Fully restored living room
Historic craftsmen home in downtown SLO

Entire home/apt

4 guests

2 bedrooms

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Historic craftsman bungalow built by locally renowned architect Harry S. Lyman that I (a local teacher) am restoring to its original roots in my spare time. Some areas are finished, some are still a work in progress (under construction). Overall, an awesome house with a great location to everything in SLO!

Short walks to downtown bars and restaurants. 2 blocks to free tennis courts and track at SLO high. Super close to Cal Poly for events.

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $71 NZD
Security Deposit $353 NZD
Weekly Discount: 21%
Weekend Price $353 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed

House Rules

Great place to host events but as always, need to be respectful of neighbors.



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

7 Reviews

Check In
Cyndi User Profile
September 2017
Greg is a wonderful host who is doing a fantastic job at restoring this old house. We love old houses and enjoyed our stay. Great location - you can walk to some wonderful restaurants and all of downtown is close by.

Daniel User Profile
July 2017
Pros: Beautiful main living space and front bedroom, welcoming host, flexible on check-in/check-out, well-stocked kitchen, pleasant back deck/yard. Finished spaces are really charming and have a character that was very enjoyable. Cons: 1 bedroom is "normal" (meaning a private door, of normal height, easily accessible). Second downstairs bedroom has no door to common spaces, has flimsy door to laundry room, and is the pass-through to access upstairs. May or may not be usable depending on group. Upstairs bedrooms accessible only via very steep stair that is more like a ladder, and are partial height doors/ceilings. Was not comfortable for use by my older parents, and luggage could be carried up only with difficulty. Would consider place essentially a 1-bedroom at this stage in the renovation.

Joseph User Profile
July 2017
Overall the home is spacious and in a great location, walking distance to downtown SLO. However the home is being renovated with some walls missing dry wall and open wires. The photos on Airbnb were misleading. There was dirty laundry left in the main bedroom as well as the kitchen. Watch your head if you go upstairs, the ceilings are low. The backyard is one of the best features including a wooden deck and hot tub.
Greg User Profile
Response from Greg:
I'm sorry you felt the photos were misleading. However as the listing states my home is in a constant state of renovation as it is being restored to its original layout in 1922.
July 2017

Khanh (Dana) User Profile
July 2017
Great location. Close to DTSLO. House is still in remodeling process so some things are still unfinished. There are 4 beds, 2 upstairs and 2 down stairs. To get to the top floor, you have to go through a staircase in one of the 1st floor bedroom. One of us were too afraid to sleep upstairs because it just seemed really odd. So that person slept on the couch in the living room. There are no ventilation upstairs so it was too hot for anyone to sleep. The 2nd bedroom on the 1st floor does not have a door. The living room had no curtain so everything was just out in the open for anyone's view. However, the neighborhood is fairly safe. The outdoor area is nice, but walk around before you leave your dogs alone; there are some areas that dogs can sneak out of.

Simon User Profile
July 2017
Great location, easy to walk to stores, restaurants etc. Greg was very responsive with questions etc, comfy beds, and aside from the occasional train very quiet. It is being renovated, so there are bare walls, beams etc, but the living/dining room is great. I would revisit when house has been completely redone.

Laura User Profile
June 2017
Good-Nicely located near restaurants within walking distance and in a nice neighborhood. Easy, pleasant check-in and easy-going, accommodating host. There is a hot tub in the back deck area, which we didn't check out. Not so good-Rooms upstairs like lofts with a low ceiling, accessed by a narrow, steep staircase. Probably best suited for school-aged children, but not great for young adults, older adults or young, not quite independent children. The house is being updated, so there are walls with exposed 2X4 beams and naked wallboard. The outdoor space has overgrown plants, with decks in the backyard--usable, but feels a bit neglected.

Patti User Profile
June 2017
Craftsman house near downtown area, under construction and lots of room:)

This host has 44 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
San Luis Obispo, California, United StatesJoined in November 2013
Greg User Profile

I am a teacher who loves traveling around the world! In my spare time I enjoy fixing up historic houses to their original form. I also love to cook awesome dishes that I have sampled around the world.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Similar listings