Skip to content
Gateway to Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton
Gateway to Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton
12 guests
6 bedrooms
9 beds
2 baths
12 guests
6 bedrooms
9 beds
2 baths

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

My Victorian Town House is walking distance to the beautiful Dartmoor and hundreds of family-friendly activities. You’ll love my place because of the high ceilings, good size garden and perfect for all adventurers (big and small) with a large basement to store bikes, toys, canoes etc. The location is brilliant with easy access to the A30, Waitrose, Exeter and all the wonderful North Dartmoor villages. It is perfect for couples, families (with kids), big groups, and furry friends (pets).

The space

The house has a lovely entrance hall that leads to a Kitchen Dinner with an AGA and a table that seats 8 (plus one trip-trap high chair). There is a lounge area with a wood-burner and a second reception room which is a playroom (photo to follow). French Doors lead from the kitchen dinner and a door from the lounge onto the decking area to a secure large back garden.

Upstairs on the First Floor are 4 rooms and a Bathroom and then up again to the second floor there are a further 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The house is a family home but the cupboards and some draws will be empty for your stay. Bedrooms 5 and 6 can be two singles OR made up as a doubles.

There is also a basement with external and internal access. Great for wet dogs, bikes, canoes and kids (large and small).

Guest access

You have access to the whole house.

Interaction with guests

I may not be around for some or all of your stay, however will be contactable by phone.

Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.
Amenities
Pets allowed
Free parking on premises
Family/kid friendly
Kitchen
Prices
Extra people $30 NZD / night after 10 guests
Cleaning Fee $30 NZD
Weekly Discount: 21%
Weekend Price $30 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed
Bedroom 4
2 single beds
Bedroom 5
2 single beds
Bedroom 6
2 single beds
Common spaces
2 sofas
House Rules
No smoking
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox

- You are very welcome to use the toys in the play room, we totally understand accidents happen so please do let us know if anything gets "misshappen".

Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Availability
3 nights minimum stay

13 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Filippo User Profile
September 2017
Our experience in Okehampton has been fantastic: good time, many places to visit around the Devon county (Paignton, Land’s End, Tintagel, Exeter… and for courageous people also Cardiff in Wales). Amanda’s home is beautiful and loving home, and finally Amanda is a very discreet and friendly person. Thank you for all Amanda, we wish you all the best!

Keith User Profile
August 2017
Our family have just returned from a week's holiday in Amanda's home.We literally could not fault it.There were 5 adults and 4 children among us and we had so much space.Almost every night we would sit in the stunning garden enjoying a BBQ while the children played on the trampoline.Amanda thought of everything and all you need is provided including some welcome goodies such as scones and cream as well as essentials like milk and tea bags.Amanda has amazing taste,it feels luxurious and we really did feel like we were in a home away from home.An absolutely wonderful holiday,thank you Amanda

Rubeca User Profile
August 2017
Firstly the pictures on this site do not to justice to the actual property, in real life it is more light, airy, huge and very tastefully decorated. We were a group of 5 adults and 7 children (5yrs - 13yrs), everyone had their own private space to relax in and the playroom with many toys/books/big doll house was loved by my 2 little nieces. We didn't feel as if we were staying in someone else's house, it felt very comfortable like our own. Amanda left us scones, jam, cereal etc, generally the kitchen was very well equipped, we ate dinner at home every night and had no trouble finding what we needed. The children loved to listen to the radio in the dining room and have a dance, it was a nice vibe in the evening with the garden doors open and decking lights on. They enjoyed the trampoline and ball game at the back of the garden aswell. Never used an Agar before, so at first was confused why it was on, got a bit worried, however spoke to Amanda who responded immediately, very good communication with the host from beginning to end of our Trip. Having towels, iron and hair dryer available was great. The Showers are good and powerful, which is always important for me so I was very happy. Also beds were comfortable. I wasn't expecting another kitchen/sitting room on the top floor so that was a pleasant surprise, the teenagers in our group used that as their chill zone. The lynford gorge is approx 15mins drive away, and I definetly recommend this waterfall trek to all. We used this home as our base for visits to Penzance (2hrs) St Michael's Mount (1hr 50min) and Eden Project (40min). After a long day out sightseeing every day, we all felt excited to get back to the house and relax; seriously its such a pretty home. There is also plenty of take-aways few mins walk away (I think it is the main town centre) and a good bakery aswell. I would recommend this house to all airbnb users. My family and friends who saw my (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) are already asking for details! I honestly can't think of anything negative to mention. Thank you Amanda for a lovely experiance! Becky

Jenny User Profile
August 2017
The property was absolutely lovely! Central and close to main routes to all locations. Shops are less than 5 min walk away and the house itself was beautiful. The garden was secure and safe for our dog to relax and was positioned for the sun! The house was spacious and had more than we could need. Plenty of towels! Thank you Amanda for leaving us bread, scones, milk etc. I have already recommended you and your property to friends and family! Hopefully we'll be south again in the future!

John User Profile
August 2017
If you have the opportunity, you will not be dissapointed

Adam User Profile
July 2017
A large and beautifully kept house and garden, in a lovely part of Okehampton. Shops, pub, castle and park are all 5-10 mins walk away, so very convenient. Have fun with the Aga oven!

Bernadette User Profile
July 2017
Amanda's home is a beautiful place, more than enough room for 10 adults plus children. The kids loved the playroom, trampoline and garden. Great amenities throughout the home, and a lovely gesture from our host providing milk, coffees, teas and cream teas and also including all household basics allowing you to just enjoy being on holiday and concentrate on relaxing. Good location being close enough to town and supermarkets to pop out on foot or by car. On the doorstep to Dartmoor and a drive away from the coast. Thanks Amanda.

Okehampton, United KingdomJoined in March 2016
Amanda User Profile
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings