The view from Palm Tree Cottage in summer.
Palm Cottage Retreat on the North Coast 500
Palm Cottage Retreat on the North Coast 500
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1.5 private baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1.5 private baths
You won’t be charged yet

Palm Tree Cottage has two double rooms and a cosy living room. The beach is about ten minutes walk away. The sea view from the cottage is beautiful. Dogs are welcome. It is a fairly basic crofting cottage which is perfect for a retreat or as a base for tourists. It is minutes from the famous North Coast 500 route. It is quiet and peaceful. Nearby you can fish and play golf. There are geese and ducks nearby which children love. I tend to stay in an annex, but I leave you undisturbed.

The space

The cottage is fairly rustic. People love the view to the sea that you get from the cottage and enjoy retreating to a basic crofting cottage. However if you are looking for Claridges, this is not for you. Inside the cottage is quite rustic, with a little damp patch on the wall beside the stairs. There are two proper bedrooms, each containing a double bed. There are also two little chair beds which can be used to accommodate extra guests either in the living room or with the extension room downstairs used as a third bedroom. To be honest the chair beds are small so I would recommend using them only for children.

The cottage is ideally placed for fishing, golf, writing, cycling, walking and sight seeing of Dunrobin Castle and local beaches. It is also an ideal place to retreat from the busy world. It is close to Helmsdale in Sutherland half way between Inverness and Thurso (near Brora and Dornoch) in a quiet crofting village a stone throw away from the sea. You can walk from the cottage to the beach in about 8 minutes and the walk along the shore is stunning.

Guest access

Guests will have full use of the cottage including the kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, electric cooker, solid fuel range cooker and living room with wood burning stove. The central heating runs from a solid fuel range cooker so you need to light the fire for central heating although there are some electric facilities. There are two bedrooms each with a double bed. the upstairs bedroom has a little en suite toilet. There is a shower room downstairs with a power shower installed in April 2014. It is the best shower in the house. There is also a bathroom with a wonkier shower above a bath. There is also a room where bikes and other equipment can be stored or which could be used for arts or crafts. Mens right-handed golf clubs are possibly available as is one fishing rod.

Interaction with guests

I do not live in the cottage so you will be there on your own. I do have a cleaner though so the place will be immaculate. It is a lovely relaxing place retreat into nature.

Other things to note

Pets are welcome! Please clear up after them. Our blue recycling wheelie bin does not accept glass. Bottles and jars should be kept separately. If you have time, it would be great if you could take them to the bottle bank in Helmsdale. If not, please leave them in the shed.


Amenities
Kitchen
Smoking allowed

Prices
Cleaning Fee $98 NZD
Security Deposit $195 NZD
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Common spaces
2 toddler beds

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM

Towels and bed linen are provided. At the end of your stay, please strip the bed linen from your beds and put it in the laundry basket in front of the washing machine along with your towels (or you may wish to put it in the washing machine). If you use the washing machine, I recommend setting 9, which is a 15 minute daily wash.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

75 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Judy User ProfileJudy is a superhost.
July 2016
The cottage was lovely, it certainly was a retreat, the views were great, the house very comfortable. Contacting Lorna was easy and directions of how everything worked made life easy. We both hope that we get a chance to return sometime.

Sarah User Profile
October 2017
Great location for exploring

Gabriella User Profile
October 2017
Lorna's place is as advertised. All amenities are within short driving distance and the beach is a short walk away. Very quiet location with lots of space in the house itself. Spent most of our time in the cosy living room with the wood burner but there are electric heaters in each room as well which offers an alternative. There are lots of guide books/leaflets and the visitors books also provide some useful tips.

Jessica User Profile
September 2017
Beautiful location, very cosy

Marcus User Profile
September 2017
It was all good!

Elizabeth User Profile
August 2017
Great location, good sized house with easy access to the beach (large shingle) and great sea views. The damp mentioned was a little overpowering and I would recommend this be sorted if charging high fees for Airbnb.

Jennie User Profile
August 2017
Palm Cottage was lovely. Beautiful view of the ocean and plenty of space inside. Lots to do in the surrounding hills. We had a nice two night stay.

Cambridge, United KingdomJoined in June 2013
Lorna User Profile

I am quirky and laid back and enjoy meeting people. I have an active social life in Cambridge and would be happy to share it with you. Sometimes I am away at conferences etc. Until December 2017 my friend Markulf is also living in the house. We enjoy meditation, art, yoga, salsa, travelling and meeting people.
Lorna works in cultural studies and Markulf is an IT researcher.
We each have a property. We have a little cat called Miffy that moved into Markulf's house. She is kind of a rescue cat (although she rescued herself) and quite shy with other people.
Everyone will receive a warm welcome here and we hope you will totally make yourself at home in our place and will consider it your home from home.
If you are staying for a while and would like to have someone else visit you for part of the time, that might be possible too.


Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Lorna’s place.
Lorna
Muriel helps host.
Muriel

The neighbourhood

Similar listings