Breakfast of home made muesli, fruit and yoghurt, fresh coffee or tea all provided.The brass bed in these photos has recently been upgraded to a larger queen size bed and base.

Private room

2 guests

2 bedrooms

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The city centre is just a 15 minute walk away while numerous cafes, pubs and restaurants, parks, and public transport are just on my doorstep.
Your double bedroom features a super comfy queen size bed and base that has replaced the smaller brass bed in the photos.
My home is warm and sunny and my only housemate is my lovely puppy, Luna.
She is very gentle and friendly.
Your bedroom has it's own access to the shared bathroom.
Wifi, home made muesli with fruit and yoghurt, tea/coffee included.

The space

My 1950's home is sun drenched and cosy with polished wooden floors throughout. Views of the river and new parklands beyond can be enjoyed from the sunny patio.
All bedding , towels , and some toiletries like shampoo , soap etc are provided. Your room has ample storage and a blind for privacy.

Guest access

Although my address is Avonside drive, access to my house is only available from Gilby St which runs at the back of my property.
The simplest directions are to come to 49 Gliby St, then my house is the red brick property directly opposite.
You will see 36 Avonside Drive on my white letterbox. Enter through the white gate off the driveway and turn the handle clockwise.
During your stay you have access to the kitchen, living and dining areas.
As well as both gardens at each end of the house.

Interaction with guests

I run my photography business from home but am frequently out on location or meeting clients.
I look forward to meeting new people through the AirBnB experience, but provide guests privacy to enjoy their stay in peace.
Feel free to enquire about an earlier check in time, I am happy to accommodate that if possible around my work schedule.

Other things to note

Check out time is 11 am but I can be flexible on this, again depending on my work schedule and if I have a new guest checking in that day.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Check In: 5PM - 9PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 25 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 8
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 5PM - 9PM

- Smoking allowed outside
- I have a lovely friendly dog that is great with people and very gentle in nature.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kathryn User Profile
February 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at Alice's - she is a fantastic and friendly host who provided the perfect stay. The bed was super comfortable and her home decor was lovely! Alice provided breakfast drinks and homemade muesli which tasted great. Her friendly dog Luna also graciously put up with my constant offerings of pats and belly scratches. The house is located in a quiet area near the river, but a short stroll to a great pub called Pomeroys and a convenient walk to the city. I would recommend Alice's place for anyone looking for a great Christchurch stay :)

YaWen User Profile
February 2017
Alice is truly a friendly and warm host. Gave us a good guide of our trip also prepared the simple but nice breakfast. Though we stayed just for one night, but we had a great time here.

Ben User Profile
February 2017
Nice quiet suburb just outside the city, walking distance (15-20) minutes to the city centre. Comfortable double bed and good sized room. Access to a simple yet tasty breakfast. Made to feel at home. Luna (the dog) is very friendly and playful. Alice was a great host knowledgeable about the area and ready to provide help when needed, along with maps of the city including things to see. Would stay here again.

Brenda User ProfileBrenda is a superhost.
January 2017
Alice's place is in a quiet residential area by the river, but a very easy and pleasant walk into central Christchurch. Alice has beautifully maintained and restored the 'vintage' character of her delightful cottage and it has lots of interesting furniture, art work and books to browse. My room was lovely; light and private with a fresh and super-comfortable bed. A lovely and generous breakfast is included with great coffee! (or tea of course) Alice is a warm and friendly host and she knows Christchurch and its surrounds back to front so she can give you lots of advice and tips about where to go and what to do.... (she also has a sweet friendly dog who never barks and is incredibly gentle and quiet.) Alice's spot is definitely a great place if you're looking for a quiet refuge in the city ......THANK YOU Alice for a short but sweet stay :)

Christchurch, New ZealandJoined in January 2017
Alice User Profile

I'm a professional photographer now based in my home town of Christchurch.
I was in Sydney for 6 years and London before that. I love getting outdoors with my beloved pup Luna and meeting new interesting and creative people.
We all have a story to share !
It's exciting to be a part of my home town's rebuild and bright future after the devastating earthquakes. Having lived most of my adult life having adventures overseas it's nice to now be home and establish my business in my late father's photographic studio which I am painstakingly restoring.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings