The twin bedroom with gorgeous original cherry-wood furniture from the early 1900's. Be reassured, the inner frame and the mattresses are modern and very comfortableThe master bedroom with its cherry-wood furniture, a plush comfortable mattress and two windows overlooking the green garden. There is also a traditional face-washing basin for your morning and evening beauty routine
5 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
5 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Casa Mariaclara is named after my grandmothers, who both used to live in this house tending the garden and giving lots of love to me and their two cats Wendy and Gianna. After years in Australia I came back and with my parents brought the house back to its original splendour, and now we want to share it with the world. Casa Mariaclara is a 2-minute walk away from the beaches of Lake Orta, and is surrounded by a huge garden where my family and I grow fruit, vegetables, aromatic herbs and flowers.

The space

Casa Mariaclara was designed with the idea of re-creating a traditional local house with the addition of a few quirks and all the comforts of a modern house. The bathroom has been recently re-done and is spacious and efficient enough to cater for a big family. The bedrooms have been furnished with cherry-wood furniture that was made by my grandmother's grandfather in the late 1920's. We spent a great deal of time restoring them and making them shine as well as adapting them to fit modern support and mattresses. The kitchen is slightly older in make, but has everything you need to prepare a feast, and the dining/living room has been fitted with a very easy to use, no-fuss fireplace that will be perfect for the occasional cool rainy evening.

Guest access

As a guest of Casa Mariaclara, you have access to the main floor of the house and the beautiful terrace overlooking the garden and the neighbourhood. You will be provided with keys for the front gate and the main door. You will also have a portion of the garden completely to yourself, and shared access in the rest of the garden. Attic and basement are currently being used by my parents to store gardening items. Should you wish to store bulky items inside the house, please let us know at the time of booking and we'll make sure to make adequate space for them in the basement.

Interaction with guests

We live in a town not too far from Pettenasco called Armeno, and we guarantee we'll always be there in case any kind of help is needed. In summer my parents will be spending a bit of time tending the garden at casa Mariaclara, so help will always be at hand should you need further instructions on how to use house appliances, or if you need directions to a particular place to visit, or if you need assistance managing an emergency.

Other things to note

There is another smaller house on the property currently being rented out to a lovely couple who has been living there for a few years.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
1 single bed

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people $25 NZD / night after 3 guests
Cleaning Fee $84 NZD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 12AM (midnight)
Check out by 10AM

- Smoking allowed in outside areas
- We are very dog friendly however please make sure that your companion is quiet and well behaved. A lot of neighbours have cute cats and we would hate to cause them trouble.


Cancellations

Safety features
First aid kit
Safety card

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 5 nights.

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Alastair User Profile
August 2017
Giacomo's place is everything you would expect of a quintessentially Italian home. It's location is perfect in terms of the lake and the village, with everything you need close to hand - within a short walk. We hired a car, but only to explore some places 'further afield' such as Locarno, (Switzerland), which would have been tricky by train in just a day. But to be honest, a holiday here would be pretty easy without a car. Mauro was the perfect host and was very generous with suggestions of places to visit, eat, weather forecasts etc and his wonderful tomatoes and herbs from the garden were absolutely delicious!

Joshana User Profile
July 2017
A ideal place to stay for a family or friends to have a peaceful, easy break near a stunning lake. The place was perfect, amenities great, powerful shower, comfy mattresses, big rooms, shutters, outdoor space and the biggest positive for us was that everything you needed was in short walking distance - the lake, the supermarket, the pizzeria, all under 5 mins. The train station under 10 mins. Completely quiet at night, and unbusy spots to go up next to the lake. Mauro our host was SO helpful and kindly picked us up from the station as we had a baby and then organised our taxi back to airport. Made the stay hassle free. As soon as we noticed we needed a bit of chen kit - it was promptly delivered the morning. We're considering returning soon!

Paul User Profile
July 2017
We stayed in Giacomo's house, and it was really great holidays for my family! The house is very nice and fully as described — there is enough space for 5-6 people, a kitchen is well-equipped with all needed staff, fresh-renovated bathroom, a terrace and big yard with parking space for 2 cars, and a nice garden around. Mauro, Giacomo's dad, helped as with all issues, and he is really nice and hospitable person, I would like to say him "Grazie mille!" again for everything :) The Orta lake (Lago d'Orta) is in walkable distance, 3-5-10 mins depend on which beach you plan to choose. The water is crystal clear, views are wonderful, and there are no so many tourists as on Lago Maggiore, that's located nearby. For families, it's important that the lake is well suited for children that can swim at a minimal level. Besides lakes, it's possible to hike in mountains around, as well as see all small nice cities around. I am very glad that we have discovered this place for ourselves, and we will definitely return there again! And I really like to recommend Giacomo and Mauro as the best hosts as I've ever met :)

Cornelia User Profile
September 2017
Wir fanden alles genauso vor, wie beschrieben. Der Vermieter war sehr nett. Nachts war es total ruhig. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt.

Rosemary User Profile
August 2017
Maison au calme avec une joli jardin a 300m du lac. Séjour reposant.

Rebecca User Profile
August 2017
Heerlijk ruim huis. Lekker schoon en aardige ontvangst, op loopafstand van het fantastische meer

Sophie User Profile
July 2017
Nous avons passé un excellent séjour, la maison de Giacomo est accueillante, fonctionnelle, spacieuse et toujours fraîche. La situation est exceptionnelle, à 2 mn à pied du lac, dans une rue calme. Seul bémol : les cloches de l'église, mais on finit par s'y habituer. Le village de Pettenasco est plein de charme, quelques commerces de dépannage sont pratiques, ainsi que la grande surface à 5 mn à pied. Nous avons été chaleureusement accueillis, avec de petites attentions à notre égard ! Je recommande vivement.

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews
South Melbourne, AustraliaJoined in December 2013
Giacomo User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Giacomo’s place.
Giacomo
Mauro helps host.
Mauro

The neighbourhood

Similar listings