D9 Huge Room for Couples+CityCentre
Hosted by Manuel (Manu)
Manuel (Manu) is the host.
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
3 baths
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
3 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Huge room especial for couples with 2 desks in a friendly flat, ideally located. 10 mins walking to Broad St., 30 mins to New St, 5 mins to a big Morrisons supermarket. Several Restaurants+Taxi company next door. Bus stop+24h shop round the corner.

The space

A really big room with double bed, 2 desks, wardrobe, showcase with a lot of space, 2 lamps, and 2 chairs. Perfect for couples who has to work on the desks (Post graduate students, professionals, etc). Single mattress on the floor could be provided on request and of course duvet, bed sheets, etc.

Guest access

Free parking in Bellis Street 1 minute walking from home, Kitchen, Living room and 3 Bathrooms. Free 100MB WiFi, Washing Machine, Tumble Dryer, 2 Fridges, Flat Screen TV in the living room, CCTV in common areas, Guitar and Electric Piano.

Interaction with guests

We know it's not always easy but we like when there's opportunity to share some time with guests, going out, etc, and since there are 7 rooms, and some of them 2-3 months guests, usually there is always somebody in the living room to talk with. We appreciate guests who don't stay 90% of their free time inside the room and they contribute to the community spirit

We have an online group where we keep in touch and we organize activities like dinners, etc

Other things to note

- If you want to book only 1 or 2 nights with more than 10 days in advanced probably we will decline your reservation because they block our calendar. We only accept short stays to fill gaps in our calendar or for the same week. Sorry for the inconvenience.
- We have 1 cat named Marvel.
- There is a quiet time from 11pm-11am for the benefit of all guests.
- There are other permanent tenants living in the flat from different countries but also other travelers.
. We collaborate with a Charity that promote higher education in developing countries. Manu is the president of that organisation


Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Dryer

Prices
Extra people $14 NZD / night after the first guest
Security Deposit $195 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $78 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 floor mattress

House Rules
Not suitable for pets

Respect other guests belongings, leave the room as you found it, clean your own dishes and cutlery after use so other guests can use. Please lock the main door always behind you when you leave the building. Please note we have a quiet time after 11pm so guests can sleep and not be disturbed.

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

3 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
John User Profile
December 2016
The place is run down, smells of cigarettes, and has cats running down the corridors. Manu set up the room for 2 people when it was meant to be for 3, and due to a disorganised arrangement he has with some of the other residents, this was unable to be rectified, meaning we were forced to find alternative accommodation for the first night. Manu tried to help with this, and communicated well through the Airbnb messaging tool, however when it didn't work out he started trying to place the responsibility on us, saying we should have waited for 1-2hrs whilst his volunteers went shopping! The unwillingness to accept responsibility for his own poor orginisation was astounding, leading to a case being opened involving Airbnb, who rightly granted us a refund and a voucher for a future stay (not here!!!) lol. The issue itself was mainly due to bad luck/timing, however Manu's reaction thereafter was completely unreasonable.
Manuel (Manu) User Profile
Response from Manuel (Manu):
You left the place without notice, we had an spare key for the storage room with mattresses, and yes I forgot to tell the volunteers about the extra mattress but you forgot to tell us also in the check-in and as you know, they just went to the supermarket... Anyway, thanks for your feedack
December 2016

AnaMarija User Profile
October 2016
All was beautiful and nice, host was helpful with info for the town. Reccomended!

Joy User Profile
September 2016
位置很方便!工作的英国女孩子也很聊得来!如果能忍受老鼠的话......性价比还是很不错的!
Manuel (Manu) User Profile
Response from Manuel (Manu):
Hi Joy! Thanks a lot for your feedback, it was a pleasure to host you too and of course we are fixing that problem at the moment (Professionals have cleaned the back yard and fixing holes at the moment so we hope it does not happen again). Cheers!
September 2016

This host has 251 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Birmingham, United KingdomJoined in May 2013
Manuel (Manu) User Profile

The place has just been renovated (October 2015), based on comments and advise left by previous guests but if you still have any specific issue you would like to highlight, please be kind enough to let me know this when you are here in person as direct feedback is also welcomed. Thanks

Floors have been re-carpeted, all walls have been re-painted, new front door, new locks, new flat screen TVs, brand new fridges, dryers, ceramic hobs, etc. Please note as the property itself is quite aged it cannot be modernized as most people understand without making major structural changes.

I am a Chemistry and Spanish Teacher from Spain living in the UK since 2012 and I like meeting people from all over the world. I am also the president of a Charity in charged of support pour students to gain access to the University in developing countries.

We know it's not always easy but we like when there's opportunity to share some time with guests, going out, etc, and since there are 7 rooms, and in most of them 2-3 months guests, usually there is always somebody in the living room to talk with. We appreciate guests who don't stay 90% of their free time inside the room and they contribute to the community spirit

We have an online group where we keep in touch and we organize activities like dinners, etc

There's a great South East Indian/Sri Lankan restaurant (Spice Town, previously Chennai Dosa) close to my house where we like having dinner with our guests when it's possible.

Less than 1 minute walking you can find the 2 towers which inspired JRR Tolkien to write The Lord of the Rings (One of them is visible from the bedrooms) and 2 mins walking from The Oratory where he used to participate and 1 minute from The Plough and Harrow hotel where he stayed as well.

The property is located 5-6mins walking distance to the Botanical Gardens and 7-8mins walk to the Edgbaston Reservoir

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings