lovely apartment near the canal st
lovely apartment near the canal st
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The space

Charming two rooms with character (about 40m2). Clear, calm overlooking a leafy courtyard close to the St Martin canal, in a lively and popular area, multiple restaurants, bars, shops of all kinds, velib station, etc.

Ideally located for the heart of Paris (15 minutes by metro).
The closest metro stations: Republique, Gare de l'Est.

The apartment is on the third and top floor. without lift

The kitchen, equipped kitchen (microwave, dishes, etc..). It opens onto the cozy lounge with tv, dvd, and a sofa bed for comfortable extra.
Adjacent room (separated by a curtain) with a double sofa bed (linens provided).

Bathroom, WC with bath (towels provided). A small area with a washing machine.
Deep, but low mezzanine, has a double bed and furniture storage. Access is via a wooden ladder. So there is a possibility of 3 beds down, 2 more up for those who can use the scale (very easy to use except for children and the elderly).

Wifi connection. You will be welcomed and you can be assisted if necessary.

Deposit: 400 euros

Wireless Internet
Cable TV
Laptop friendly workspace

Extra people $8 NZD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $68 NZD
Security Deposit $679 NZD
Weekly Discount: 19%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM


6 nights minimum stay

7 Reviews

Check In
Kristyna User Profile
June 2017
I was very disappointed with my stay in the apartment. Where should I begin? When I first arrived, the apartment was freezing cold and all that was provided were two measly heaters. Even after wearing 4 layers to bed, I still ended up with pneumonia. During the summer, alternatively, the apartment turned into a sauna with no air circulation whatsoever and only one small fan provided. The kitchen is equipped with a "stove" where it takes 20 minutes for oil to heat up, and when I used the hot plate that was provided I was reprimanded for it at the end of my stay. The bathroom requires acrobatic moves in order to take a shower, and the toilet does not flush properly. The second bathroom that's off-limits often gives out this earthy rotting smell that you can't do anything about because the doors of it can't be closed. Apparently the neighbours also spy on you because after my stay I've been told that I spent way too much time in the apartment, and had way too many people there (mind you I had school and work all day, and stayed at home to study during finals and when I had pneumonia, and after my surgery). Check-out procedure was the rudest experience. You have to pay for a cleaning fee and the electricity bill in cash after. After everything was checked and nothing was found broken, the host sent me photos of a sofa bed that was supposedly broken by me and demanded I pay 400 Euros! Can you believe it? I had 3 friends helping me move out and they saw the sofa completely fine. and this woman, post check-out, a few weeks later demands I pay her more money! She also accused me of leaving vomit all over the place. Why wasn't this "vomit" mentioned or seen when I was there? I was locked out of the apartment 3 times because the key suddenly didn't fit in the lock. And numerous times I discovered that someone was inside the apartment without my knowledge. The host has all of her stuff there which means that the place is completely cluttered and always looks messy no matter how much cleaning you do. Horrible breach of privacy, and a horrible attempt at scamming me towards the end. Great area to live in though! so many shops, grocery stores, super accessible, and close to the canal where you can drink and relax with your friends!
Annie User Profile
Response from Annie:
Krystina you are upset because i dared to ask you 368 euros for the sofa. It's a price for a new one. Because the sofa is broken (i show you the pictures and i have the facture for the new one). It's not very honest of you. And because i was upset for the vomit behind furnitures and because the apartment was so dirty (7 hours of households by professionnels and 5 more me behind (URL HIDDEN) unbelievable). And a deep hole in the floor....Also you become agressive in your answer, almost threatening... Like i didt'n want story i did'nt do nothing. But your are not honest. Apologies will be fine, i was upset but i'm not a monster. - First : you visited the apartment before to take it. Also you saw all before to take it. You wanted it. - Two : there are 3 heasters (see the pictures) for the winter. And it's really enough for a apartment of this size (nobody ask me one more, even you). And you didn't stay the summer. You left the 15 june, the temperature in Paris was nice. And there are 2 fans. Also you seems to have a particular sensitivity to wheather. I'm sorry for you. - Third : for the stove when you use it turn the botton with the temperatures (URL HIDDEN) better.(small number it's for low temperature, big number it's for hight temperature) I'ts a Klarstein (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) (they say : that 2000 watt it's fast to become hot) : (URL HIDDEN) Poor little you were remprimanded ? It's not because you use a third plate (it's here in case of problem). But because the plate was black of dirty, and sticky.....(yuck) For the bathroom : You saw the bathroom when you visited it (i cant push the roof up) A solution ? : sit on the bath. For the toilet, you have to pull the botton..and let. (????) Sorry but i don't understand what i so difficult. The second bathroom is not new. But when you smell bad smells (it's rare) that come from the storm drain, when it's raining sometimes. i cant' do nothing for the hoses. it's not because the bathroom has not a new painting on. And of course you can close the door when it's smell, just dont' let the door close all the (URL HIDDEN) ridiculous. - Four : the lady, Dominique, who did the check out, asked you, which was agreed upon. Like i do with everybody and you where agree before take the aparment. (electricity is included until 60 euros per month. It's normally enough. This it's for not have crazy bills). And when Dominique saw the condition of the apartment, so dirty, yes she asked you a little more for the clean, (it's indicate on the announcement)....but not enough, i payed more than you gave, it's not event the half of what i had to pay. Five : for the keys, the door is new. And you did never stay outside. Someone put a paper in the lock. Even if the door is new we change it in the day. But Dominique lend you third key (for 2 people rent ?) and it was very difficult to have this key back. Six : Nobody come inside the apartment without your agree. It's impossible. Nobody came in your apartment. But you should ask at the person who get the third key maybe. Seven : there are my stuff like on the pictures and like your visit before you take the apartment. For the clean you should try stronger. Eight : my neighbors asked me if i rented for 6 or 10 people. It's all. Because almost every days and all the day 6 or 10 were in the aparment. Anyway i think you should rent a palace. The apartment is nice for two people, and it's not expensive. There are all inside that people need. It's not a palace, but it's enough (for this price). I used to live there and it was very great. Next time read also the feedback of the other people. There are all, the best and the less.
June 2017

Charis User Profile
December 2016
The apartment was lovely and very well located. Annie is very friendly and always willing to help. It has been a great stay for us !

Aimée User Profile
January 2016
Annie's flat was exactly as described and appears as it was in the photos (except the bedroom at the top of the ladder is a lot bigger!) It was so useful to have all kitchen equipment, linen and towels provided. Also the washing machine worked very well, and there is a launderette a couple of doors down where you can dry your clothes. The location of the flat is ideal for moving around Paris, with République metro station about a 5 minute walk away which serves many lines. With only a short walk to the Canal Saint Martin, there are many cafés and bars to explore (I would recommend HolyBelly, Liberté bakery and Marcel). The apartment is all open plan, with curtains to separate rooms which gives a lovely feel, but maybe isn't ideal for privacy in a shared situation for a long period of time. The ladder up to a bedroom is absolutely fine, but caution should be taken by those who aren't so steady on their feet. Annie and Dominique looked after us excellently during our long stay, and they were always contactable when we needed them. A special mention to both ladies, as we stayed at the flat during the Paris attacks, and both Annie and Dominique checked in on us daily, reassuring us at all times. Superb hosts, and I would highly recommend this flat.
Annie User Profile
Response from Annie:
Thank you Aimée. It's important for us that hosts feel well in my apartment and have a good time in Paris.
January 2016

Paolo User Profile
July 2015
The host canceled this reservation the day before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Annie User Profile
Response from Annie:
The reservation was made the day before arrival, and the canceled when i discovered the reservation, few hours after the same day (short time to react). But it was a case of force majeure beyond my will. (it will be not honest to welcome Paolo, nevertheless). Sorry for Paolo, Airbnb help me to do something. In 2 years, this is the first time I have a problem booking.
July 2015

Katie User Profile
June 2015
Annie was incredibly nice and helpful. She waiting for me and let me into her apartment early because my flight got in early and she had croissants and juice for me. She even offered to walk me around the area to familiarize myself with what was around and had maps and notes throughout the apartment to make sure I knew how to use everything comfortably. she was always responsive, her neighbors are also lovely and helpful and the area is one of the best I've ever stayed in Paris. I will definitely come back again!

Susan User Profile
May 2015
This is a great apartment in a super location! It is very spacious, especially for Paris, as you could easily sleep five people. I did not meet Annie in person but Dominique, who manages the apartment for her and takes care of greeting guests, was extremely nice, easy to communicate with, and professional. The apartment is exactly like the pictures. It is a unique space with lots of light. There are several skylights as well which really provide nice light during the day. Lots of books and artsy postcards and knick knacks around which show a lot of personality. The kitchen is outfitted with a mini fridge, mini freezer, microwave, electric kettle, and a small stove with two burners. The kitchen has most of the basics but not all (no dish drying rack or measuring cups for example) so may not be ideal for a gourmet chef for someone who really wants to cook a lot. For me, it worked and I was able to do the basic cooking I needed to do. Plus there are a number of wonderful bakeries and restaurants nearby! The wifi in the apartment worked great and provided an excellent connection. There is also cable television and a DVD player, neither of which did I use. As agreed in advance, I paid the electric at the end of the month which was about 40€ - Dominique checked the meter when I arrived and then measured it again to determine usage at the end of the month. To give an idea of cost, I am generally quite careful and I was extra careful here (never leaving things on or plugged in when not in use) as I was concerned about the cost. Also note that there is a fee noted in the description in French - 40€ for arrival on a Sunday or holiday. She also asks that you wash the linens before you leave. The neighborhood is very convenient, particularly to Gare de l'Est and Gare du Nord on line 5, and it is a short walk to Republique. It is very convenient to get to the canal but nice to be a two blocks away as it is quieter. There are two great bakeries nearby (Liberté and Du Pain et Des Idées) as well as two take-away coffee places (HolyBelly and Ten Belles), and of course tons of restaurants and bars. All in all, it is a great apartment and I just loved the location.

Jacques User Profile
April 2015
We had a wonderful (EMAIL HIDDEN)fortable, well located. We will stay there, again, in our next travel to Paris. Merci, Annie!

Paris, FranceJoined in June 2013
Annie User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings