Summer welcome at the gateJust light the wood burning fireplace with wood supplied
Cosy cottage in Ashbourne Woods
Hosted by Elizabeth
Elizabeth is the host.Elizabeth is a superhost.
6 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This family friendly house sits next to mine within 90 acres of forest . With trails throughout you can hike in its natural setting and perhaps glimpse some of the wildlife that make their homes here too. Enjoy the tranquility of this secluded setting and unwind from your busy life. Children can have fun outdoors too and all trails join to lead you safely home! Conditions permitting you can enjoy an evening bonfire in the backyard . Check first in case fire restrictions are in force.

The space

The house itself has 3 separate bedrooms, a large living room, separate dining room with table and chairs for 8 guests. The kitchen has everything needed to prepare your meals. The balcony overlooks the valley and the woods below. A firepit with firewood provided is available when conditions permit.
This house sits amidst a managed forest planted nearly 50 years ago with 36,000 trees. Since then I have planted at least 5000 more to add diversity. The large and varied network of groomed trails meander through our private 90 acres. Hike, snowshoe or ski through the large maple stand, the mostly pine woods and around the large natural pond. A paddock and barn near the pond were once home to horses but now provide open meadow for birds and animals.

Guest access

The entire house is yours for your stay. Wheelchair access upon request. The kitchen is well appointed with dishes, pots and pans as well as basics like spices and cooking oil. Coffee and tea will be available for your morning wake up. I provide choices for your breakfast including homemade bread and jams, eggs, cereal, milk, juice and locally produced organic yogurt.

Interaction with guests

I live next door in my own house. Just let me know if you need anything. You will be greeted when you arrive and then left on your own. I can provide information on local attractions that you might want to visit.

Other things to note

The kitchen is stocked for making your own breakfast and the nearby dining room can seat up to 8 comfortably.
if you have an outdoor fire please turn on the water and use the hose to ensure it is totally extinguished before you leave it. In winter you can use snow to extinguish the fire.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Free parking on premises

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 queen bed, 1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 2PM - 7PM
Check out by 4PM

Please remove boots and shoes at the door. Children should be supervised at all times. Quiet after 11:00 PM.

This is a non smoking house and woods. If you go outside to smoke please dispose of cigarette butts safely. Please do not smoke while walking the trails.
If you are bringing an infant please provide your own sleeping facilities as presently I do not provide this. I can provide a gate for the stairs to the lower level to help keep infants and toddlers safe so let me know and I will have it In place on your arrival.

Unfortunately pets cannot be allowed except by prior agreement and for unusual circumstances.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - I have 2 large dogs that are not usually out and are friendly, but let me know if you want them kept away from you entirely..

Cancellations

27 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jamie User Profile
October 2017
We had such a great stay at Elizabeth’s place. The place was very clean and she was kind enough to set gate for our little ones and extra bed. She was very communicable through air bnb msg and I was lucky to meet her personally as she came by to say hi. This place a recommended to anyone who likes to have quiet getaway from city. I mostly enjoyed the pond where she let us to do fishing and the walkway in the wood. Thank you Elizabeth.

Kathy User Profile
October 2017
A perfectly lovely house just a short drive out of Durham. Very close to town with restaurants and activities. The house is very clean, and Elizabeth was so kind to have the cupboards and refrigerator stocked with the necessities. Including home made jam! There was firewood already cut and we were able to have a small fire in the backyard. There are also walking trails we weren't able to get to. Elizabeth is a wonderful hostess, she checked on us to make sure we had everything we needed and arrived when it started getting cold to turn up the heat. Elizabeth is delightful. We will stay here again when in the area.

Winnie User Profile
September 2017
Our family had a wonderful time at Elizabeth's! The fridge was stocked up with breakfast foods which made it super easy for our family. The cottage is very clean and has all the things we needed to make meals for our family. The kids enjoyed the grounds tremendously. They found frogs and toads every day and were fascinated by all the wildlife there. Elizabeth was kind enough to take the time to show the kids the books so they could learn more about them :) We had an amazing time there and can't wait to go back!
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
Your children were fun visitors because they were as interested in wildlife as I am. Bring them when snow is on the ground i will help them identify animal tracks.
September 2017

Anne User Profile
September 2017
Another lovely stay at Elizabeth's cottage! Generous breakfast offerings, clean and comfortable rooms, comfy cozy beds, and calm treed surroundings that can be viewed from the deck. This place is a gem :)
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
You are welcome any time Anne. Bring the children again too.
September 2017

Toto User Profile
September 2017
The booking was for my coworker and his team. He was impressed with the kindness of Elizabeth. They described the place as very nice and clean and spacious.
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
You have been great keeping me up to date on the projected work plans. Manny and the team will be more than welcome if they want to book next spring.
September 2017

Joanne User Profile
September 2017
Overall experience is very good. The place is very clean and it is very private. The location is good, though it was a bit delay in getting the booking confirmation. We would highly recommend this place.
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
Sorry Joanne that I had to wait to let another person confirm who indicated she thought she was booked (but did not confirm). Turns out she was away from wifi reception but I felt obligated to give her a few hours before confirming your booking. Won’t happen again so consider a winter visit too.
September 2017

Philip User Profile
August 2017
Elizabeth is a great host, we were nestled in the woods with walking trails around us, wild apples for the picking, maple and ash trees as far as you could see. Five minutes from town, I couldn't have wanted more. Philip
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
Response from Elizabeth:
Thanks. Philip. It was a pleasure meeting your family. I hope your son is settling in to enjoy some great years at Waterloo.
August 2017

Durham, CanadaJoined in June 2016
Elizabeth User ProfileElizabeth is a superhost.
I retired to country life a number of years ago and enjoy gardening, physical activities including daily hikes with my 2 dogs and volunteer visiting with 1 of them with the SJA therapy dog program.
Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings