The accommodation has a large lawn at its centre, ideal for games, and barbeque facilities Sitting room
Oaklands 40 Stables *WINTER SPECIAL*
16 guests
8 bedrooms
9 beds
1 bath
16 guests
8 bedrooms
9 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
16 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

A stable block surrounded by an amphitheater of mountains! Recently converted into basic accommodation. It affords an adventurous and quirky holiday experience for small or large groups. An hour outside Cape Town, it's beautiful, quiet & rustic. It has a cosy lounge and indoor fireplace; comfortable beds in stables that are somewhat open to the elements, a massive lawn, outdoor barbecue, a dam to swim in and horses to feed carrots to. Fantastic scenery, mountain biking & walking trails


Amenities

Prices
Extra people $7 NZD / night after 10 guests
Cleaning Fee $32 NZD
Security Deposit $158 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
2 single beds
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
2 single beds
Bedroom 4
1 double bed
Bedroom 5
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules

- Properly supervised children are welcome
- Well behaved pets allowed (very important that they do not chase other animals.
- This is my home, please treat it with respect.
- Clean up after your stay, wipe surfaces, sweep, mop if necessary, return furniture to where it was on arrival.
- Do not take indoor furniture/bedding outdoors. There are blankets that can be used outdoors which I will show you. Outdoor furniture is provided.
- You may read my books but do not remove them when you leave
- Admit breakages, some breakages will be resolved through Airbnb resolution center.
- Turn off lights when not in use.
- Ensure doors are securely bolted shut or wedged open.
- Though I will be staying in alternative accommodation, I will still have access to my house to fetch things or to use amenities if necessary.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sasha User Profile
September 2017
Absolutely magical place..... perfect for a weekend away with a group of friends. Stunning location, great place overall... Will definitely be going back :)

Grobler User Profile
August 2017
Beautiful surroundings, great location!

Donovan User Profile
July 2017
We had a catch-up of old varsity friends in Alice's beautiful and rustic stables, and it was exactly what we'd been hoping for. Very basic and down-to-earth, the surroundings take you completely away from the city and allow you to unwind with ease. The croquet made things competitive, too! Recommended for anyone needing a back-to-basics getaway :-)
Alice User ProfileAlice is a superhost.
Response from Alice:
I'm so happy you all enjoyed yourselves! Thanks for being such fantastic and positive guests, I hope you and your friends are able to spend many more holidays together! :)
July 2017

Joggie User Profile
June 2017
A truly unique experience. We really enjoyed it on the farm and we wish that we could have stayed longer. Thank you very much Alice, it was great...
Alice User ProfileAlice is a superhost.
Response from Alice:
Thank you Joggie. It was such a pleasure to host you and your friends! You were great to communicate with and left the accommodation in immaculate condition. Come visit again!
June 2017

Sarah User Profile
May 2017
Alice's place is located in one of the loveliest areas of rolling hills, vineyards, forest and epic mountain vistas. She is also conveniently close to a number of wine estates where you can pop out for lunch or a wine tasting. The stables are very spacious, rustic but comfy, and everything is perfectly suited to a relaxed weekend away, especially for nature lovers. We visited on a chilly winter weekend and made the most of the fireplace and blankets. There are multiple braai and fire spots, and a lawn to chill, drink beers or play croquet on. We were quite a large group and Alice took us all in her stride and was friendly and accommodating. A rare gem of a place, we will definitely be going back. Two thumbs up!
Alice User ProfileAlice is a superhost.
Response from Alice:
Thanks for the lovely review Sarah! It was such a pleasure to host you and your friends :) :) :) I hope you all come and visit again soon :)
May 2017

Geo User Profile
May 2017
Alice is a phenomenal hostess! She surprised us by doing extra effort to research fun activities in the area around the venue. The venue itself is OMG beautiful! Great for quiet getaways, or, in our case, more than enough solitude to play music and have fun until sunrise. :)
Alice User ProfileAlice is a superhost.
Response from Alice:
Thanks Geo :) It was such a pleasure to host you and your friends. Best of luck with your future adventures!
May 2017

Janine User Profile
April 2017
We chose not to stay at Alice's place. The half stable doors have no covering at all and therefore are open to the elements which if its windy, is most unpleasant. I love concrete floors but these are rough and crumbly. It looks tired worn and there are flies on all surfaces and the counters had crumbs on them, so it had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. Its really basic accommodation which will appeal to some folk, however it really did not suit us at all.
Alice User ProfileAlice is a superhost.
Response from Alice:
Janine and her group chose not to stay at my accommodation. From my side I have updated the Airbnb page information and photos to reflect more obviously what to expect from my accommodation. I hope that other potential guests read the page carefully before booking so that they are not disappointed. In terms of the mess, that was an issue as I was testing out a new co host which obviously didn't work out, all future guests can expect to be able to eat off the counters upon arrival.
April 2017

This host has 3 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Wellington, South AfricaJoined in January 2017
Alice User ProfileAlice is a superhost.

Hi! I recently moved onto my dad and uncles farm. Last year I was away for a year completing my community service for Occupational Therapy near Port St John's in the Eastern Cape. Before that i spent my whole life living in Cape Town. I was adopted by a dog and cat last year. Their names are Lodi (cat) and Xena (dog). They decided that they also had to move to Cape Town at the end of 2016, so now we all go everywhere together. I enjoy creative activities (cooking, sewing, painting, ceramics, making music) and going for walks on the farm. I enjoy meeting new people and chats by the fire with a glass of wine or some hot chocolate. I look forward to meeting you, but I also understand if you want quiet time on your own :) I try to treat everyone I meet with kindness and understanding.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings