Guest bedroom, featuring queen size flexi slat bed, quality cotton sheets, feather duvet and pillows.Bedroom opens onto covered patio
Stay central Warkworth, 1 hr fr Auckland Airport
Stay central Warkworth, 1 hr fr Auckland Airport
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 shared baths
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

Warm single level home, in quiet location overlooking park and river. Peace and privacy, but only a short, 10 minute stroll into Warkworth township through the park.

The space

Our house is suitable for those with limited mobility as, apart from a small front step, property is on a single level. Our shared bathroom has a stepless shower, and toilet handrail. There is also a seperate, second toilet. Guest room features a flexible slat queen size bed, with high-count cotton sheets. The bed is also fitted with an electric blanket. We also offer an Ikea single foldout bed for an extra person.

We would also like to invite well socialised fur babies to stay, by arrangement. Our backyard is fully fenced, as we have two small dogs, a large Birman cat, and a fantail pigeon. There is a medium size crate available for use.

NOTE: We have a beehive on our property. Whilst the girls are normally placid, they can sting.

Guest access

You will, in most instances, be sharing our house with us - two semi-retired professionals. We are well travelled, and enjoy sharing our love of the area with others. We encourage guests to make themselves at home, and enjoy our facilities, including gourmet kitchen.

Interaction with guests

As a volunteer at the Matakana Information Centre, I have a good knowledge of how best to spend your time in the Warkworth and Matakana areas. John is a marine engineer, and avid model aeroplane builder/flyer. We own our own motorboat, and enjoy exploring the waters around the Hauraki Gulf, when we can.

Other things to note

Breakfast includes options such as homemade muesli, yoghurt, fruit, and bacon and eggs with toast. Wherever possible, products are sourced locally.
Dinner is available for $20 per person for a two course meal, or $30 per person including wine.
Please give me as much notice as possible, so I can prepare, and advise of any dietary requirements.


Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 12AM (midnight)
Self check-in with lockbox

- Not suitable to anyone allergic to bee stings, dog and/or cat hair.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

13 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Yayimz User Profile
August 2017
I would like to recommend this place. Carolyn and John very friendly and lovely couple. The room was clean. Lovely muesli and coffee. We had a great time here.

Darin User Profile
August 2017
Can't recommend enough. Excellent accommodation and genuinely nice hosts. I'd hope to stay here again should I be back in the area.

Peg User Profile
August 2017
A wonderful home away from home. Slept so peaceful. Great coffee.

Agnetha User Profile
July 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at carolyn and john's place. I felt very welcome, more like family, less like stranger. They gave advice on what areas and restaurants/cafes etc. to visit. The room is very nice with exclusive view (garden and nature reserve in background) and the big bed is comfortable (with electric blanket).Had a very nice meal with them and interesting conversations about bee keeping, steam boats etc. For breakfast i ate carolyn's nice home made (grain free) muesli. The pets(2 dogs and 1 cat) are very friendly, entertaining and energetic :) ( &quiet at night). It takes only a 10 min stroll through park to get to central warkworth(very convenient).would happily stay with them again.

Lucy User Profile
June 2017
Lovely stay with Carolyn and John. They are friendly and welcoming. It felt like I was staying with family. Carolyn is a fantastic cook, and there was home made muesli and yoghurt at breakfast. It is easy to find their house, and it was nice to have the dogs (small) and cat around. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Carolyn  & John User ProfileCarolyn  & John is a superhost.
Response from Carolyn & John:
Come back anytime, Lucy!
June 2017

Jeanne-Sophie User Profile
August 2017
Very nice place, bright, quiet and beautiful! John and Carolyn have been really kind to us. It was a real pleasure to spend time there.

Bren User Profile
August 2017
Was perfect...even got to take a nap with the fur babies...

Warkworth, New ZealandJoined in February 2012
Carolyn  & John User ProfileCarolyn  & John is a superhost.
We love meeting people, and sharing our love of this country. John is a marine engineer, and is semi-retired, enjoying his passion for building, and flying model aircraft. I have spent most of my working life in the travel industry, and then as an Operations Room shift manager …
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings