Private room

4 guests

2 bedrooms

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

My home is on a quiet dirt road overlooking Salt Pond just minutes from the Farnsworth's Olson House. Rockland, with its many fine restaurants, art galleries, live music, Lobster Festival, Blues Festival and Maine Boats and Homes Show is only 20 minutes away. Historic Thomaston is a 10 minute drive.

The space

The suite of rooms with private entrance are on the ground floor of my home. The bedroom with a double bed is a lovely antique with matching dresser dressed in summer sheets, down pillows, a comforter and semi sheer curtains that blow sweetly from the breeze that comes from my back garden area. The queen bed bedroom is on the lower level, where there is also a private living room and eating area. There is a nice sofa, small kitchen table, small refridgerator, coffee pot and microwave. The newly painted private bathroom with tub and shower and huge bath towels, hair dryer, some ( in case you forgot toiletries ) are one the first floor next to a bedroom. Quests have the whole first two floors of my house to themselves.

Interaction with guests

I will be here at my home most of the time, if not, there will be instructions I can give you about Keys etc. Most of my life I have had guests and lots of friends staying for a visit. I like to meet new people and have a great intuition when it comes to " when to interact and when not to". Life shared is life Loved.

Other things to note

I do have a very friendly dog, his name is Cubby Bear. He is a rescued dog from down south and has his own fenced area to stay in. Very friendly, smiles and wiggles, and prances when he greets folks. So no pets please. The other thing I will mention again is NO Smoking of any kind anywhere, anytime.


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: 3PM - 8PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 14 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: 14
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 8PM

I would like to say that my lights out time is by 10:00 P.M. I would like to think that my guests would be mindful of my neighbors , keeping quiet as possable when coming or leaving. Also leaving rooms as they were found. The laundry in a basket provided.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jen User Profile
August 2017
Mikki's home is very comfortable and peaceful. Mikki and Cubby are great! We slept so well! Mikki brought yummy fruit in the morning (in season, Maine blueberries). We also loved hearing about Matinicus Isle!!

Laurel User Profile
August 2017
Mikki is a friendly and welcoming host, yet non-intrusive. Her lovely home is in a peaceful, country setting. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. All necessary amenities were provided, including microwave, refrigerator, toaster, and coffee maker. Most delightful was seeing Mikki's paintings adorning the walls. We loved our time at Artist's Haven!

Anne User Profile
August 2017
The accommodations were comfortable and Mikki is a lovely host.

Nicholas User Profile
August 2017
Great host, got up extra early to see us off on our way to catch a ferry. Very friendly and sweet natured. Wish we could've stayed longer.

Stephen User ProfileStephen is a superhost.
August 2017
A great place to stay with a great host....highly recommended....

Shirley User Profile
August 2017
Mikki's place was in a perfect location for us, to visit JP Caponigro's open studio. The accommodations are spacious, clean and quiet, and Mikki was very helpful in getting us extras that we needed such as cutlery and plates. She was very appreciative of advice as to how to better equip the room, and update her description to include the fact that there was a fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee maker and kitchen table and chairs. She is going to add the things that we had to keep bothering her for, cutlery, plates, glasses, and she was kind enough to give us some granola she had, as we couldn't find it in the local small store. The only downside to the location is that There aren't really close by restaurants and grocery stores, so be prepared ahead of time. THere are 2 restaurants in Thomaston about 15 minutes away (one is closed Monday and the other closed Tuesday) and the big grocery store is in Rockland about 20 Minutes away. The best thing was that the next door neighbors had a party, and insisted that Mikki bring us 2 lobster dinners which were absolutely amazing! Don't expect that as the norm future guests, timing is everything! That's why I love coming to Maine, the people are so friendly and thoughtful. It was a total pleasure staying at Mikki's and I wouldn't hesitate to go back in a heartbeat. Thanks Mikki

Jost User Profile
August 2017
Mikki is a true jem and staying in her cosy home is not only an awesome experience for art lovers. We felt so much at home here, it was difficult to leave. My son and me can recommend this place as a unique possibility to stay with a warmhearted host in a wonderful spacey apartment. Thank you Mikki, we hope many nice people will come and appreciate your cosy home. Hope we'll meet again soon. Thank you for everything we will not forget you.

Cushing, Maine, United StatesJoined in June 2013
Mikki User Profile

I am a native Mainer and have lived in Cushing for 13 years. I also lived for 25 years on Matinicus Island Maine with my late husband who was a lobsterman and Merchant Marine Captain raising our two children. I was raised in Vanceboro Maine on the St. Croix river and Spendic lake. My interests are painting, mostly in oils, reading, my grandchildren and spending time with my many friends all throughout Maine. I can't live without my coffee in the morning. I enjoy having dinner with friends, going to the many art galleries in the area and local art walks. I also enjoy shopping and home decorating. I mostly am happy spending time with my family and good friends.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings