Rear of the houseLounge
Canal-side house in leafy central North Oxford
Canal-side house in leafy central North Oxford
6 guests
4 bedrooms
4 beds
2 baths
6 guests
4 bedrooms
4 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Beautiful canal-side house in the nicest and most popular residential area in Oxford. Only a short walk to the Oxford colleges, city centre, train station, and the restaurants, cafes, and shops in Jericho.

The house is a semi-detached town house with side access to the garden. Built in the late 19th century, it retains many period features. The garden is west-facing and so is always light in the afternoon and evenings. There is an outside table and a standalone Mediterranean barbecue.

The space

Towards the end of the garden is an area of decking next to the canal. The area has been made safe for children with stylish metal railings. If you have a kayak or inflatable boat bring it with you and head into Oxford or one of the local pubs by the side of the Thames - only a short boat-ride away.

If you're visiting Oxford on business there is a dedicated home office on the ground floor with views over the garden and Oxford canal with space for two people to comfortably work together.

The basement backs directly onto the garden and has the kitchen (including breakfast area), dining room, utility room, and a toilet.

The first floor has one large double bedroom with super king bed, a single bedroom (currently used by my 9 year old son), another single bedroom with a child's bed in, and a family bathroom.

The second floor has a large double bedroom (king size bed) with an ensuite bathroom (this includes a half-size bath with hand-held shower and a sink).

Other things to note

Parking is on-street. We will supply a visitor permit for a single vehicle to cover the duration of your stay. Please advise me if parking for more than one vehicle will be needed as I can usually accommodate this.

Please note the 2nd bathroom (ensuite) has a half-size bath with restricted headroom and a sink (only the bath has restricted headroom). It is a Victorian house with a lot of character and charm but this also means it does not have large bathrooms like those you might expect in a modern house.

Amenities
Family/kid friendly
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Indoor fireplace
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Bedroom 4
1 toddler bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM
Security deposit is $1000

Due to a recent bad airbnb experience we are unable to accept bookings unless at least one of the guests is 35 years old or over. We do not accept bookings of just male groups under any circumstances. There is no smoking either inside or outside the property. Should there be any evidence of smoking anywhere on the property you will be charged a non-negotiable £300 cleaning fee. When your booking has been accepted you will be asked to complete a separate booking form that confirms the names, ages, and addresses of all the guests staying at our property. We reserve the right to cancel bookings at short notice if we learn that any of these additional rules have not been followed.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs
No parking on property - Parking is available on the street outside.
Cancellations

2 Reviews

Jack User Profile
October 2017
Miles was a terrible host. Twice threatening to cancel the booking, entering the house repeatedly whilst we were renting it, pestering us during our stay and asking for additional money after our check out. Clearly Miles was just out to try and make as much money from us as possible and tried to rip us off due to our amicable nature. DO NOT RENT FROM MILES.
Miles User Profile
Response from Miles:
This was an unfortunate experience due to a misunderstanding of the booking. The request was for "Jack and 4 friends to visit Oxford for a weekend with friends who are doctors and teachers, spend Saturday punting and visiting the colleges". I didn't ask for any more detail when I accepted the booking (our first airbnb host booking ever) and so when i learned it was a single-sex group of men celebrating a 30th birthday about a week before the booking was due I asked Jack to make alternative arrangements (other properties were still available). Had I known this we would not have accepted the booking in the first place. Our house is our family home and we are prepared to rent it on airbnb to families or to people planning a weekend break in Oxford when we are away ourselves but it is not a place for a 30th birthday celebration. Jack spoke with me and reassured me he would take care of the property and we didn't cancel the booking on this basis. We informally agreed a late check-out on Sunday of 12pm and I called at 10.30 to check all was OK and received no answer so I visited the house at 11am to check all was OK to find the front door wide-open, a really strong smell of alcohol, and all of the windows on the ground floor open (it wasn't a hot day or night). No-one seemed to be awake. Eventually after repeated calls Jack answered and I agreed to come back at 12pm when the guests all left. This is the only time I visited the house or contacted Jack during their stay after check-in as I was out of the city the rest of the time. I accept that the fault lies partially with me for not asking for enough detail when accepting the booking but the request seemed a reasonable one at the time. I was clearly justified to visit the property early given that the front door had been left wide open, possibly all night. I asked for additional money to remove what I believe was the smell of cigarette smoke from our top floor bedroom. I shall be more careful before I accept bookings in the future.
October 2017

Monica User Profile
September 2017
The host canceled this reservation 27 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Oxford, United KingdomJoined in December 2014
Miles User Profile
Languages: English
Response rate: 86%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings