Welcome to the chalet!Outside lounging and dining
Secluded Lakefront Chalet
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Beautiful LAKEFRONT Chalet on 2.8 acres on Watauga Lake. Gorgeous views of the lake and mountains from every part of the house. Walk down the steps in total privacy to your secluded cove (with only one neighbor)- jump in the 3rd cleanest lake in the country! Paddle kayaks from your private dock to fish, view a bald eagles nest or explore 105 miles of national forest.

Pets considered: $50 per pet fee, please inquire.

The space

- Watch your kids and friends swim from the porch.
-Take two kayaks out and explore the lake.
-Grill out on the commercial grade gas grill listening to your tunes on the Bluetooth sound bar, while you forget your cares and make new memories!
-- Gather around the bonfire sharing stories of a day on the lake and looking at the extensive views of the water and national forest.
- Fish from the dock, or take a kayak or your boat down the nearby Elk River. Skiers and wake boarders can easily ski from the cove on some of the least trafficked parts of the lake (not that ANY part of the lake is crowded!)
-Boat & paddleboard rentals are available at the local marinas, or you can use our BOAT LAUNCH RAMP to launch your own boat- tie it up to the dock, or pontoons can beach right across from the Chalet.

Guest access

You'll have full access to the house with a coded lock on the front door. There is also a lockable gate at the bottom of the driveway.

Interaction with guests

I am available by phone or text 24/7 during your stay. I have several local vendors who can take care of any issue you may have if needed, otherwise, you'll have complete privacy for your vacation.

Other things to note

The house is private and rural- bring all groceries and supplies with you, as the nearest fully stocked store is approximately 45 minutes away in either Elizabethton or Boone. There is a local country store/gas station 8 miles away, but it has limited supplies.

Cell Phone signal is extremely limited in this area. We have a SPRINT booster and house phone available at the house for emergencies. You'll be limited to wifi (VOIP) calling through your personal phone, Whats App, etc apps if you have a smart phone.

Other House features:
•High speed wireless internet- unlimited data.
•Roku TV with included Chalet Netflix Account. Use your own HULU, HBO, SHOWTIME, or other Roku app accounts.
•Classic Movie DVD library.
• Bluetooth SoundBar for the TV or your own music library.
• Karaoke mic and over 300 songs on DVD.

Pet Fee of $50, please inquire at booking


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

Amenities
Pets allowed
Internet
Family/kid friendly
Kitchen

Prices
Cleaning Fee $120 NZD
Security Deposit $282 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

RENTAL RULES

1. Smoking is allowed outside only.
2. People other than those in the Guest party set forth above may not stay overnight in the property. Any other person in the property is the sole responsibility of Guest. Guests are not allowed to exceed the occupancy limit agreed to above.
3. Guests should not create excessive noise at a level that disturbs neighbors.
4. Owners are not responsible for any accidents, injuries or illness that occurs while on the premises or its facilities, canoe or kayak. The Homeowners are not responsible for the loss of personal belongings or valuables of the guest. By accepting this reservation, it is agreed that all guests are expressly assuming the risk of any harm arising from their use of the premises and boats or others whom they invite to use the premise and boats.

5. Keep the property and all furnishings in good order, only use appliances for their intended uses.
6. PETS are permitted only with prior approval and the Pet Addendum must be completed. No pets are allowed on the furniture at any time. Pets must be clean and dry before entering the house. All pet waste must be picked up at check out. Any infraction of these or other pet damage will be deducted from the rental deposit at the owners discretion.

7. Parking: Parking is limited to parking area and driveway. Parking on the road is not permitted.

8. Housekeeping: There is no daily housekeeping service. While linens and bath towels are included in the unit, daily maid service is not. We suggest you bring beach towels. We do not permit towels or linens to be taken from the unit.
9. The wood stove is for Homeowner use only. The Guest party is not permitted to use the wood stove unless in the case of a power outage and no other heat is available. In that case, contact the owner immediately before lighting the wood stove.
10. Water and Septic: The chalet is on a well and septic systems. The mineral content in the water is high. The septic system is very effective; however, it will clog up if improper material is flushed. DO NOT FLUSH anything other than toilet paper. No feminine products should be flushed at anytime. If it is found that feminine products have been flushed and clog the septic system, you could be charged damages of up to the cost of repair.
11. Storms: No refunds will be given for storms.
12. Mountain roads can be curvy and steep. The road and driveway is flat as easily accessible, however, we highly recommend four wheel drive and/or chains during the snow months. We do not refund due to road conditions.
13. While the damage deposit is intended to protect the Homeowner in case of minor damage, neglect, or excessive cleaning, Guest is responsible for the entire cost of any damage to the property and boats.


14. Guest must leave the entire premises in good condition, broom clean, and surfaces wiped. Guest will clean range, refrigerator, and remove all personal items from bathrooms, closets, and cupboards. The refrigerator must be emptied and all trash placed in outside trash bins. Check out is promptly at 11am. Check out after 11am is not permitted without express prior permission. Delay in check out will result in $50/half hour fee deducted from the rental deposit at the owners discretion.

15. Internet use is permitted up to 300MB per day. An data use in excess of 300MB/day may be deducted from the damage deposit.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From May 25 - Nov 1, 2017 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

16 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Michael User Profile
September 2017
House was great. Slept our family of 7 comfortably. (2 kids and 3 dogs). The view and lake access were fantastic. Karen is an excellent host. We chose this cabin as it was pet friendly and we were in the path of Hurricane Irma and were told to evacuate by my command. Well, Irma turned and it turns out we didn't have to leave, but we are sure glad we had the opportunity to stay here. Karen called the day prior and filled me in on solutions to any issues that could arise due to the threat of bad weather during our stay. She even made sure there was bottled water in the event we needed it. We were able to take the canoe and kayaks out before the nasty weather hit and they were enjoyed by all. We'll be staying here again for sure, albeit a little longer than this one.

Jen User Profile
August 2017
Karen's chalet was fantastic for our Michigan family and dog! It was awesome being able to walk down to the water and swim! Our dog became quite the water dog. The area was perfect and so quiet! I mentioned to my husband one morning while having coffee on the deck as we watched the sun begin to shine over the mountains that this had been the most quiet 6 days I think I have ever had! When I researched the lake and location, I knew it was remote, which we loved, but as we traveled I learned that it was even more so than I expected. Karen was extremely responsible through the whole process. I especially loved her guest guide that she sent with special directions and landmarks for getting there and suggestions for places to go in the area. It was detailed and extremely helpful. The chalet was clean and exactly as described. Labeled household items and motion censored lights outside were an added helpfulness. The beds were great quality with think foam mattress covers which made sleeping very nice! The yard was perfect and stocked with plenty of wood for the bonfire every night overlooking the lake. If you're a coffee drinker, I suggest you program the coffee maker. It takes about 45 minutes to brew a pot. We brought our boat so the private launch next to the house was helpful. We were able to explore the entire lake, including Captain's Table (the only restaurant on the lake that you can boat to). The food was decent and the view was beautiful. The lake was never too busy for water sports and the coves were private and beautiful. We also made it to the Dry Ridge General Store for dinner one night. That was a fun, southern experience. I would more than recommend booking with Karen and hope to get back to the lake again.
Karen User ProfileKaren is a superhost.
Response from Karen:
So glad you had a great vacation! It is a secluded chalet- that's why we love it too! Thanks for the heads up on the coffee pot, we've already sent a new one for the next guests. Hope to see you again soon.. thanks for taking great care of our place!
August 2017

Rebecca User Profile
July 2017
If you are looking for a secluded, private, great views, access to lake, kayaks, great amenities, fire ring, deck, central A/C, this is it. We stay at cabins all summer and this is by far one of the best we have rented. Can't wait to visit again!

Lorrie User Profile
June 2017
Very very secluded and nice. But plan on a long drive to get to any town. Fishing was very disappointing.... Only tiny greenies and tiny blue gills even when out in the canoe. Five night minimum stay is way too long to be here but if you want scenery this is a great stay.
Karen User ProfileKaren is a superhost.
Response from Karen:
Glad you had a great vacation! Our minimum stay varies by the season, so be sure and check all dates you are interested in. Always feel free to ask for exceptions! As for fishing, check the local reports. :) (URL HIDDEN)
June 2017

Devan User Profile
June 2017
We had a great stay at lake hideaway! The location on the lake was wonderful and the dock was perfect for jumping in floating around and launching the kayaks. The put in right across the water was such an added bonus and made bringing our own kayaks possible. The steps were worth the quite location. Inside the house had everything we needed with lots of nice kitchen supplies and comfy beds. Thank you so much for sharing with us!

Scott User Profile
April 2017
Great stay!

Noah User Profile
March 2017
Amazing! The view is incredible and the house is as cozy and relaxing as it looks in pictures.

Asheville, North Carolina, United StatesJoined in June 2013
Karen User ProfileKaren is a superhost.

As an Asheville, North Carolina native, I love all things outdoors, great food, and craft beer. I am an avid cyclist turned crossfitter. We have 3 dogs and two cats, and love to get the dogs into the woods as much as possible. We always gravitate to home rentals for our vacations extensively throughout the US and Europe, as we love the personal touch and non-touristy feel. Therefore, we know what makes a good vacation rental! I am an avid foodie, and appreciate a little luxury as the years go by!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings