Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

My place is close to all restaurants and cafe's in the beautiful town of Kaikoura, 200 mtrs from the sea and walkable distance to the seal colony, peninsular walk, cafes. The apartment may not have a view of sea and mountains but being close to everything is a big advantage.. My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, and business travelers. //We had a large earthquake on 14th November, 2016. Hopefully SH1 North will be open before Christmas 2017 if not before. SH1 south is open.

The space

It is a large self-contained bedsit with one double and 1 single bed. Prefer couples or a single person or couple with one child. You will have Netflix but no tv at present.

Guest access

Guests can access house if asking for something or invited.

Interaction with guests

We will be available to help with information about the town and services if able. Sometimes we may wish to socialize.

Other things to note

Kaikoura is very popular in summer months. Whale watching boats are very busy and also Dolphin and bird watching trips. Diving with the seals trip is also a must. Mountain biking and tramping the local mountains. Fishing trips are also popular. Plenty to do.
///// Please note - due to earthquake, Whalewatch has only 3 trips a day because of the seabed being raised and the port not operational for the larger boats yet. Dolphin Encounter has 3 trips operating so bookings essential. You can take flights to see the whales and earthquake damage up the coastline.


Sleeping arrangements
Common spaces
1 queen bed, 1 single bed

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Doorman

Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo

Prices
Extra people $15 NZD / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $15 NZD
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

50 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Zeoy User Profile
September 2017
Clean and comfortable homestay !

Mati User Profile
July 2017
The host canceled this reservation 167 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Clémence User Profile
June 2017
A really nice place, comfortable bedding, warm, quiet, good location, perfect for couple or family with 1kid. Marilyn and Kent were very nice with us! We recommand this place!

Jonny User Profile
June 2017
We had a very comfortable stay at Marilyn's place. The room was very spacious with everything we needed as well as being close to town. The area that the house is situated in is very quiet and easy to find. We would recommend staying at Marilyn's.

Breanna User Profile
June 2017
A lovely place to stay in a stellar location! Highly recommend to those visiting Kaikoura, the company is wonderful!

Matthew User ProfileMatthew is a superhost.
June 2017
Marilyn's place was very nice, well located, clean, comfortable and excellent value, would definitely book again. Thanks Marilyn and Ken!

雪梅 User Profile
June 2017
Marilyn's house is lovely ! Close to the sea, and to the seals, fine garden, heater equipped, and the best is this is actually all- in-one room, with private kitchen and bathroom, so we don't worry about choosing a suitable time to cook. Marilyn pot eggs, toast and many other food in the kitchen, and surprisingly, there's even rice in there! and a rice-pot. That's very convenient to us Chinese people. We had a very good time there, thank you! 奶奶很和气,爷爷也很有趣;爷爷白天开着房车出门,晚上回来。很好的一家人。

Kaikoura, New ZealandJoined in October 2016
Marilyn User Profile

We have retired here in beautiful Kaikoura after owning an orchard in Central Otago. We have five married children spread from Auckland, Otago and Australia. We are quiet living people with a desire to share our self contained flat with others since the family isn't here very often. I enjoy gardening, art and playing croquet. Husband does skindiving (although not so much these days), was a pilot for a living for 15 years, and gardening and we have shared many trips on our Goldwing motorcycle. We only travel to Australia to see family and have a camper van as we love our own country. Husband Ken has 6 siblings here in Kaikoura so we have many family get togethers. His brother does "Diving with the seals" here in Kaikoura as a family. Look forward to hosting you.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings