Traditional French 18th century farmhouse
Traditional French 18th century farmhouse
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 private bath
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

Whether you're stopping overnight on a journey, or staying for a longer break, everything at Les Marchais has been planned to help you unwind and relax in this gorgeous area of the Mayenne countryside.

The region is fantastic for hiking, cycling, climbing and fishing, as well as having easy access to a great leisure lake with a beach and safe swimming.

Many beautiful historic villages, mediaeval castles, gardens and art venues are within an easy drive.

The space

Les Marchais is an old stone farmhouse, originally just two rooms with a storage loft above. The first floor was converted to living accommodation and an art studio in the early 1990's, and the whole house has had a near-complete renovation in 2017.

On site, we have a Dawes tandem which guests can use, along with bike maintenance basics; there is also assorted fishing equipment available including rods/pole, nets and accessories; also carp rod with reel, and pod for the bigger fish.

Guests are welcome to use the garden, which has a lovely west-facing terrace, and plenty of space for games or just relaxing

Guest access

The main entrance leads from the garden into the sitting room, which has a lounge area, a dining corner and a baby grand piano which guests may use if they play.

The stairs lead off this room, to the first floor which is dedicated to guests. Les Marchais can accommodate groups of up to six, in three rooms - a large double, a small double and a twin. The rooms are on the first floor, where there is a guest bathroom - we only have one party at a time so you will not find yourself sharing this with strangers.

Other things to note

I welcome families with older children, but parents need to be aware that there is a pond in the grounds, as well as regular activity on the neighbouring farm.

There is a friendly cat in the house, but he is not permitted in the guest rooms.


Amenities
Family/kid friendly
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises
Heating

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check-in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - One flight, with hand rail. Low head height!
Pet(s) live on property - One ginger cat

Cancellations

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rosy User Profile
August 2017
This is a great place to stay; we were on our way to Ile de Re and stopped for a few days. Carole was very welcoming, and great company. The accommodation is very clean and the beds are really really comfortable - Tour de France quality! The little room is great for stargazing. The piano provided a great focus for the piano players amongst us and Carole played for us too. Breakfast was great - fresh bread and pastries from the bakery + cereal/marmite for those not so keen, also fresh fruit and good coffee. Carole provided food for us when we arrived late on our first night and dinner for us on one other night which was wonderful; she catered for all tastes (inc vegetarian) and was the perfect host. It was a very laid back stay in a perfect location. We enjoyed cycling out on the resident tandem - the area is great for a bike ride. Would recommend Sille Plage & Sainte Suzanne, and the caves at Saulges (although book in advance).

Christopher User Profile
July 2017
Carole was an excellent host: she was very helpful and welcoming, whilst also respecting my privacy. On top of the accommodation, Carole prepared a delicious breakfast. The property was accurately described. I had a great trip.

Daniel User Profile
September 2017
Carole a le sens de l'accueil et sa cuisine est excellente. Chambre et salle de bain très confortable. Artchi, le chat, très cool. Et la région est très belle pour la randonnée et le cyclisme. Venez chez Carole!

Pierre User Profile
July 2017
Que dire... Tout est parfait, accueil, hébergement, tranquillité... Et rapport qualité prix. Carole est extrêmement sympathique, les chambres grandes... Un bon moment avec la propriétaire. Et en plus, très bonne cuisinière.

Wymondham, United KingdomJoined in March 2013
Carole User Profile
Interaction with guests

Breakfast of fresh local breads, juice, cereals, tea and freshly ground coffee is included in the room rate. Evening meals are available if booked in advance, on any day except Friday. This will be a simple dinner, using vegetables and herbs from my garden and as much fresh local produce as possible. I can serve this at any time to suit you, from 6pm to 8:30pm.

About Carole

I'm an ex-hospital doctor, and moved to France at the beginning of 2017. I share my home here with a big ginger cat. I'm a keen musician, and have a baby grand piano which guests are welcome to play. I also enjoy cycling, and am a fanatical knitter.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings