Great studio next to Carriageworks

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Our bright and peaceful studio is perfect for short to medium stays in Sydney. Situated in the city's funkiest suburb, only a few blocks from Sydney uni, Carriageworks Performance Space, RPA hospital and public transport. Can even walk to the city!

The space

We have recently renovated our self Contained Studio Apartment at the back of our property. It is bright and spacious with everything you could need for your stay. There is separate access from the side lane so you can be as private as you like but we are available for advice should you need it. The studio is set up for two adults however we are happy to accomodate families with a vast amount of kids paraphernalia around that you are welcome to borrow.

Location:
The studio is adjacent to Carriageworks with its multiple performance spaces, saturday farmers market and monthly artisan market. The local streetscape is quiet with beautiful mature english plane trees lining both sides.

We are very centrally located in Sydney with the CBD only 2 train stations away, or a 30 minute walk. Our nearest station is MacDonaldtown which is 2 minutes walk away.
Within 10 minutes walk of the studio is a multitude of restaurants, cafes and shops on the culturally vibrant King street. Sydney University, UTS University and RPA Hospital are also very close.

Accomodation:
It is a fully renovated light filled studio with 1 Queen Size Bed with crisp white sheets and comfy pillows. There is also:
Kitchennette (Single hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, saucepans, utensils, cuttlery & crockery etc.),
Separate bathroom with shower,
TV,
Wireless Internet,
Air conditioning,
Washing Machine,
Ceiling Fan,
Travel cot and foam mattress on the floor for children available if requested.

Guest access

Guests have access to the garden on the way to the studio. The garage is often left open to the garden and it useful for storing bags if you arrive early or need to catch a late flight.

Interaction with guests

We live in the main house, while the studio is at the end of the garden above the garage. So we are close by to say hi, give tips on where to go and help out if you need anything but otherwise we don't often see a lot of the guests that have stayed so far. Access is through a separate gate into the garden with the studio entrance off the garden. On weekends if we are not sailing then the kids will often be playing in the lane and garden. I am in and out most days so I tend to leave the key for guests in a key safe by our front door.

Other things to note

We are close to the railway (approximately 100m, obscured by trees) so trains can be heard from the studio however I have improved the sound insulation of the window towards the railway. The sounds is fairly muffled and earplugs are available if the noise bothers you.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/apt
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price: 156 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM

No smoking inside or in the garden - please use the back lane.
Please turn the air conditioning off and close the bathroom skylight when you go out.
Our internet connection is not on an unlimited data plan so please be respectful and not download in excess.

Please treat the place as you would your own home.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Dec 29, 2017 - Jan 12, 2018 the minimum stay is 7 nights.

221 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Theo User Profile
August 2017
Great studio for work and play. Well located to the train and great cafes, restaurants and bars. Host goes out of her way to help all via the Air BnB app. Don't worry about the train at all.

John User Profile
July 2017
The flat was perfect for what we needed - a central base to travel around Sydney. It was clean, comfortable, and very good value for money! I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks very much for a thoroughly enjoyable weekend!

Lucas User Profile
July 2017
A perfect little get away

Thor User Profile
July 2017
Great place,walking distance to nearby town.

Bethany User Profile
July 2017
Just want to say thanks so much for the stay. Checking in and out was so easy. It was a beautiful place in a great location. The bed was very comfortable. The Carraigeworks market has some lovely produce and lots of cute doggos and I love Newtown for the shopping and the cafes. Thanks for a lovely time

Megan User Profile
July 2017
This studio apartment was great. Had absolutely everything we needed. Was well insulated. Felt warm without the heater on even though there is one! Great neighborhood as well.

Lynne User Profile
July 2017
Great place to stay. A fair way from train station/s and very small TV - otherwise very comfortable.

This host has 31 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Newtown, AustraliaJoined in June 2013
Heather User ProfileHeather is a superhost.

Life is great. I have 2 beautiful children, an amazing husband and a great career as a handywoman. We are keen sailors, with a boat currently in Greece. We split our time between Australia and sailing in the Med. We rent out the studio at the end of our garden when we're in Sydney and often when we're away too. We also list our house when we're not here.

As a host, I try to give our guests maximum privacy while still being available to answer questions or deal with issues should they arise. As a guest, I'm very respectful of the places we stay and know what goes into a changeover so try to help out where I can.

I grew up in Sydney and have finally returned after many years living in various parts of the world - France, USA, UK, Singapore. Airbnb has enabled us to keep the travel bug alive within us.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Heather’s place.
Heather
Nichola helps host.
Nichola
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings