Main room, 2016 with new wall coveringmain room, big window has filtered view of San Francisco Bay in the distance
Beautiful, Private, Craftsman Flat
Beautiful, Private, Craftsman Flat
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Beautiful private SEPARATE ENTRANCE flat with new modern appliances, new cabinets, spacious AND cozy space. Surrounded by trees, 6/7 block tree lined walk to campus or gourmet restaurants, shops and groceries. Golden Gate Bridge and bay view.

The space

This is a beautiful in-law, SEPARATE ENTRANCE flat. Renovated, furnished and well appointed for visiting scholars, sabbatical, relocation, short-term visitors to Berkeley who want a comfortable and private home away from home.

Located 7 blocks north of the UC Berkeley North Gate, 6 blocks east of the North Berkeley restaurants (Cheeseboard, Chez Panisse, Cesars, Gregoire's, Sauls Deli) and groceries.

800 square feet, gas fireplace, dishwasher, refrigerator, gas stove top, european oven with convection feature.

Wireless network access (WiFi), LED lighting, washer/dryer in basement (free laundry, yet shared washer/dryer is included in rental $). Heat is provided by your thermo-statically controlled 30,000 BTU gas fireplace insert, super cozy.

2nd bedroom is set up with a futon, but modifications can be made. Queen bed in main bedroom, full compliment of kitchen supplies (if you need something, please ask! ).

A bus stop (AC Transit line#65) is just 3 doors away, but house is quiet since it is 100 feet from the street.

Filtered view of the San Francisco Bay and Golden Gate bridge with beautiful sunset view.

NOTE: path plus 20 STEPS DOWN to entrance of this flat. Very private, but know there are steps. HOST will ASSIST with bags as necessary :)

I tend to rent space on semester, monthly and occassionally weekly. I rarely rent out for less than a week.

Guest access

Clothes washer and dryer in basement, soap provided.

Full kitchen in this flat, I get questions on this as pictures don't do this space justice. Refrigerator, oven, gas cooktop, dishwasher...

Deck railing has been replaced! So, we are more kid friendly.

Interaction with guests

I live next door, we call the space: "paradise next door."

I will help with bags as needed (20 steps down from street to home). I can answer questions about the space, restaurants, neighborhood(s), activities.

I have had guests I see often during their stay, and others I rarely/never see, depending on schedules.

As a freelance carpenter, I am available to make sure your visit is wonderful. Please tell me if anything isn't working perfectly for you.

Text, email, phone call. If it is urgent, text or phone confirmation is best.

Other things to note

I live with two very friendly cats (unless you are a mouse) that run around the yard but NOT in this flat.

For multi week stays, you are charged $80 for weekly cleaning, performed by a trusted house cleaner. This is to change linens, vacuum flat, and clean bath. This is over and above charges run through airbnb, there is no method to charge this fee on airbnb site. This cleaning fee is due upon arrival, at monthly intervals.


Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Indoor fireplace

Prices
Extra people $43 NZD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $172 NZD
Security Deposit $2868 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Supports Living Wage Pledge
People who clean this host’s listing are paid a living wage. Learn more
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

Recently, a guest had a "few people over.".. it turned out to be 20 people until after midnight on a Tuesday evening. His party got a bit out of hand... I am a big believer in: There is a time to turn up the music, and a time to turn down the music. That said. If you are inviting friends over, More than 6 visitors is not allowed unless guest and I have a discussion.

This is a wonderful private space in my home, i live in a separate home next door .

Separate entrance, private self-contained unit, control your own heat.

There are other people living in this building, but not in your space.

It is best to remove your shoes to keep the shiny oak floors happy, as well as the rest of the folks in the house.

Do not run laundry after 10 PM. No tobacco smoking allowed on property.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - path and 24 outdoor brick steps to arrive at front door. Host will assist with bags.
Pet(s) live on property - Two cats that belong to me (if cats belong to people) are in the yard.... pets NOT allowed in AIRBNB flat
No parking on property - Easy street parking, host will help with parking permits.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
14 nights minimum stay

24 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kennett User Profile
September 2017
Oren's place was in a great location minutes away from lots of great dining options. The patio was a great place to start the day with a nice view of the water through all the surrounding trees. The home was clean and comfortable with everything that we needed. Oren was very clear with instructions and made us feel very welcome. I would definitely stay again.

Jean User Profile
September 2017
I love Oren's place, stayed there for half a month. Oren was a great host and quite helpful. It feels like a second home relaxed and comfortable with a style.

A.J. User Profile
August 2017
This is a charming 2 bedroom apartment with a big living room / open kitchen and a large private deck. Everything's in very good conditions; the host seems to be a carpenter of some skill. We found that it was a great for just hanging out and relaxing. If you feel like getting out, there's plenty to do: It's across the street from Codornices Park, a few doors down from Berkeley's Rose Garden, and 5 minutes downhill to the Gourmet Ghetto or to UC Berkeley's campus.

Isabella User Profile
August 2017
Good vibes but a bit inconvenient location if not having a car. There is public transit but it takes half hour to reach downtown Berkeley and nearest deli is a 15min walk.
Oren User Profile
Response from Oren:
Hi Isabella, I wish you had told me you weren't finding my home convenient. We are a 6 to 8 minute walk to Shattuck Avenue... locally known as the 'gourmet ghetto,' with many food options. 20 minute walk to downtown Berkeley, BART to SF or airports. 8 block walk to Campus (North Gate), bus stop to all points is 4 houses away. Be well, Oren
August 2017

Hilary User Profile
July 2017
Wonderful experience! Oren was great, friendly, helpful, and an awesome communicator. The place was charming and interesting, perfect all around!

Mark User Profile
October 2016
Clean, nice view, and well stocked kitchen. This unit was an ideal place to sleep and then have breakfast before spending the day with our son and his family. A lovely quiet spot to escape the hustle and bustle of Berkeley – so much better than a hotel! Oren was a great host. Easy to communicate with and especially responsive (thank you for the foam pillows).

DeDe User Profile
October 2016
This private, cozy flat is in a great location for visiting Berkeley. Oren was very helpful and available. Some of our favorite things about this rental were: - the fireplace, especially for chilly mornings - great views and light from the large windows - really nice kitchen - location - quiet and lovely area, right next to the Rose Garden and a pretty park, easy to walk to campus and some restaurants, easy to bus elsewhere including to BART We hope to stay here again!

Berkeley, California, United StatesJoined in July 2013
Oren User Profile

Self employed carpenter and craftsman. I am a former corporate geek, and a printer before that. Good food, old cars, making sawdust.

I have built out this space for friends and families that want to spend some time in paradise.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings