and convenient place to stay, we trust you will enjoy sharing our home, just as all other previous guests have :-) - Mark & Amy
March 2017

Paul User Profile
March 2017
Wow! What a lovely, clean place to stay. Mark is a great host and the bed really is very comfortable!

Sydney, AustraliaJoined in May 2014
Mark User Profile

Hi, I'm Mark and I live in Sydney Australia with my girlfriend, Amy.

I was born and have lived in Sydney my whole life, Amy is from China. Together, we can speak and assist guests in English and Chinese (Mandarin).

I love travelling, exploring new places, eating new foods and drinking great coffee! Nature, photography and the beach are my passions.

We both love food and travelling. When visiting a new city, we'll happily walk around all day and love seeing what normal daily life is like.

My working schedule is flexible, and Amy loves drawing, crafts and being creative.

We've met many wonderful people through our travels with Airbnb. Now it's our turn to welcome you to our home in Sydney!

I'd love to recommend some places to visit or even provide a unique personalised tour.

Message me now for a quick reply!!

The neighbourhood

Similar listings