Wifi is includedCushions on the comfy couch
Innercity pad: the heart of the CBD
Innercity pad: the heart of the CBD

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Comfortable 1 bedroom apartment for an inner city Melbourne getaway. A close walk to trams, trains, Melbourne City Baths, Queen Vic Market, shopping, State Library, cinemas, galleries, Museum. The price is relatively cheap as I live here part time.

The space

3 room apartment (separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen-lounge area) with a double bed on the 9th floor of a modern apartment block on one of the main streets in the Melbourne CBD.
Just to avoid disappointment or confusion; this is NOT a motel room! I can't be clearer about this! ! I live in the apartment for some of the week and head to the country for the rest of the week; some of my belongings are in the apartment. The price, a little below the average for the area, indicates this. If you don't like this then you should pay some more somewhere else and/or get a motel. I am being frank here so as not to mislead or have you disappointed.
I always put clean sheets on the beds and I have fluffy guest towels.
There is often food in the fridge, groceries in the cupboards and clothes in the wardrobe. It has a 'lived in' feel and not a sterile motel feel.
The apartment block is primarily student accommodation and has people from all over the world coming to stay and study in Melbourne. This leads to great conversations in the lift, colourful clothing and fantastic cooking smells on every floor at mealtimes. I have Indian, Pakistani, African and Chinese neighbours. If this is not your thing then this is not the place for you!
My home is minutes away from several parks, the Melbourne city baths and the Vic Market: a large fresh produce market in the centre of the city and just a short walk one block from the historic Melbourne City Baths, where there is a pool and gym.
You will notice the price is relatively cheap. That is deliberately done because I live there part of the time. My things are in the apartment: clothes, jewelry, books, food, and things in the fridge.
The apartment is relatively quiet, has natural light all day and some views out onto the park.
This flat is only a block away from Lygon St, the Italian district of Melbourne, where you will find great restaurants with a variety of cuisines.
Swanston St is one of the main tram routes in Melbourne, connecting you with the train system and the Number 1 tram (as well as many others) runs outside the main door of the block to take you to the city, to Melbourne University, St Kilda beach and beyond.
There is a cafe on the ground floor of the building and a laundry room where you will find washing and drying facilities.
This is a non smoking flat and building. the residents are pretty good with that.

In summertime students often hang out in the courtyard below; but I have never experienced them staying up past 10.30 or 11.00. The other residents in the block are extremely considerate in terms of noise.

The airport bus has a free pick-up/drop-off outside the front of the building which you can book if you put skybus into your favourite search engine.
This is way cheaper ($27.00 return) than a taxi to and from the airport which can cost $45-55.00 each way.
I have a single blow-up mattress for an extra guest and the couch is narrow but comfy for a child.

Guest access

There is free WIFI. There is a shared BBQ area downstairs if you are interested in cooking at home. There is a shared laundry downstairs with washers and dryers available. ($7.00 to wash and dry a load)

Interaction with guests

I am not there! Happy to help by phone if there are any questions, though.

Other things to note

I have a small selection of bathroom supplies such as soap, shampoo and conditioner, razor and toothbrush if you have lost or forgotten yours! Due to cleaning costs, I am accepting a minimum of two days for each booking.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 33
Weekly Discount: 11%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)

If you can keep noise levels to a minimum to be courteous to neighbours that would be great. The building is non smoking. There are no pets.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

134 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Elly User Profile
August 2017
Linette's place is cosy just right for two people.

Kathryn User Profile
August 2017
Fantastic location, quiet and comfortable apartment. Linette was great to communicate with and the generous fruit bowl, eggs, milk and bread were an unexpected and appreciated touch. This stay represents great value for money.
Linette User Profile
Response from Linette:
So lovely to have you staying! Come back anytime Kathryn. :)
August 2017

Breony User Profile
July 2017
Linette's place is full of character, remarkably quiet and very private while being very close to the city and all Melbourne has to offer. Communication was easy and I really enjoyed my stay. Some snacks and fruit were a very thoughtful touch. Thanks Linette! Can highly recommend
Linette User Profile
Response from Linette:
Lovely to have you stay, Breony. Come back any time!
July 2017

Sam User Profile
July 2017
Thanks Linelle, I have a lovely stay!
Linette User Profile
Response from Linette:
Great to have you stay!. :)
July 2017

Amanda User Profile
July 2017
Lovely home. Small but very comfortable. Would love to come back.
Linette User Profile
Response from Linette:
So lovely to have you stay! Come back again any time. :)
July 2017

Jane User Profile
June 2017
Linette's place is just as she describes. It is close to the city, comfortable, and cosy. Avis rental cars are a 5min walk. Princess park is nearby and I found it a really good place to run to and around. We didn't meet Linette but she was very good at keeping in contact and her directions were very clear for getting from the airport. We appreciated the breakfast food choices.

Maureen User Profile
June 2017
Was easy to find, even getting the key from down the lane around midnight was ok too. Lots of places to eat in the area. Close to the city and transport. Great for 2 for 2 nights. Quiet apartment so slept well
Linette User Profile
Response from Linette:
Lovely to have you stay! :)
June 2017

This host has 46 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Breamlea, AustraliaJoined in August 2013
Linette User Profile

I was born in the Geelong area and after many years in Alice Springs and Melbourne I have moved back to be a bit closer to Mum and Dad. The coast is gorgeous. I try to grow my own produce in my vege garden. I am proud that I have invested in the house so it runs on solar power; the environment, and treading lightly on the planet where I can, is important to me.
My work is mainly in Melbourne and travelling around the countryside so I have a flat in the city and spend my time between these two places.
I love the possibilities airbnb offers to make connections and create communities.
I hope that by doing this I am supporting people to be with themselves and each other in ways that help them understand each other better, to build bridges between communities and create more love on the planet.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings