Skip to content
Front of the houseBe your own bartender ;)
Entire house

Lovely Bungalow by the Beach

Lovely Bungalow by the Beach

5 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
5 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath

Las Galeras is a small fisher’s village that radiates the charm of the Dominican Republic; an exotic, unpretentious, comfortably safe outpost that has yet to be "discovered" with great beaches, friendly locals, scant nightlife but a few good restaurants. The perfect spot if you are not planning to spend your vacations in the country's string of all-inclusive resorts.

Amenities
Beach essentials
Essentials
Wifi
Free parking on premises
Coffee maker
Cooking basics
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed
Cancellations

69 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Catherine User Profile
March 2017
FAMILY TRIP
My husband, four year old daughter & I stayed here for a week. I highly recommend the house for anyone wanting to experience Las Galeras. The house is central to all that the village has to offer. Great pizza at the end of the street at L'Aventura & morning croissants for breakfa…

Iryna User Profile
January 2018
Our family stayed a week in this house and we paid more than 500 USD. Terrible experience. This is not a place for kids. The location is near the beach but very far from any adequate shops so we can’t get food for children except packed milk and eggs. We suffered from huge amoun…
Bichita & Charlotte User Profile
Response from Bichita & Charlotte:
First negative comment since we started receiving Airbnb guests (sights), but I promised I was going to be the better version of myself for 2018 and accept the things that I cannot change without pain... My dear Iryna you just spent over a week in a beautiful bungalow in one of the most natural and raw villages in the world. You cannot realistically expect to get a washing machine and a dishwasher in a house where you pay 60 USD the night, specially when our profile specifies that there is none. We chose to literally ditch the TV because it can only harm your experience with us, with nature, far from everything. You just forgot to mention that we have the fastest internet in town and if for whatever reason you needed to connect to the outer world, you could. The bathroom has a flush, but the top was indeed broken, a decorative problem that I apologize for and that we have fixed. Concerning the mosquito nets, that were brand new until your children kicked them and broke them. Thank you for the fumigation advice but we consider that fumigating is bad for the environment and for one's health, that is why we chose to cover the entire house with mosquito nets. We are in the heart of the village but tucked in form the main road in a dead end: the beach is a few meters away and all of the village's grocery stores, restaurants, bars, pharmacy and bank are walking distance from home. Literally 2 to 5 minutes away. I am sorry that you did not consider Las Galeras grocery shops to be "adequate" to feed your children. We are indeed almost four hours away from the capital and we do not have a WholeFoods but we do have plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables, locally grown and delicious. We also have fresh fish and seafood. Something you would know since you asked me for the GPS coordinates of the fishmongers because you refused to take my mother in the car with you so she could show how to get there (the Dominican way of GPSing - pointing with your index finger). You are not shy Iryna but reticent to get too near to locals that you made sure you kept at a distance: Dominicans do not bite my dear, except if you kindly ask them to :) I love the fact that you were concerned with neighbors listening to your conversations, very altruistic of you except for the fact that you did not have neighbors. The 3 houses next to the bungalow have been empty for more than a year. You are right about the noise, but unfortunately there is not much I can do about that. Every house situated in the village will hear the music from the two discotheques that have no walls and that are convinced that loud music makes for a better party (and they do not play Motorama). Sometimes it is better to join them as they are impossible to fight, but I do get your pain. You also forgot to apologize for the fact that you left the house in a "war zone state" and burned a door with your mosquito candles. Thank God you did not burned the house down: another thing to be grateful for this year!
January 2018

Shayna User Profile
August 2017
Awesome place very close to the beach! Very helpful host was there to help with everything from taxi to food recommendations. Very comfortable stay

Christina User Profile
February 2017
Me and my 2 friends stayed 5 nights at Bichitas and Charlottes house which was great. The bungalow is very close to restaurants and bars and just a few minutes walk away from the beach. Charlotte was a great host, even though we haven´t met her. As a warm welcome there were fruit…

Veronica User Profile
January 2017
Bichera and Charlotte's place was incredible, just as described. We felt very much at home and had an amazing time there with friends. They welcomed us with fresh flowers and tropical fruit, so we knew we were off to a good start. Charlotte is the best Airbnb host I've seen! She …

Rob User Profile
January 2017
Place is as described and the host is super responsive

Morgen User Profile
December 2016
Great location. Close to everything you could need. Charlotte was extremely helpful even though she wasn't there and Fina was so kind!

Las Galeras, Dominican RepublicJoined in August 2013
Bichita & Charlotte User Profile
Bichita: I am an energetic woman living in a very quiet place that enjoys early morning yoga sessions in front of the sea, dancing Bachata with friends and meeting new people that can bring an extra spark to my life. Charlotte: And I'm her daughter, currently doing my Masters …
Languages: English, Español, Français, Italiano
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a day
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings