View from door in small hall with doors to bathroom and both other bedrooms.
ATTN: Travel Nurses & Night Shift - Day Use Room
Hosted by Kathryn
Kathryn is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

***THIS ROOM IS NOT INTENDED FOR OVERNIGHT STAYS*** Instead, this room is intended to be a day-use room for those working night shifts where they can rest/recuperate/sleep. I anticipate check-in time would be early-to-mid morning and check out would be prior to 7pm ON THE SAME DAY (the first day booked) although this can be flexible. Please refrain from making an inquiry or sending a message if you are looking to stay overnight. I have a different room for overnight guests if you are interested.

The space

This is a double bed in a private bedroom with a shared bathroom. Guests in this room will be sharing the bathroom with myself and potentially another Airbnb guest.

Located in a historic home in the Glen Iris neighborhood, my home is situated minutes from all downtown hospitals and the interstate. Make yourself at home after a long shift in this cozy room.

Guest access

You'll have access to your room, both living spaces, outdoor areas and the bathroom. Your room has a mini-fridge with coffee and water.

Interaction with guests

I work days so I will not be at the property during the majority of your stay but I will be available on Airbnb messenger and via my cell.

Other things to note

There may be Airbnb guests in my other room that are staying the night who may be checking-out or in during your stay. I'll keep everyone informed of this.

My two cats are very friendly but are also happy to mind their business if you'd like them not to be in your room.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises

Prices
Extra people $30 NZD / night after the first guest
Security Deposit $295 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $74 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 8AM - 10AM
Check out by 8PM
Self check-in with lockbox

Obvious rules: no drugs, no illegal activities, no unapproved guests (this is anyone entering my home, even briefly, whom is not a listed Airbnb guest), no firearms and no unapproved pets.

Do not let the cats outside. Please notify me immediately if you do. If I return home to find them outdoors you will incur a $10 fee, per-cat/per-instance to cover the expense of grooming/medication.

Your pets *may* be allowed but only my pre-approval before you have booked.

My home is un-apologetically LGBTQ friendly. Please refrain from hate speech within its walls.

No smoking inside or within 20 ft of either entry.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Entryway sidewalk has 10 stairs
Pet(s) live on property - 2 cats (Ghandi & Kofi)
Some spaces are shared - Guests have one private room. The rest of the house is shared.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

19 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Lijun User Profile
October 2017
Good location, near UAB.

Kenneth User Profile
September 2017
Bed is a little small if you are 6' 6" like me. Probably too small for anyone taller than 6'. Also wouldn't hurt to invest in a couple of good pillows. Older house so you get lots of floor noise when you are trying to sleep. There is a 2nd room where that may not be the case. Was not a good stay for me. Thought host could have been a little friendlier.
Kathryn User Profile
Response from Kathryn:
Kenneth is writing a retaliatory review because I wouldn't wait on him hand and foot. He booked a week stay only to little it down to 2 nights within a day of arrival. He was rude and disrespectful via text. He acted entitled and aloof in my home. He failed to read any details/instructions in the listing or my emails and thus found his stay difficult.
September 2017

Harris User Profile
July 2017
Kathryn was easy to communicate with and her house was cozy. The cats were awesome and it's in a great area near the UAB campus. I highly recommend it.

Kassondra User Profile
July 2017
Love staying here. Great host and hostess. Comfortable room and space

Kassondra User Profile
July 2017
Always always my first choice. I hate writing these reviews cuz I don't want anybody to take my spot lol. Lovely place, host and hostess, and my fav the two real owners, the cats.

Victoria User Profile
June 2017
Nice and quiet

华 User Profile
June 2017
The price is very good. The area is safe.

This host has 282 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Birmingham, Alabama, United StatesJoined in November 2013
Kathryn User Profile

Microbiologist, Ailurophile, Wanderluster, Locavore, Bookworm, Beerfancier, Stargazer.

I'm a huge proponent of Birmingham and hope that you'll love my sweet city as much as I do. I've been hosting for 2 years and absolutely love welcoming people into my home.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Kathryn’s place.
Kathryn
Justin helps host.
Justin

The neighbourhood

Similar listings