Single bed in shared room at my super chilled home
Single bed in shared room at my super chilled home

Shared room

1 guest

6 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

We love it here in my relaxed, comfortable house with balconies and rooftops, right by the sea, the shops, the bus stop and the fast-boat to Valletta. A budget place for easy-going friendly people with socialising or adventures in their holiday plans.

The space

This is my social, friendly place for open minded stress free people to get to know each other and explore small but beautiful Malta.
I've opened up my always-changing and easy going home for ten months now and life couldn't be better, we have met some really amazing people and had some awesome times.

Travellers take note; this house is a place for people who want to meet other backpackers and open up, even though it's so cheap the price shouldn't be your only reason for booking. People share food, drink wine, leave crumbs and make friends here - siestas and fiestas are highly recommended, so in your booking message let me know that this is your scene and you'll be welcome here.

We have a really amazing location, just by the sea and the 1.5euro fast ferry to Valletta (our tiny stunning capital city) just ten meters from the bus stop to the main hub and an easy walk to cheap food, cold drinks and fresh baked bread.

The house is a big one! Six floors including the rooftop, and this is the layout from the top down:

Top roof with 360* view
Second to top roof with my room/BBQ area
Shower (small and simple)
Lounge and Kitchen
Toilet (shared)
Mixed dorm room (sleeps 6)
Toilet (shared)
Mixed dorm (sleeps 4)
Basement (has one wall painted purple)

Cool things to know:
Most things here are recycled, reclaimed or home made.
The 6 bed dorm and kitchen rooms have a balcony.
All beds have mosquito nets.
Your room will be shared with five others maximum!
All beds are bunk beds.
There are 96 steps from basement to the highest roof.
The toilets are not attached to the rooms.
We have a guitar.
There is a large free car park.
You can see the sea from the roof.
The kitchen is pretty simple*
The convenience store is open every day.
We have no pets, vampires or air-con.
Sometimes we all cook together.
Sometimes we BBQ together and invite friends.
The WIFI reaches like everywhere.
You can walk to some amazing places from here**
People leave shampoo a lot so help yourself.
Apparently I like lists.

*The kitchen is very simple, with a food prep area, sink and seating. We have a hot plate, kettle, fridge, microwave, sandwich toaster, blender, cups, plates, bowls, spoons, knives, maybe some forks and like eight chopping boards.

** From the front door you can walk for 5 minutes and find yourself in Birgu (Vittoriosa) Malta's oldest and one of the most beautiful 'cities'. Go 15 minutes further and find the open sea to the East for an amazing sunrise.
If you head South from the house, one and a half hours hike will bring you to St Peter's Pools (find some photos and see why it's my favourite summertime swimming spot) and Marsaxlokk for the famous Sunday morning fish market (while everyone else doesn't fit onto the busses trying to get there before it closes)
So maybe you guessed, I like to hike. But the busses are cheap too, 2euros for two hours of use on any bus (Malta is less than 2 hours from top to bottom) - or you can buy a 12 trip ticket for 15 euros.

What not to expect:
Silence throughout the house
Everything scrubbed clean, Malta is made of dust.
Piggy backs up the stairs

What to expect:
Clean sheets
Unlimited wifi
Tea, coffee, milk, sugar
Music on the roof
A chilled atmosphere
Other people in the house, being awesome.

What else?...

I have a pile of things by the door, they are for everyone to use; there is a snorkel and mask with fins, beginner slack-line, practice fire Poi, acoustic guitar, rock climbing harness, board games, cards, island maps and some other stuff.

The entire house is open to everyone, if you need something just ask, if you break something it's okay and if you lose the key it's fine. We are a community of good people making the most of the summertime and you are super welcome to join us.


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 6
Check In: 12PM (noon) - 12AM (midnight)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Shared room

Amenities

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
3 bunk beds

House Rules
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 12AM (midnight)

Everyone has to be nice to my neighbour Katie, she is lovely!
Smoking is allowed on balconies and rooftops but not in the rooms please.
Take it easy and ask me anything :)


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Availability
3 nights minimum stay

20 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Olivia User Profile
August 2017
We had an amazing stay!! When we had questions about Malta we could always count on Clems advice. It was very nice to chill all together on the rooftop in the evening. We totally recommend this place to everybody!

Fouad User Profile
August 2017
Well if you travel alone and want to meet new people & have a awesome night? Well.. this is the place for you: very open minded, kind and helpful people! You can sit with everybody and have a chat! At the end of the day people sit at the roof and have a fun night-conversation. I loved it! Thanks Clem! Also thanks for me to have a good place, meeting your friends & brother. Yours, Fouad (Still need the Polaroid photos if you can send them to me, that would be nice!)

Ann Sophia User Profile
July 2017
Definitely recommend staying at Clem's place, it's very chilled and you immediately feel at home. It's also very close to the ferry to Valetta which is very practical! So it's perfect for everyone who looks for a low priced but unique way to stay in Malta :)

Nashelli User Profile
July 2017
Everything was great at Clem's place. Everyone was very welcoming, it's a short walk away from the ferry that takes you across to Valleta. Nice views from the balcony and the terrace. Over all a pleasant stay.

Christian User Profile
July 2017
Awesome stay. I would recommend staying here, it was a great experience.

Camila User Profile
June 2017
I loved it!!! Clean, close to public transport and everything you need. Clem is really helpful and replies immediately!! Thank you a lotttt!!

Juli User Profile
June 2017
This house has a great atmosphere, sweet roof terrace, guitars (!) and we met really nice people. Clem and Alexa were very kind and helpful. Only minus point was the dirtiness all over. Fair price for the location and accommodation. Thank you!

This host has 91 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
MaltaJoined in January 2016
Clem User Profile

Hi, I'm 27, Irish/English and very easy to get along with.

I spend my days in pursuit of freedom and sunny shores - I'm new to hosting here but had to share my place as it's in the best location in Malta and I have made it a fun but cheap place to stay. I love an adventure so please visit me and I will make sure you don't miss out :)

I write a lot and am finishing a book at the moment but travel is my passion; I spent a lot of my teens around Europe, and four of the last fix years in Asia.

I enjoy listening to people's travel tales, learning, having a good time and making sure everyone around me has a good time also. Airbnb is relatively new to me but I'm excited to meet some new faces.

I love my work, and photography. Living light and staying active. Muesli and red wine. Slackline and rock climbing. Fajitas and blue cheese (I know right!). Teaching and learning. Surfing and scuba. Cooking and movies. Fire poi and languages. the list goes on...

My 8tracks listening history has some deep house saxophone, a bit of Latin folk, Florence + the Machine and a lot of acoustic guitar. A bit of music around the place is a must, feel free to play what you're into (unless someone is sleeping) and join me for a beer on the roof.

Counties I've visited include; Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand - so maybe we will have some experiences in common. I grew up in Cornwall but have also lived in Thailand, Indonesia and now Malta.

So that's me, in plenty of detail I think - and now I look forward to meeting you!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings