The double bed sleeps two guests - or just one guest who likes to stretch! The room also includes a Bluetooth-capable alarm clock.A television with antenna and Roku are included in the room.
Mermaids and Chickens and Cats, Oh My!

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Private bedroom/bathroom in an airy, peaceful house steps away from Jazz Fest, City Park, and Bayou St. John!


Access to full kitchen and laundry; sweet cats; backyard with privacy fence, garden, chickens, and ducks.

Two cruiser bicycles are also available for rental.

The space

Your private bedroom and bathroom are on a semi-private hallway near the front of the house and just off the shared kitchen. You'll have plenty of closet space to store your luggage, hang clothes, etc. The room includes a television with an antenna and a Roku, WiFi, and a Bluetooth-capable alarm clock. Light-blocking curtains will help you sleep late (should you need it), or open them and greet the day with morning sun streaming through the window.

The private bathroom is only a few steps from the bedroom. The shower has a multi-setting massaging shower head and a bathtub. The bathroom closet is stocked with travel necessities (shampoo, soap, shaving supplies, etc.) as well as fresh towels, a sewing kit, a hair dryer, and first-aid supplies.

The house has central air conditioning and heat, and the guest bedroom also offers a ceiling fan. During temperate weather, feel free to open the windows in the guest bedroom and bathroom for a nice breeze. Both the bedroom and the bathroom doors lock.

Guest access

Guests are welcome in the kitchen, living room, laundry, and backyard/pergola.

In the kitchen, you'll find coffee, tea, and hot cocoa supplies, in addition to continental breakfast items (usually yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, granola bars). Guests may cook and have access to shared spices and condiments but are expected to clean up afterwards. I recycle and compost too.

There are a washer, dryer, and iron/ironing board available for your use (no additional charge) off the kitchen.

Guests are welcome to eat and work at the kitchen table. You may also read and relax in the living room or under the backyard pergola. If you need a break from New Orleans adventure, feel free to borrow a book, puzzle, or game from the living room shelves.

Interaction with guests

I'm a flexible host - perfectly happy to either quietly read and spend time alone or play a board game/puzzle with you. Of course, you'll probably be too busy taking in New Orleans for that, and I'm happy to recommend places to eat and things to do and see.

I'm a huge book nerd, so I spend a ton of time reading and writing. I enjoy scifi/fantasy, horror, movies, board games, puzzles, cycling, sewing, minor construction/carpentry projects (power tools, yay!), and painting. I'm no pro, but you'll see some of my work around the house.

Weekdays and nights are generally pretty quiet. My boyfriend, Stephen, usually comes over on the weekends and spends the night. He's super friendly and is a burger and film enthusiast.

The two cats of the house are Hatfield and McCoy. Hatfield is skittish and will probably hide during your stay, but McCoy warms up quickly and turns into a total ham. If you'd like to interact with the cats, letting them approach you is best.

Although the chickens (three hens) are pets, they aren't as socialized as the cats and prefer not to be held. However, they will probably hang out around you if you use the backyard. Feel free to reach down and gently stroke their backs. I also have four ducks. They're pretty to watch but are still getting used to people.

Other things to note

As a first-time homeowner and minor-construction enthusiast, I'm usually working on something in the house. Your stay helps fund future improvement - thank you!

When I'm home, I typically let the chickens and ducks free-range in the backyard. I try to keep paved walkways free of poop, but please watch your step and check your shoes before coming back inside from the backyard.

If you are allergic to cats, this may not be the best place for you - I have two fabulous felines, and one can be very affectionate. However, I keep the house neat, and the floors get frequent cleaning. Hard floors run throughout the house - no carpet and only a few area rugs.

If you need something or have a special request during your stay, please ask!

Unless otherwise discussed, check-in times on weekdays are firm. Due to my work schedule, I can't be home to welcome you until after 5pm.

License or registration number

17STR-05343
Learn about this field

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 5PM - 11PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s) and other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 7 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 14
Security Deposit: 141
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 77 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 5PM - 11PM

-Every guest must have a completed bio/profile, at least one clear photo (of you, not Tom Selleck), and offline i.d. (driver's license, passport) verification to book with me. No unregistered guests are allowed (not even if it's Tom Selleck).

-All guests must be 13 years or older

-All communication must stay on the AirBnB platform - no calls/texts

-To help keep things tidy, I appreciate you taking off your shoes while inside the house and cleaning up your messes.

-No parties or illegal drug use. Moderate alcohol use is fine; join me for a beer under the pergola!

-Have fun and enjoy the city!


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

61 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Bhaskar User Profile
August 2017
I had a good experience. Her house is neat and tidy. I had access to a separate bathroom which was clean and had well stocked towels and other needed stuff. Robyn has taken good care of making sure that her guests have access to necessities such as morning tea/coffee/snacks as well as a complete go to manual. She helped in every way she could whenever I reached out to her. I would love to be back again!

Jennifer User Profile
July 2017
Robyn was very nice and welcoming with us. She had a lot of advices for us put in a folder. She had thought of every practical side when we travel (e.g. electrical adapter, toothpaste ...). There is a bus station within 10 minutes walks from Robyn house, there is also a street car station within 15 minutes walks. We can park easily and for free in her street. The neighborhood is quiet. One of her cat - McCoy - was very cudly with us, we didn't take the time to socialize with her ducks and chickens. ---- Robyn a été très sympathique et accueillante avec nous. Elle nous a donné beaucoup de conseils sur la Nouvelle-Orléans, conseils regroupés dans un classeur. Elle a pensé à tout pour les voyageurs : des adaptateurs électriques ou du savon/shampooing/dentifrice par exemple. Sa maison est à 10 min à pied d'une station de bus et à 15 d'un terminus du tram. On peut se garer très facilement et gratuitement dans sa rue. Le voisinage est très calme. Un de ses chats, McCoy, demande souvent des câlins :), nous n'avons pas pris le temps de rencontrer ses poulets et canards.

Rachel User Profile
July 2017
Robyn was a great host. She had little snacks available for us and even made us coffee in the morning. The room was in a nice neighborhood an easy taxi or Lyft ride from the French Quarter. Very clean and quiet.

Chelsea User Profile
July 2017
My boyfriend and I loved staying with Robyn and would absolutely stay again if we returned. The place is steps away from public transportation (literally there is a bus right outside her front door). It was walking distance to the gorgeous City Park. Robyn provides a very clean and comfortable home with lots of little extras like supplies incase you forget anything, super comfy bed, Roku, and great breakfast choices. If you are there for the food, she has a lot of great recommendations on where the locals go. She was also just pleasant company. The Uber ride we got from the Airport was $33.95 for one way which was cheaper than getting the airport bus into the city center.

Adam User Profile
July 2017
Robyn and her place are both fantastic. As a host, Robyn is kind and respectful, and she goes above and beyond to ensure her guests have a positive trip to New Orleans. The home is in a very convenient location, especially if you are looking for a quiet respite after and away from the boisterous fun of downtown.

Marija User Profile
July 2017
Robyn was a great host! She was organized and helped me feel at home. I would highly recommend staying with her!

Nydia User Profile
July 2017
Robyn was a wonderful host. She is very sweet and thoughtful and the place is clean and comfortable. Very happy we stayed with her and her cute kitties

New Orleans, Louisiana, United StatesJoined in June 2016
Robyn User Profile

I'm an artsy writer type who also gardens, sews, and plays with power tools and lumber. I spent 6 years in the Coast Guard, but when the service stationed me in New Orleans, I fell in love and decided to stay here.

Although I enjoy going to New Orleans' many festivals and parades, my ideal party involves board games or movies. My boyfriend, Stephen, is a huge film nerd who also enjoys a good board game and occasionally spends the night at my house.

I love this city for its fun-loving/come-as-you-are vibe, blue skies, and flat roads (great for biking!). Oh yeah - and the FOOD! I can't wait to point you towards some of my favorite spots!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings