Retro kitchen.Clean tiled bathroom with shower over bath.
Comfortable room in great location
Comfortable room in great location
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Cosy furnished single bedroom in a retro flat. Shared comfortable lounge, kitchen, bathroom & laundry. Busy street, double-glazed windows. Close to Victoria St Richmond, Smith St Collingwood, Brunswick and Johnston Streets Fitzroy, many public transport options, restaurants, cafes, parks etc. Short drive to Eastern Freeway, Monash Freeway and the City

The space

Comfortable and clean. Suitable for one person.
Inc morning breakfast (cereal, toast, juice, tea/coffee). Discount for week-long stay. Ideal for city business or short-term stays.
Good location for an individual in Melbourne for Comedy festival, Music, Arts or Literature festivals, or short-term work commitments.
Suitable for potential student looking at Melbourne education facility options for future enrolment (RMIT, Melbourne Uni, NMIT, Prahran campus Melbourne Polytechnic, Swinburn etc)

Guest access

Own bedroom, single bed inc linen, clothes rail, drawers, desk & chair.
Living areas shared:
Lounge has couches, Freeview TV/DVD player/video player (yes, I got it recently because I like a degree of retro tech).
Kitchen is equipped with crockery and cooking utensils for on-site use - Morning breakfast provided; please self-cater any other meals.
Laundry has a good top-loader washing machine and powder detergent.
Bathroom has over-bath shower.
Small back yard.
There's a portable electric heater in all the main rooms, and a portable pedestal fan which may be moved. The building is 1930s double brick, the insulation this and the double glazing provides curtailing some of the variable exterior temperature Melbourne may be subject to annually.

Interaction with guests

I'm friendly but private and pretty busy, respectful of others' "space"; you'll have the opportunity for a quiet stay. This is my own home, I've put a lot of personal work into the renovation (ongoing as opportunity presents), and I love the place. Conscientious guests will be welcome.

Other things to note

Guests to be AirBnB members only, and the person making the booking is the sole guest - please do not book on behalf of others, thank you.
Maximum stay is one month. Please do not request to stay for longer or expect to be able to. If you need to stay in Melbourne for longer than one month or the time period you have booked for, please arrange your ongoing accommodation elsewhere beforehand, thank you.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Breakfast

Prices
Cleaning Fee $11 NZD
Weekly Discount: 29%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

No pets thanks. No extra guests thanks - suitable for one person only. No smoking preferred, or smoking only outside (please inform me if you intend to smoke and I'll have an ashtray accessible outside). $10 per week or part thereof for 'cleaning', however please be responsible for own tidiness and environment.
Composting and recycling actively in use and ethical and low resource usage where possible. No drugs or antisocial issues please.
(Gentlemen, as it's a shared bathroom, for everyone's comfort please return toilet seat to down when you're finished, thank you.)


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

22 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Oswin User Profile
April 2017
Kerrie was really helpful, gave me good instructions to get to the house, and waited for me when I was delayed. She was nice and easy going which was good because I was there two weeks! Finally she offered to take me to the airport when I was leaving which was sweet and unasked for . Location is really handy too.
Kerrie User Profile
Response from Kerrie:
Lovely to meet you, Oswin, and all the best to you!
April 2017

Andrew User Profile
December 2016
House is cosy and in a good location. Kerrie is a good host who helps you with what you need but also gives you plenty of space. The main issue for me was the blind over the bedroom was broken which meant there was no natural light in the room. Other than this my stay was comfortable and problem free.
Kerrie User Profile
Response from Kerrie:
(I'm sorry the blind issue was noticeable to you - I would have been happy to roll it back for you if I'd known you preferred it. As I mentioned, the blind spring had been broken by a previous guest; two places I took it to couldn't repair it, and it's a non-standard size so can't be replaced with an off-the-shelf one. However I will definitely look into it before the next guest booking, or will replace it with backed curtains if I can't find one that fits. Thanks for letting me know.)
December 2016

Sammy User Profile
May 2016
I was staying here for a month while doing an internship in the hospital. I felt very welcome in this cute comfortable house. Everything was there, complete and clean. There is maybe no working dryer, but the clothes dry really quick when hanged outside in the cute yard! The shower btw is great, really good waterpressure and like rain above your head. Really enjoyed showering haha:). Kerrie is a very sweet and helpful host and really tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible. She even lended me her bike and bought new lights, so I could use it to bike to my internship. I felt so at home! Infront of the house there is the busstop for the citybuses. Only a 10min busride and you're in the middle of cbd. Also the neighbourhood Abbotsford itself is a great place, it's a 5 min walk from Victoria St where there is a lot of (Asian - mostly Vietnamese) places to eat and to do groceries. It's right next to the other suburbs Collingwood and Fitzroy, which are great (hipsterlike) suburbs to go out in. Really cool bars and restaurants and awesome coffee/breakfastplaces! All pretty much walking distance.

Ardeshir User Profile
March 2016
Kerrie H is one of the kindest women that I have ever met! Her house is placed in a very strategic point! Seriously! It's in a great location. (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) buses are available along with 2 railway stations and Trams of course; Woolworths and Aldi and a 24-7 Anytime Fitness gym club and McDonnell's and etc. all in all are in less than 0.5 km walk! Moreover, IMAX Cinema and Unimelb are at your service by just catching one trams! Room is big enough to satisfy your expectations and for watching TV and/or especially studying, lounge room is awesome! I have literally studied 2 books in the duration of my stay., In continue I should confess that house basic amenities, such as shower and kitchen and etc., are in a good condition. However, dryer is not working for some reason. Finally, I would defiantly recommend Kerrie's house to others. Thank you so much for everything Kerrie. Looking forward to see you one day in Seattle WA, Greensboro NC or who knows maybe in Tehran.

Stefan User Profile
January 2016
Kerrie was a very friendly, communicative and obliging host during my whole stay. She even took me to the airport on the day of my departure. The private room was very clean and had everything that I needed. Kerrie also offered me to use the kitchen and the TV in the living room. I even could have borrowed her bike. As the location of her apartment is very close to the bus stop (1 minute walk) and the train station (7 minutes walk), I decided to use the public transport though. What can I say else? I just highly recommend Kerrie's place to other Airbnb guests. Thank you for being such a wonderful host, Kerrie!
Kerrie User Profile
Response from Kerrie:
Cheers, Stefan. All the best to you.
January 2016

Will User Profile
September 2015
Kerrie was a great host and the room was comfortable. I stayed with Kerrie for a week and slept well even though the house faces a busy road, thanks to the double glazed windows. Would recommend.
Kerrie User Profile
Response from Kerrie:
Cheers, Will. Lovely to meet you. All the best.
September 2015

Lukas User Profile
August 2015
I stayed at Kerrie's place for a month and didn't find anything to complain about. Kerrie will provide you with everything you need and is very uncomplicated and affable. The apartment is clean and cosy. The only thing i had to get used to was the fact that it was pretty cold in the flat except from my room. But I was there in coldest month and am used to a German central heating system so maybe it was just my perception. Thanks for everything Kerrie!
Kerrie User Profile
Response from Kerrie:
Nice to meet you, Lukas. Yes, it was a pretty cold year this year - Melbourne's not usually so chilly! (There are portable electric heaters in the bedrooms and lounge - these can be operated with the timer switch too. I'm installing a heater in the bathroom, as well as the existing exhaust fan. Besides this, there's a new 'wool-rich' quilt provided in the guest's room, which should be warm in winter, cool in summer, if it lives up to the sales pitch!)
August 2015

Joined in October 2013
Kerrie User Profile

Quiet, busy, music fan, film fan, graduate, freelance writer and visual production assistant. I lived in London for 5 years.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings