Front Room ViewKitchen
Large Quiet Dog Friendly Home - Front Room
Large Quiet Dog Friendly Home - Front Room

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A large private room in a quiet, spacious, pet friendly house with secure enclosed yard on the edge of Brunswick & Princes Hill.

Guests will be sharing the house with Felicity, early 30's wine & cheese lover, dogs Sansa & Maggie, both 3 year old Greyhound / x girls, and other guests in the 2nd Airbnb room.

The space

Lovely 3 bedroom freestanding older-style weatherboard home with spacious kitchen / living area (9x7m) and large enclosed yard.

The house has a lovely homely feel, wonderful central heating for those cold Melbourne winter days and nights, and puppies to snuggle up to with a coffee and a book on the comfy couches. Air conditioning in the lounge is a welcome respite on those hot summer days.

Our location is very quiet, with minimal tram or traffic noise. Street parking is available free for unlimited time just around the side of the house on Park Street.

The third bedroom is currently available to rent via Airbnb, so please refer to my other listing and check the calendar to see if it is available.

NB - my parents just sold their house, so I am currently receiving many boxes from them to sort through over the next month. I am also attempting to do a full spring - clean of the house and cupboards, so there will be some boxes / clutter in the main lounge area.

Guest access

Guests have access to the entire house and garden, with respect to the privacy of the two other bedrooms.

The Front Room is furnished with a Queen Bed, drawers, bedside table, clothes rack, mirror and has large East-facing windows with view of the front garden. Bedding includes sheets, pillows, doona and blankets for colder nights. Towels and basic toiletries can be provided upon request.

Shared bathroom with shower over bath, washing machine, vanity, separate toilet (plus spare loo outside). There is a laundry matt around the corner if you require use of a dryer.

NBN wireless internet is available for use. No TV and much prefer quiet nights chatting over a glass of wine or reading a book whilst playing with the resident dogs.

Interaction with guests

Guests are invited to interact in shared family dinners during their stay, or dine out in one of the many excellent restaurants on nearby Lygon Street or Sydney Road.
………………………………….
Human Resident:
- Felicity, early 30's Teacher, Artist & Dog Sitter, from country Victoria (near the Grampians / Great Ocean Road). Budding gardener and handyman of the house, with aspirations towards impressive cooking skills in the kitchen.
………………………………….
Dogs:
- Sansa, Felicity's 2 year old Greyhound / Kelpie x female pup. Dumped at 6 weeks old, Sansa is at first shy and cautious, but with a friendly approach, you will win her over with treats and playing fetch around the house. If you find her cuddling up to you on the couch, consider yourself special! Sansa is allowed off-lead outside, and absolutely loves to play soccer with her well-chewed ball in the park out front.
………………………………….
- Maggie - my long term dog siting greyhound girl.
A small girl (24kgs), she still has within crazy puppy phases, and will great you enthusiastically at the door, do mad dashes around the house or be passed out on the couch after a long walk. Don't let her off-lead or out the gate, she is a quick runner and loves exploring!

- Sansa & Maggie are large indoor dogs with access to the whole house and outside via the sliding back door. As greyhounds / mixes, they are low-shedding breeds which don't produce oils, so they don't have the typical 'doggie smell', unless they roll in the mud outside or get wet! Watch out for the muddy footprints on the carpets haha.
………………………………….
NB - I dog sit some large sighthounds, who can be very excitable when people arrive. If you are not comfortable having a 30-40kg dog jumping up or thinking they are tiny lap dogs while you relax on the couch, then this house may not be for you.

Other things to note

NB - Longer stays are possible. Currently looking to rent one of the rooms for 1- 2 months, so please contact me if you are after a short term rental. I may need to show potential renters through the house and guest room at times, but will notify you if I am interviewing anyone during your stay.
………………………………….
I regularly dog-sit and am often booked out over the holiday periods with 3-4+ dogs in the house. I am also volunteer with (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) Greys greyhound rescue group, so may have new fosters dropping by from time to time.

**** you must love dogs and be comfortable with sharing the house with at minimum 2-4 inside dogs at any time.

Guests would be notified of any additional pets staying at the house at the time of booking.

You are encouraged to contact me about bringing your own dog(s) along to stay with us prior to finalising your booking.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 4PM - 11PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 22 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 17
Security Deposit: 223
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
2 sofas

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM

Please take extra precautions entering the front gate - always assume there is a very quick and slippery greyhound eager to escape!!

Non-smoking property - guests are invited to smoke outside the front gate.

If you have a question, please ask it - I'm happy to answer.

If you make a mess, please clean it up.
If you damage or break something, tell me about it straight away (especially glass / ceramic on the floor).

If you use the last of something (e.g. sugar, eggs, shampoo), please write it on the grocery list.

If you come home late, enter quietly (the pups will bark).

No extra visitors, overnight guests or pets without prior arrangements.

We have dogs in the house, so the front gate must be closed and locked at all times.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 4 nights.

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Will Robertson User Profile
February 2017
This was a great place to stay. Felicity was a wonderful host with helpful knowledge of the area. The location is particularly good with quick access to lots of things. Free all day parking just across the Park Street verge was a bonus.

Niklas User Profile
January 2017
This place was not as advertised. Yes there were friendly dogs and Felicity was nice; however, it looks like a hoarder lives here. It worked for me bc I wasn't there majority of the time and really only used it for sleeping. My room was kind of clean but the rest of the house not at all. If you are just looking for a good price and a pillow it's not the worst option but I won't be staying here again.

Sarah User Profile
January 2017
Felicity was extremely welcoming and hospitable! The neighborhood was very convenient, but quiet and a little ways out of the city - perfect for someone looking to explore outside of the CBD. I really enjoyed hanging out with Felicity and her dogs over a glass of wine and some awesome homemade pizza! I would definitely stay with Felicity again.

Ian User Profile
December 2016
If you want to experience the best of Airbnb accommodation then there is no better than Felicity. An amazing host offering a fantastic stay. The location was perfect, bed and room was perfect (best sleep I've had l, ever!) and the hospitality second to none. I simply wanted to stay.

This host has 10 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in December 2014
Felicity User Profile

Felicity: Post-grad student and budding artist.
Sansa: Greyhound Kelpie x female pup, very friendly and entertaining.
Bonnie: Current foster greyhound.

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings