...sunset...open fire and grill
Small house in a rural area.
Hosted by Bernardo
Bernardo is the host.
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

In the middle of the nature and at the same time near the airport, the city and the beaches. It is not a turistic place. A simple location rich in nature and calm. The best place to watch the sunset and drink a good wine (caipirinha).

The space

Our property is situated approximately 12km from the international airport, about 13km to the sea, about 30km from the historic center (Pelourinho), about 10 km away to the next shopping center. The area is very quiet and very natural. We have exclusive access to the lake. The accommodation is ideal for people who would like to spend their holidays on a quiet natural place and from here discover the city and the beaches. Necessary is a car or we can arrange trips to the center or to the beach with our Willys Jeep. Furthermore, we provide ebikes that can be used to go to the beach (Itapua, Burraquinho, Praia do Flamengo) or to go shopping. The house is suitable for two adults (double bed), has a small kitchen, a sofa, refrigerator, electric energy (127V), hammock (rede), television. Bedclothes and towels are provided.

Guest access

Our guests have access to the entire garden area, and the lake. We rent electric bikes (ebikes). With our e-bikes you can reach the close shopping and the beach.

Interaction with guests

We live on the same property next to the house to rent. We personally take care about the welfare of our guests and would like to offer every imaginable assistance (rental car, Ebike, touring with and old Willys Jeep). We speak German, english, spanisch and portugues.

Other things to note

The property is not in the touristic center or on the beach. We are living here in the - still intact - nature on a lake very close to the hotspots. If you wanna go out every day to make party, better to look for some place in the center. If you want to relax, privacy and discover the city and beaches you are right here.


Extra people $9 NZD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $18 NZD
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 10AM

We would like that our guests respect the nature and the harmony of this place. We like good music, good food, drinks and smalltalk. If you like this as well you must enjoy it with us together.....Aproveite e fique feliz!

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house


2 nights minimum stay

12 Reviews

Check In
Teresa User Profile
February 2017
The host canceled this reservation the day before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Stephanie User Profile
April 2016
I was prepared to leave a beautiful review, but Bernardo turned out to be a money hungry nightmare. Before I explain my horrible experience, its important to give some background. initially the listing was advertised at $13USD a night. i originally wanted to spend 6 months living in Salvador, but when i spoke to bernardo to possibly lower the price since I was staying for an extended amount of time, which is the usual custom for most hotels and other airbnb listings, he was hesitant but then agreed to lower it for me. unfortunately because of the currency difference or perhaps miscommunication, i ended up being charged $15 a night. I explained this to bernardo but for some reason he couldnt lower the price or even bring it back down to the original listing price. seeing how difficult it was, i called bernardo and asked him if he could simply lower my utility and bike rental fees to make up for the increased listing price. he agreed, but because of the back and forth and how difficult he was being, i became afraid to spend a full 6 months at this location, so i later told bernardo that i was only going to spend 1 month rather than 6 months with him. fast forward now to the last week of my stay. i had rented out the ebike because unless you are willing to get a cab everyday, the location is basically in the middle of the jungle and its very difficult to go to and from there because of the nearly mile long dirt roads you have to travel in order to get in and out of there. now, everyone is right in saying you must have some extra money in hand while staying there, but that is an understatement. you basically need to empty out you entire bank account to live here. when bernardo gave me the grand total for the bike rental, internet (btw although it is included in the listing you will still have to pay for not only your use of the internet, but his family as well which means youre paying their bill for them), and other costs, i simply asked bernardo if he could lower the total cost by 100 reis (mind you i paid over 200 reis because he wouldnt lower the listing price back to the original price). he became irritated but finally agreed to lower it by only 40 reis. i decided to speak face to face with bernardo the following day to remind him that he increased the listing price and to ensure him that it was never my intention to cheat him out of money. he was so stubborn and unwilling to understand my request to lower the price out of fairness so instead i just paid him 100 reis more. he was very insulting and rude after this! His attitude towards me was extremely disrespectful and he was not at all accommodating! DO NOT STAY HERE!
Bernardo User Profile
Response from Bernardo:
Stephanie, You didn´t pay extra for internet, energy or something like this. Only the costs for picking you up lost in Salvador with the bike, Virginia washing your clothes and the transport we combined we were charging from you. You also didn´t pay for me bringing you to the laptop shop, to the shopping when you arrived in Salvador. You didn´t also pay for the meet we ofered you in our house, for the drinks....and so on.... And you know this, so please don´t lie! You had a lot of luck here that nothing happened with you riding drunken on the road with the bike and the people close here are gentle and helped you. If you go the same way in Sao Paulo you will have a lot of troubles. I knew that you would write bad about us. I did not do it, but ok. You are the first guest talking that way about us. You don't think that the problem is YOU? I will try to forget this time and take care about you Stephanie. You will need it !!
April 2016

Abraham User Profile
January 2016
Bernardo is an Austrian landscape gardener who got fed up with rich and demanding clients back home. He traveled to Brazil and met the charming Virginia. The result is a happy Bahian familiy (including energetic extremely cute 3-year-old Tassio, Mr. Jorge and Ms. Piri the dogs) in a little village close to Salvador. The little house is perfect for a relaxing getaway. You can read books, play a game of badminton, go swimming in the river/pool, have drinks, lay in the hammock or explore the village. Virginia is a great cook, and I would recommend to order her dishes (15RS for breakfast, 30RS for a meal) at least once. In a bit she might also be able to serve delicious cheesecake. I regret my Portuguese is still basic, otherwise we might've talked more. Bernardo is working on the terrain and sometimes comes by for a friendly chat. He also runs an eBike company. You can rent a bike (60RS/full day) to explore the surroundings. They go up to 50km/h and I enjoyed the experience. After work he likes to have a beer. If you're interested in going to Salvador a lot it might get a bit pricey (40-160RS for transport, although you could hitchhike for cheaper with the locals), but a visit to a nearby paradisical beach (Stella Maris/Flamengo) is certainly possible. Also keep in mind that that internet speed in rural Bahia is good enough for ocassionally checking e-mails, but not reliable enough for frequent (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN)calls or Youtube watching. Having said that, we had a wonderful time at Sitio Bela Vista no Rio, and I think the house & the experience are great value for money.
Bernardo User Profile
Response from Bernardo:
Thanks Abraham for this very detailled statement. Of course there are some things that we can do better and we are working on it. But....nowbody is perfect even not me...;-). I hope you enjoy the south of (URL HIDDEN) day I will go there as well! Abraços Bernardo
January 2016

We had a very relaxed and enjoyable time at Bernardo's and Virginias place! it felt very private and kind of remote- great nature experience! we would definitely stop by next time we are in Salvador cause 2 days were a bit too little for the full experience! in that short time though we enjoyed a lot time spent with the whole family including a little Tassio and 2 very sweet dogs! folks, keep some extra money for delicious breakfast, drinks and dinner. If you stay a little longer you learn ebyke by yourself and it will take just 10 minutes to the supermarket.

Dayton User Profile
October 2015
Bernardo and Virginia were fantastic hosts! They had a lovely home that they have worked hard to develop and make beautiful. They were very friendly and Bernardo showed us the area by ebike! It was great to just relax on the river for a few days. I would recommend this place over many others in the area, its the best!

Matthew User Profile
May 2015
Bernardo and Virginia were wonderful hosts. And their hacienda is just spectacular. Virginia is an incredible cook, and riding ebikes through the streets of Salvador with bernardo was a total adventure. Great times all around. Can't recommend their place enough for a relaxing and unique stay in the Brazilian countryside.

Micha User Profile
December 2014
Me and my girlfriend stayed for 2 Nights and enjoyed our stay with Bernardo and his family. I can wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area. Its its very private and quite unlike other place we have been in Brazil. Thx

Salvador, BrazilJoined in July 2013
Bernardo User Profile

live here in this rural territory because I love the nature and the contact with the natives. Love my wife, my kid, my dogs and my Willys jeep.
I try not to stress as I stressed me in Europe.

Less is often more .....

Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Português
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings