Doris Shepherds Hut at Lowes Farm

Entire home/apt

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

'Doris' is one of our 2 lovely, purpose built shepherds huts (see our other listing for 'Shirley'). It combines the romance of yesteryear with some modern touches (on board toilet, log burner, solar lighting) to make your stay a little more luxurious.
Set in a natural meadow on our small farm in the southern tip of the Peak District National Park, it's perfect for a romantic getaway, escaping from the stresses of daily life and getting closer to nature - but with some of the comforts of home.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 single bed

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 3PM - 9PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $19 NZD / night after 2 guests
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

The prices shown for Doris and Shirley are identical for up to 2 occupants.
Where there is a 3rd occupant in Doris an additional nightly supplement will be charged


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Emma User Profile
August 2017
If you want to get away from it all and really switch off, then go here! The Shepherds Hut is kitted out really well and is so cozy once the log burner is lit. The outside space is private and the bbq was great! We had loads of fun just 'being'.....We fed the sheep, chased the chickens, stroked the horses, read and collected wood....fab! The location is beautiful with a great cycle path - the Manifold Way. Word of warning........take plenty of food as not all the local pubs serve food in the evenings as it's such a chilled out place! No complaints though as its all part of the experience.. Thank you both and see you again next year!!
Bern User ProfileBern is a superhost.
Response from Bern:
Thanks so much Emma for the lovely review. It was brilliant meeting you all and we're really pleased you had a great time. Especially happy that Ruby enjoyed herself ! The sheep (especially Mungo and Max) send their love :) Thanks again and we'd be very, very pleased to see you again. Best wishes Nic and Bern x
August 2017

Hannah User Profile
August 2017
Absolutely beautiful converted shepherd's hut with lovely hosts. Nice and secluded with all the amenities you'd need. Will definitely be staying again!
Bern User ProfileBern is a superhost.
Response from Bern:
Thank you so much for the very kind words! We really enjoyed hosting you and would love to see you back again. Best wishes, Nic and bern
August 2017

Ryan User Profile
August 2017
Fantastic hosts and a great location. Having a car here though is a must as places to hire bikes and trails are around a 10 minute drive away. However the location is a perfect getaway for that romantic weekend. Fantastic hosts and a picturesque setting.

Neil User Profile
August 2017
We had a great stay in Doris an the children loved the friendly sheep and being outdoors. Everything was laid on for us and the welcome we received was superb. We'll be back again.

Kieron User Profile
July 2017
The host canceled this reservation 12 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Marie User Profile
July 2017
The host canceled this reservation 4 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Rachel User Profile
June 2017
This is a beautiful, quiet location. The hut is cute and gorgeous. But it has downsides. Unlike a campsite, you cannot park your car near your hut. As the storage in the hut is little more than in a tent (unlike a caravan), then using the car as storage is not really an option. The toilet/shower room looked lovely, and was very large, but the shower was not great. It is operated by a pull-out lever, which I found I kept knocking to either turn the shower off, or knock it into the very cold position! As it has little power (done on head of water, of which there is not much), then it is not possible to direct the water away from the lever to avoid this. Also, the drain was inconveniently located, directly under the shower head, so that you either had to stand in the hairs of the previous user, or stand with legs astride of the drain. The lack of power meant that showering took longer, so was perhaps a false economy. As were the strip lights, which are only more economical if turned on/off for 3-4 times a day, not many times as here, and hence have an irritating flicker. Personally, we did not like the shower room being entered through a door in the kitchen area; showering with your neighbour doing the washing up just the other side of an internal door felt a little weird. There is only one shower for the 2 huts, potentially up to 5 people. This did not present problem for us, but if everyone preferred a morning shower, and both huts were leaving the same day, this could have caused hold ups. Something to carry washing up to and from the utility room would have been useful. When camping I use a collapsible crate. One final bug bear - the gate, which you have to go through between the hut and the utility/shower or car - has a strong spring-loaded catch. This was hard to pull back because of the angle of the handle, plus the strength needed really did not do my bad shoulder any favours. Look, I'm being honest. It wasn't a bad stay, in fact we had a lovely time, but there were a few little annoyances, which I have highlighted, taking up a disproportionate amount of space compared to the positives, but I wanted to explain them so that other users know what they are letting themselves in for, thus making it less of a disappointment when they encounter them!
Bern User ProfileBern is a superhost.
Response from Bern:
Thanks for the feedback Rachel - to date we have only had very positive feedback and everyone who has visited has seemed to have been very pleased with the facilities. There are always compromises but we do try to make people feel at home and, as you do say, you had a lovely time. The huts are about 50 metres from the parking area and we provide a trolley for carrying luggage to the huts. Most guests come for the peace and quiet and though it might be more convenient for the cars to be a little closer, it does mean that guests are not disturbed by cars coming and going. Storage room in the huts is limited but most guests only stay for 2 nights and storage hasn't been raised as an issue before. Being in the National Park has the advantage of wonderful views and peace and quiet, but the downside is that our water pressure is not fantastic. Unfortunately there isn't a lot we can do about that. We recently invested several hundred pounds in an electrical system for the water that heats it to 45 degrees (the recommended temperature for showers) in a matter of seconds. We're sorry about the flickering light - we need to replace one of the components in the light and we appreciate your comments about the economical use of the lights. I'm afraid the layout of the utility area and the shower room was constrained by the original layout of the building and it hasn't appeared to have been an issue before - nor the ratio of 1 shower for 2 huts. Actually each hut is actually provided with a collapsible, blue, camping washing up bowl (in the dresser) for the the purpose you suggested of carrying washing up to and from the hut. You must have missed it so we'll look at trying to find a more prominent place to position it. Again, thanks for the feedback and we're sorry that there were those few annoyances and we're pleased that, despite the issues, you still had a lovely time.
June 2017

This host has 17 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Bern’s place.
Bern
Nichola helps host.
Nichola

The neighbourhood

Similar listings