The bedroom is not huge, but is not cramped. You will have an empty cupboard to hang your clothes/stash your case, and an empty drawer in the bedside table.The front of the house
Warm Welsh welcome near Cardiff (double bedroom)
Warm Welsh welcome near Cardiff (double bedroom)
4 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Private double bedroom on ground floor, with use of shared accommodation - living room, sitting room, kitchen & bathroom, plus garden with table & chairs. Located in a quiet residential area within ten minutes walk of shops, pubs and restaurants. Trains & buses close by.

Great walking and views in Penallta Park, 5 minutes walk from the house. National cycle route 47 runs through the park.

Minimum 2 night stay.

The space

Double room with comfortable bed and high quality bed linen, in semi detached bungalow. This room can be booked in conjunction with the single room if there are 2 guests who don't want to share a bed, or there are 3 of you. I can also put a single or double airbed up in the lounge on request, so can accommodate up to 5 guests.

Shared use of family lounge (if you want company), or separate sitting room (if you want privacy), kitchen/diner and bathroom with shower & bidet (but no bath).

You are welcome to use the garden (which has tables and chairs, a 10 ft diameter trampoline, and fabulous views of a typical Welsh valley) and there is also an off street parking space if you don't want to park your car on the road.

Clean linen and towels provided, also all tea & coffee.

You are welcome to use the kitchen to make your own meals, I can clear a shelf in the fridge on request.

Free wifi, but no TV.

If you want to know about Welsh attractions, history or beautiful places to visit, I have a wealth of knowledge as my work has involved me travelling to all corners of Wales over the last 20 years.

Guest access

Entire ground floor - kitchen/diner, double bedroom with a wardrobe space, sitting room, lounge, shared bathroom.

You are welcome to sit in the garden, or bounce on the 10ft trampoline!

Free wifi but no TV.

Upstairs is off limits. I'd also appreciate it if you didn't take food into the bedroom, or drinks other than water.

Interaction with guests

I will be there to welcome you - usually with tea and home made cake - when you arrive.

I have various hobbies which keep me busy, so you will have as much privacy as you like.

If you want company, I can provide that too!

I have an extensive knowledge of Wales and it's history, so if you would like recommendations about places to visit,I would happy to point you in various directions.

You will have your own key so that you can come and go as you please.

Other things to note

I am happy to provide breakfast ingredients at an additional cost of £3 per person.

Choices include cereals (including muesli); fruit; yogurt; eggs; bread; croissants; crumpets; & muffins. Please let me have your breakfast order when you book. If you don't want to book breakfast in advance, it can be sorted during the stay if you don't mind fewer choices.


Amenities
Smoking allowed
Free parking on premises
Essentials
Indoor fireplace

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 air mattress

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 6PM - 10PM
Check out by 10AM

I am quiet and considerate and expect you to be quiet and considerate too. I provide comfortable accommodation with high quality bedlinen and towels. You are welcome to make as many cups of tea or coffee as you like, but please wash the cups and spoons when you've finished with them.

I am a good cook and will also cook an evening meal for you if you like, at an additional cost of £15 per person or £20 including wine. I follow a LCHF way of eating, and also regularly cook vegan food, and gluten free meals, so am happy to cater for a range of dietary needs.

I would expect you to clean up after yourself if you use the kitchen, and either wash any dishes, cutlery and pans you use, or stack them in the dishwasher.

I do not have any pets. I will accept reservations from smokers who are happy to smoke outdoors, but there is no smoking indoors, I have smoke alarms in all rooms.

I would appreciate it if you didn't take food or drinks into the bedroom.


Cancellations

23 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Anrike User Profile
October 2017
Adrienne has a lovely house. She is a very interesting lady and very friendly and helpful. The room is very cute and cosy. Lovely bed and beautiful view from the window. I highly recommend this place.

Stephen User Profile
September 2017
Just so peaceful ideal location for trains. Great bedding comfy beds. Very clean. Lovely welcome. Always book with Adrienne she's so interesting. Lovely place to explore from. Very homely. Value is unbeatable. 5 stars from me on all counts.
Adrienne User Profile
Response from Adrienne:
Thank you for your kind words. Remind me about the bara brith next time, I think your arrival times have meant that I haven't given you any - must remedy that!
September 2017

Paul User Profile
July 2017
Adrienne is a very friendly and accomodating host. An extremely comfortable bed and a very very quiet area ensure a restful night's sleep. Highly recommended.
Adrienne User Profile
Response from Adrienne:
Glad you enjoyed the bara brith :-D and I enjoyed your visit. You are welcome back any time.
July 2017

Claire User Profile
July 2017
Lovely home, nice and clean and in a beautiful part of the world. Adrienne took our booking last minute and it was by sheer luck she had just had a cancellation and was able to accommodate us. Definitely recommend!!

Catherine User Profile
April 2017
I really enjoyed my stay - Adrienne is a very thoughtful host who went out of her way to make my stay a comfortable one. Highly recommended.

Elizabeth User Profile
April 2017
Exactly what I needed! I'm working in the local hospital and I needed a place close by. Comfy bed, spotless bathroom, well equipped kitchen. Train station is a five minute walk downhill (maybe 10 if going from the station to the house :) ) Tesco and Lidle are a 30 minutes walk away. A very peaceful place to stay. I'm happy to be returning as I'll need to work in Ystrad Mynach until the end of May.

Luke User Profile
January 2017
Accommodating host for nice quiet stay would stay again.

Ystrad Mynach, United KingdomJoined in September 2013
Adrienne User Profile
I am from Wales, UK. I love to travel, explore, eat good food, drink good wine... I work in a castle. Yes, really. It's fun and I get to meet people from all around the world on a daily basis. I am happiest when I am creating -art, embroidery, knitting, gardening, or cookin…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings