King Single Room with Sea Views in Vegetarian Home
Hosted by David & Fahimah
David & Fahimah is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Our friendly vegetarian home is located close to Maroubra beach. Buses to the city stop near the front door, and the bedrooms have great views to the sea. The kitchen, bathroom, lounge and garden are communal and set up for a relaxing and comfortable stay.

The space

We have two bedrooms available for guests. The king single room is modestly sized and is east facing over the garden, with lovely sea views. Please note that the bed is best suited to single guests. We have bedding and towels available if you don't have your own. The bathroom is communal and clean.

The kitchen is spacious and well appointed for preparing meals, with an additional bar fridge for guest use. The household is vegetarian, so we ask that you respect this condition if eating-in. We occasionally watch films together and there is a projector in the lounge room, hooked up to a decent sound system on which you can also play records or connect your own devices.

Guest access

You are welcome to share the communal areas in the house, and to make use of the garden and laundry facilities. We have a bokashi bin for food scraps and there are rubbish and recycling facilities out the front.

There is a Hills Hoist in the garden (shared with our downstairs neighbours) and there are indoor clotheslines in the laundry in case it rains. For relaxing at home we have an eclectic library of DVDs and plenty of good books which you're welcome to read while you are staying with us.

Interaction with guests

We enjoy a shared meal or watching a movie together when we're around, but you can choose to spend time with us or not, as suits your plans. We have a (non-vegetarian) kitten who is very cute and likes human company, but please bear in mind that she must stay indoors. We have previously found postgraduate students to be a good fit, as our home is best suited to mindful guests who are not just looking for a hotel experience.

Other things to note

The grass verge down to our front gate from the footpath is a bit steep, and there are also steps up to our front door, so access for guests without full mobility would be difficult. Being an older house, there are some great period features such as high ceilings, stained glass windows and polished floorboards, but the rooms are not soundproofed. The king single bedroom is off the lounge, so although we are not noisy by nature there may be some ambient sound from the use of this space. Finally, our home is shoe-free inside and our kitten isn't allowed outside, so please don't let her escape!


Amenities
Heating
Internet
Laptop friendly workspace
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people $29 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $35 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price $98 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check out by 11AM

We expect our guests to self-cater and to be respectful of our neighbours and of our home. We ask that you do not store or consume any meat or fish or eggs on the premises, and that you only smoke outside. Please note that a minimum booking of five days generally applies, and that preference is given to longer stays.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - There is a short steep slope down to the property from the road, and a flight of stairs to our door.
Potential for noise - The house is older and thus not soundproofed - see description.
Pet(s) live on property - We live with a non-vegetarian kitten. Please do not let her go outside.
No parking on property - There is always street parking available.
Some spaces are shared - All spaces apart from the bedrooms are shared.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

2 Reviews

Yukii User Profile
March 2017
David and Fahimah are very kind and helpful. The house is cozy, spacious and just as described, with stunning sea view from the private room. The house is located in a quiet area with convenient transport to the city, while beach and supermarkets are within walking distance, about 10-15 mins walk. Definitely recommend to travelers who love who good music and vegetarian cuisine!

Rogerio Adolfo User Profile
November 2016
David and Fahimah are great. The comunication and procedures tô arrive, everything fine, fast, honest negotiation. The house is quiet ,hás wonderful view tô Maroubra beach . I sincerely recomend.

This host has 11 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

We are a married couple with a friendly cat, sharing our vegetarian home in the beach suburb of Maroubra, Sydney.

We travel as often as we can, both in Australia and overseas, and we love to get out and about in nature - even if it's just a weekend away in our trusty camper van.

We are open, honest people and we like to think of our home as an environment where people can connect and share rather than just as a space to eat and sleep.

We participated in the early days of a similarly themed community website, so we are used to hosting guests from around the world and we look forward to having you to stay!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings