Guests double bed.
Cosy and warm room surrounded by native birds.
Cosy and warm room surrounded by native birds.

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our home is a cosy little 2 story place set in the mountainous residential part of West Moonah, which is a 15 minute drive to the centre of Hobart. A car is essential here. With pallet beds, views of the Derwent River and Mt Wellington and a nice little garden filled with native plants and birds. MONA is a 10 minute drive from our house and the revered North Hobart food strip is an 8 minutes drive. Also, a continental breakfast with toast and cereal is included for all guests.

The space

Your room is filled with a comfy Queen bed, 4 pillows, doona, heater, bedside drawers, lamps, towels, soap, linen, large mirror and a spacious wardrobe with an extra doona and ample room inside for storage. Free and fast unlimited WIFI available throughout the house. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and see what it's like living as a local our place is perfect for you.

Please note my house has a steep driveway that you need to walk up and I have 15 stairs leading from the bottom level to the top level where your bedroom is, this is the only way to access the house and your room.

We are in a residential area at the end of a cul de sak and there are no shops or restaurants within reasonable walking distance. From the garden you can see Mt Wellington and it's nice to sit and have a cup of tea in the morning. At night you can walk along the fire trail and see native wallaby's and pademelon's, and in the morning you'll wake to the sound of yellow wattle birds.

Our house is located at the end of the driveway (of number 46) as we share this with our neighbours, we would like if all guests took advantage of the free parking on the road.

Guest access

Guests are welcome to use the bathroom, dining table, living room and the garden. Although be mindful that all of these spaces are shared, so leaving them how you found them is important.

Using the kitchen is fine for making tea, coffee, toast and preparing sandwiches or salads and light meals such as canned soup, lentils and baked beans, but there is little fridge space as our fridge is quite small.
We do not expect guests to use the kitchen for cooking big meals and we would like you to ask before using the kitchen as well as cleaning all messes made by you.

In regards to breakfast, I offer a complimentary continental breakfast. You will find some cereal, coffee, tea, bread and spreads in a green basket on the kitchen counter. There is margarine and milk in the fridge for you to use.

There is no guest access to the laundry, (although if staying 3 or more nights then you may use the washing machine, although please ask first). This is limited to one wash only throughout your whole stay.

Interaction with guests

I work 5 days a week and get home a bit before 6pm, most nights. Amber works around 6 days a week and usually gets home around 4-5pm. My partner and I are pretty busy during the daytime and usually relax together after about 7 or so.

I work as a tour guide for Moorilla wines at MONA and Amber works for Pagan Cider. We are both open and happy for a chat and are willing to offer any recommendations where we can. Although we do work a lot and tend to like some space and time to ourselves.

Please feel free to ask anything in regards to your stay and where you may want to visit. On the other hand if you've had a big day and want your space that is absolutely no problem at all.

Other things to note

We do have a strictly indoor cat called Jinx. Please do not chase him or try to grab him. He is very affectionate once he knows you well, otherwise he is likely to hide. So for most guests you may hardly see him. But since he is an indoor cat only, we just ask that you are wary and vigilant with the doors. Both my doors have screen doors that do eventually close by their own accord but it would be super super appreciated if you could remember just to close the main doors when entering and leaving. We would also appreciate it if you are leaving the house to close all windows and turn all heaters off. Thanks heaps.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 9PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Breakfast
Shampoo

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 9PM

- Please close doors when entering and leaving the home. (As we have an indoor cat, Jinx).
- Shoes off in the house. As we have carpet. Thanks heaps.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 1 night.

20 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Harry User Profile
September 2017
With mobile map app, we were able to delightfully find the location, and upon arrival, greeted with a wondrous view looking down at the surrounding. We stayed in a rather spacious room that allowed us to sleep soundly. This were a large wardrobe and a portable heater provided. Each morning, we enjoyed a simple bread/cereal breakfast with tea and coffee, before leaving the house, walking down gingerly a rather steep slope to the roadside where our car was parked.

Beatrix User Profile
September 2017
Easy, not complicated, cozy. Nice views. Even a breakfast included. Very nice host! Modern nicely furnished room! Stay with them!

Keiren User Profile
September 2017
Ian and Amber's house was great value. There isn't much to do in their area but MONA is only ten minutes drive away and restaurants/night life about 15-20 minutes drive. Having a car here is a must. The room was comfortable and brekky was provided, so generous. We really enjoyed chatting with them and would recommend.

Judy User Profile
August 2017
Casual and friendly guy Thanks Ian

Bella User Profile
August 2017
Host was really friendly, everything was clean and ensured that we are warm and comfortable during the stay. :) Every tourist information can be found in the room and it was beneficial for us. It is a thoughtful and caring move and it definitely helped us a lot!

Chantal User Profile
August 2017
Comfy bed, clean bathroom. Ian was super nice, and their cat is adorable

Alice User Profile
July 2017
Nice couple Amber and Ian are so nice. It's clean tidy and quite. We really enjoyed our stay at your place. Cheers

West Moonah, AustraliaJoined in August 2013
Ian User Profile

Hello, Amber and I are an easy going couple who both work, study and volunteer. We enjoy hiking, camping and getting into the outdoors and nature. We both have a wide taste when it comes to music and food. We love Hobart and look forward to meeting you and recommending places around Hobart.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings