our living room, view from dining room
Urban farm 1 block to CTA
Hosted by Erin
Erin is the host.
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Your bedroom will be a spacious, fully private room with a key lock door. The room is 16x14 ft in size, with a full sized bed, chair, desk, and dresser.

My place is close to University of Chicago, University of Chicago Medical Center, Comers Children's Hospital, the Museum of Science & Industry, Currency Exchange Cafe, and Washington Park. You’ll love my place because of the ambiance and the outdoors space. The house is good for couples and solo adventurers.

The space

The house was built in the 1890's and has an amazing stairwell that still gives me that wow factor! As you open the front gate you'll be led through a brick entryway with garden space on both sides. The yard is filled with sunflowers, birdbath, and veggies during the warm months. Sometimes the chickens even make an appearance in the front yard. The interior is very spacious and welcoming. There are two living rooms on the first level. You will probably be greeted by one or both of my dogs with kisses. The kitchen is also very spacious. Feel free to make yourself at home and use any of the space to your liking. All we ask is that you clean up after yourself. We love our home and are happy to share it.

Guest access

You are welcome in any parts of the house with the exceptions of other bedrooms. Of course, wifi access is included.

You will have access to use the kitchen and the living spaces. We like to keep the house vibe pretty chill, so please no loud music, and do clean up after yourself if you use the kitchen.

Interaction with guests

We are happy to help give you some guidance on where and what to do once you arrive. Ben my partner, is very knowledgeable on the city and loves offering advice. He is such an extrovert, he could chat with guests for hours and sometimes does! I can be a bit introverted, but, do love hanging out and getting to know the guests. Most of our guests are plant and earth loving people and we get along splendidly. We are fairly well traveled people and enjoy talking politics and what life is like around the world.

Other things to note

Although check in time is listed as 5, we are typically quite flexible in this regard, since Ben usually works from home. All we need is a heads up prior to arrival.

Also, this listing is not recommended for those who have severe allergies or aversion to dogs or cats, since we have both! Our welcoming brigade is made up of Teddy, a German Shepherd, Kiwi, a Yorkie terrier mix, and Sassy, our sassypants cat. Expect high amounts of love and affection. We try our very best to keep dust to minimum but we do have a German Shepherd so please don't be surprised or appalled to see dog hair.

Sometimes guests check in when we are not home and use the key from the lock box in front of our house (see details in check in). The dogs free roam the house when we are away and have treats at the front door that you can give to them upon your arrival. They have a mighty loud barks but they sure love company and kisses!

We have 17 chickens and one of them being a rooster! Feel free to go out back and meet them. :) Ten of them which were hatched at home this summer!

We love coffee and have some brewing usually every morning, so feel free to have some! Along with our farm fresh eggs if you are planning on making breakfast!

Please note that the adjacent room is also listed on Airbnb, so you may be sharing the bathroom with 1-2 other guests.

And finally, safety first! I wouldn't advise strolling around the neighborhood too late at night. Please be street smart!

License or registration number

City registration pending
Learn about this number

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Hangers

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 air mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 5PM - 10PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox

- 2 night minimum
- Must be dog/cat/chicken friendly
- Important: Always, always, always lock the front door and front gate when you are coming in or going out
- There is a lockbox outside in the front with a spare set of keys in the event that you encounter any issues.
- Toilet seats to be placed in original position which is seat down, thank you.
- We are pretty simple people. Please no loud music or additional guests who are not included in the room. Also, please take off your shoes and clean up after yourself. Thank you so much! Look forward to having you as our guest!

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - one flight
Potential for noise - token rooster, but everyone loves him!
Pet(s) live on property - 2 dogs, a cat, 17 chickens
Some spaces are shared - bathroom is shared with adjacent room

Cancellations

47 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Yi-Cheng User Profile
October 2017
Wide bright house with over friendly dogs & cat, cozy room only 1 block from CTA green line; host are nice and give great advice for touring downtown loop.

Lena User Profile
October 2017
Totally charming house! Love, love, love their fury babies, Sassy the cat was quite happy to be cuddled! Erin and Ben were lovely also, very helpful and fun to visit with. Cozy bed with an overlooking view of an impressive garden and a sweet family of chickens.

Brian Huy User Profile
October 2017
Erin and Ben have been fantastic hosts. It was a pleasure to converse and spend time with their entourage of companions (Teddy, Kiwi, Sassy, and chicken gang). Their location may leave travelers to be weary of the troubles in south Chicago, but we never experienced such events. Within a walking distance to explore the history of Hyde park and University of Chicago, we were able plan a diverse day of activities and still make it in time to Uber to downtown for the nightlife. I would recommend Erin and Ben for travelers who enjoy the company of others in a home that has several chic nuances.

Ka Shun User Profile
September 2017
Erin and Ben are very friendly and helpful. Clear communication, beautiful and clean room. Their pets (Cat and dogs) are cute and enthusiastic. Tips for other guests: buy your grocery like food, snack or drinks in downtown or somewhere else before heading back to the place, since there are literally no shops and restaurants nearby, esp. at night.
Erin User Profile
Response from Erin:
Thanks so much for the review, Ka Shun! Just one point of clarification - there are a couple of restaurants within a block of the house, including our local favorite - Currency Exchange Cafe. However, it does tend to have rather limited hours and is best for breakfast and lunch.
September 2017

German User Profile
September 2017
My first time in Chicago was quite pleasant. Erin opened her wonderful farm home to us which contrasted a nostalgic experience reminding me as a youngster spending summers on a farm. The room was clean, a comfy bed, a ceiling fan and an a/c unit to assist with a couple of muggy days added to our comfort level. Thanks Erin!

Sean User Profile
September 2017
Erin was unbelievably helpful throughout the entire process - from accommodating a late check in to helping give suggestions for things to do around the city, I was always taken care of. The house and room are gorgeous, and - while outside of the loop - the CTA train is only a block away and will get you pretty much anywhere you would want to go.

Ana User Profile
September 2017
Very flexible and easy-going. The whole interior is gorgeous and really cozy, with great variety of plants, plenty of light and lovely pets. So relaxing! The bed is perfect. Best sleep I had in a long time. The L-train (green line) is only a block away and the beautiful campus of the University of Chicago is really close by bus. I would stay again.

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Chicago, Illinois, United StatesJoined in January 2016
Erin User Profile
Hello! I have a love for traveling and learning about other peoples cultures! My boyfriend, Ben, grew up in Indonesia, my last three roommates grew up in three different countries and I bought a house in nearly an all African American neighborhood here in Chicago. I am very p…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Erin’s place.
Erin
Ben helps host.
Ben

The neighbourhood

Similar listings