Skip to content
Living space on the main floor. Free high-speed wifi is included.
Entire cottage

Adorable cottage -- entire home!!

Caroline User Profile

Adorable cottage -- entire home!!

4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Self check-inEasily check yourself in with the smartlock.

Enjoy a UNIQUE stay in a beautiful cottage with all the modern amenities. Located right outside a popular state park, but only 2 minutes from restaurants and shops. You get the comfort of a resort, but with the privacy of your own home.


Free parking on premises
Laptop friendly workspace
Hair dryer

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules

No smoking
No pets
No parties or events
Self check-in with smart lock


24 Reviews

Letty User Profile
December 2017
We are local & had a new deck & septic installed at our home. The location worked great for work while the renovations were completed.
Diogo User Profile
September 2017
Price could have been a little cheaper for what you get!
Bruce User Profile
November 2016
Loved this little cottage, nestled on a wooded hillside, close to a beautiful state park. This is a great place for a quiet retreat, but it does not feel isolated since commercial areas are within a ten minute drive.
Carol User Profile
November 2016
I got the pleasure of meeting Caroline upon check in. She gave us a tour and had everything set up for us. The cottage was a cozy little retreat tucked away from city life but a short drive to the state park and restaurants.
Bryan User Profile
October 2016
Good communication by host, not the best neighborhood, hard to find at night, not a bad value when looking at the price and the actual cottage.
Victor User Profile
August 2016
The cottage is in a great location as a gateway for hiking in the beautiful Castlewood park. Although it is not a luxury house, it has all the necessary facilities for a convenient stay. Caroline was always available and provided very useful information whenever contacted. We wou…
Robin User Profile
July 2016
The cottage is cute. It is tiny, which is normally not a problem, however upon checkin the cleanliness was lacking. There were dead bugs on the floor, grit when walking barefoot, and the bathroom rug was dirty (when I flipped it to try to use it it was even dirtier with mud and s…
Caroline User Profile
Response from Caroline:
I'm sorry you did not have a good experience and will try to address each issue. During your 4 nights' stay, I didn't receive any communication with you about any problems. The only communication was a positive one when you checked in. I wish you had contacted me. Dead bugs: I recently had the cottage exterminated, and being in the woods, dead bugs are to be expected (better than the alternative). Futon: An earlier guest misaligned the futon, but I had it fixed and told you about it to be on the safe side. There's definitely no problem with using it or sitting on it. It's very sturdy. Blanket: I have multiple blankets stored throughout the cottage. They are cleaned between guests. Because I am pet-friendly, sometimes a lingering pet smell is inevitable. Robin brought a pet herself, so I would think it's something pet owners understand. If you needed another blanket, I have many stored there. Additional supplies are stored in the cottage, so I wish she had contacted me so I could have directed her. Cleaning: I have a professional company who cleans between guests, and all linens (and bath mats) are cleaned every time. She let me know that there was additional debris in the cottage after Robin's stay, but she mops between guests anyway, and I have come to expect it with guests with pets and children. Fleas: I wish I had been notified during the stay. We allow pets in the cottage, and I make a point to make sure that pet-owners have shots and flea protection current for their pets. I do have a flea spray in the cottage and even had done a defogger last month since I allow pets. Sadly, it's beyond my control when guests bring in unwanted bugs into the space. I will check it out again and address it. AC: I have two AC units, and have had no problems or complaints of keeping the cottage cool. Not sure why you wanted to run it on the fan mode instead of the regular cool mode. Overall, I keep communication open with my guests and ask them to contact me if there are any problems. I can't fix a problem if I'm not aware of it. Sorry your stay was not as expected.
July 2016

Hosted by Caroline

Alton, Illinois, United StatesJoined in May 2011
Caroline User Profile
73 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings

Things to do near this home