Skip to content
Pretty twin roomMain bedroom kingsize bed
The Retreat near the Camel River - Wadebridge
The Retreat near the Camel River - Wadebridge
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

A pretty Victorian two bedroom end of terrace cottage situated in the peaceful village of Egloshayle The cottage is only a 20 minute walk from Wadebridge . It's a great base for days out to beautiful beaches then a stroll into town along the river in the evening for something to eat.
Sympathetically furnished to a high standard, retaining many original features, the cottage has two separate living rooms each with original slate fireplaces plus woodburner. Plus gorgeous bathroom.

The space

There is a new, fully fitted kitchen with inbuilt Smeg washer / dryer, dishwasher, gas hob, electric oven and microwave. The adjoining glass roofed dining area has a stable door to the rear garden, pine dining table and large fridge / freezer.

Upstairs there are two spacious bedrooms one with a king size bed, the other with twin beds, both with ample clothes storage. The bathroom is large and airy with a separate shower cubicle and a deep, claw foot bath.

Outside, there is parking at the front of the property with a path leading to the rear gardens. The garden immediately to the rear of the property has a lockable store for bikes, surfboards, wetsuits etc. To the side of the property (accessed through the rear garden), there is an additional garden which attracts the sun all day, but which has a shady patio area as well as a sun terrace.
Only a 20 minute walk into the town by the river to Wadebridge - with a great choice of pubs, restaurants and shops.

Sleeps 4
Duvets / Bed Linen Inclusive
Gas Central Heating
Gas and Electricity Inclusive
Microwave & Fridge / Freezer
Dishwasher, Washing Machine / Dryer
Sky TV / DVD Player
CD Player & Radio
Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing Board
Open Fire and Woodburner
Secure Bike / Surf Board Storage
No Smoking
Pets by Prior Agreement
Changeover Friday

Guest access

You have the whole house to yourselves plus the lovely garden with dining areas and terrace.

Interaction with guests

Our operations manager is at the end of the phone throughout your stay to help with anything

Other things to note

Short stays available in low season. Please enquire about short stays mid season as not always possible. Minimum 1 week stay in peak season.
Dog charge £25.

Family/kid friendly
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $60 NZD
Security Deposit $202 NZD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 10AM

- Pets by prior arrangement
- No groups under 25 years
- Check out by 10am

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 3 nights.

8 Reviews

Check In
Julian User Profile
October 2017
We could and will come here again and again, great location, just a short walk from the town and the Camel Trail. Very cosy and warm. Lovely deep bath, good WiFi. Parking in front of house, a pub within 100 yards, no passing traffic. The bed was comfortable, two sitting rooms so if we came with kids, we could still relax. We travel extensively and stay in several holiday cottages every year, this one rates with the best.

Tim User Profile
October 2017
Great property and location just right for a get away weekend

Simon User Profile
September 2017
Warm, comfortable, spacious and light house, located maybe a mile from Wadebridge itself. A little tired, could do with a coat of paint, but very clean and comfortable nevertheless. Well equipped and easy to park right outside.

Clare User Profile
September 2017
An excellent location and what initially appeared as a cosy little cottage to stay, unfortunately didn't prove so, with a double bedded mattress that was long past its' sell-by-date, and a TV that could not be programmed to work. Two points that irritated sufficiently given the Hosts inability to make the TV work over a period of five days and didn't follow through, to spoil the five day-away break. Regardless of whether we thought it value for money or not, we would be extremely unlikely to stay at The Retreat again, although we visit Cornwall to see a relative on a regular basis.
Tim User Profile
Response from Tim:
Dear Clare I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at the Retreat. We have spoken to the caretaker for the property who reports that it was working fine on the day of your arrival. We have also spoken with our Operation Manager regarding the problem with the TV. He told us that the problem wasn't reported until the Wednesday at which point he did what he could to fix the problem by ringing the TV provider and downloading and printing off the TV manual which he brought round on the Thursday. Having said this we will investigate your comments further to try and get to the bottom of the problem. Regarding the mattress, again, we have looked into the matter, and it is not an old mattress but is good quality and relatively new, however it is a soft mattress which is not to everyone's liking. Again, we are sorry that you had a disappointing stay due to the TV problem but hope that you took advantage of the great location to enjoy being in Cornwall.
September 2017

Mark User Profile
September 2017
Absolutely spot on. This is the first time I have done this, in a Cornish cottage and it won't be the last. It was immaculately clean and there isn't anything you haven't done or thought of for the stay. Dish washer/washing machine etc. I noticed you guys even had a Christmas tree stored in the wardrobe, for the special time. Cecil your Neighbour was fantastically helpfully too, keeping us informed of anything we may need and advise on local shops etc. We stumbled upon a Thai takeaway (Tiny Thai) A+++

Dylan User Profile
August 2017
A very pleasant cottage in a quiet location, just a stone's throw from a local pub and a short walk to shops and other amenities. Our family had a lovely stay.
Tim User Profile
Response from Tim:
Dear Dylan, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Apologies regarding the bins, this has been noted and we will ensure this does not happen again. We have now upgraded the carpet, sofa's and various other bits and bobs in the property so we really hope to welcome you and your family back very soon to take a look. All the best, CSVC
August 2017

Kyle User Profile
May 2017
This listing far exceeded my expectations - I booked pretty last minute and luckily the times lined up perfectly. The place was much bigger than I expected with two bedrooms two living rooms and a bathroom and kitchen with eat in area. The beds were comfortable and had great light in the rooms. The bathroom was FANTASTIC - amazing roomy cubical shower that was not pictured and a huge claw foot tub which I had a relaxing candle lit bath with a glass of wine twice in. The kitchen and eat in area are also fantastic and a tremendous amount of light is let inside in the morning. I was only looking for a quick fix place to stay but found a gem - I will absolutely stay again next time I am in the area!

Liphook, United KingdomJoined in February 2015
Tim User Profile

Hi, my name is Tim, and I run a small business renting out holiday cottages in Cornwall and France. Whilst I don't live in Cornwall, I fell in love with it many years ago, and have been visiting regularly ever since, either to maintain the properties, or just to get away from life. There is something about the West country that makes you forget your worries, and remember what life should be about.

Response rate: 96%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings