Light and airy bedroomMorning coffee in the garden
Double room for sleeping, garden for dreaming

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Double room in a comfortable 2 bed flat on a residential street. 5 minutes walk from the high street buzz, bars, street market, restaurants and excellent transport links for short hops to City and West End and all points South London. 30 minute walk to the Southbank and Borough/London Bridge. Relax in the garden when the weather allows. My flat is in a lively, diverse London neighbourhood.

The space

My spare room is comfortable, high-ceilinged, with a large window. It has a double bed for 1 or 2 people, drawers and hanging space for your things. The flat takes up two floors in a four storey late-Victorian house. The kitchen-diner is in the basement, upgraded a few years ago to open up the staircase, create more light and space and give better access to the garden, my pride and joy. The two bedrooms and bathroom are on the floor above. There’s a second w.c. in the basement. There are two other flats in the house, on the 1st and 2nd floors, inhabited by my friendly neighbours.

Guest access

Guests have a private double room. The bathroom, second W.C., kitchen-diner and garden are shared with me. You are welcome to use the kitchen, make your plans and chat at the kitchen table. Space and storage constraints mean that guests are asked to limit food preparation to snacks and light meals. There is no fridge in the guest room. I don't provide breakfast but please help yourself to tea, coffee, milk and sugar, seasonings, and the chives and mint growing outside the kitchen door. I provide towels and bed linen. I hope it is comfortable for everyone, but I don’t have a choice of pillows. You are welcome to use the wi-fi, iron, hairdryer, maps and guides.

Interaction with guests

This is my home and I am likely to be here sharing with you during your stay. I’ll certainly try to be here to welcome you personally and answer any questions you have – although all essentials should be covered in an info-sheet in your room. I love my neighbourhood and London, and have lived here for many years. I'm happy to share what I know to help you get what you want from your stay. Please feel relaxed and at home.

Other things to note

As the house is inhabited by neighbours in the two flats above, you may hear some sounds of normal daily life from the stairwell or the flat above. I don't have pets but the neighbour's beautiful tabby cats visit the garden and you're likely to see a fox out there.
My place is not high-tech or luxury – I hope to provide comfort in a relaxed space.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 18 / night after the first guest
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mattias User Profile
August 2017
We went to walworth and Elephant and Castle to attend to a wedding and stayed in Clare's beautiful home. It was a pleasure staying there and we really felt welcomed by Clare. Communications are very good and it's only a short walk to both bus and underground, and if you want to shop for food and necessities it's also very close. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back again soon and will most definitely see if Clare has got space for us then.

Claire User Profile
August 2017
Clare's place is convenient to public transportation into Central London. Comfortable room, lovely garden, helpful & sweet host . We would highly recommend.

Rachael User Profile
July 2017
Clare's place was fantastic, the room had plenty of space and the garden was lovely! I had no issues getting quickly into the city to see the sites. Would definitely stay again!

Megan User Profile
July 2017
My experience with Clare has been my best Airbnb visit yet. She is very friendly, knowledgeable of the city, kind, and just an all-around wonderful host!

Alex User ProfileAlex is a superhost.
July 2017
Photos don't do justice to the space - it's bright and spacious. I was quite comfortable and Clare was an excellent host. Recommend.
Clare User Profile
Response from Clare:
Thanks Alex. That's useful feedback. I'll upgrade the photos.
July 2017

Colleen User Profile
July 2017
My friend and I spent two nights in this lovely room. The room was clean and cozy. Besides, the house was within the walking distance to the metro station which was convenient. Also, Clare is a nice and helpful host.
Clare User Profile
Response from Clare:
Thank you Colleen. It was a pleasure to host you. All the best with your studies.
July 2017

Barbara User Profile
July 2017
Clare was a fantastic host. She is kind and helpful. We enjoyed spending time in her wonderful and colorful garden. Kennington park is a 5 minute walk away and if you like to walk Buckingham palace and the Borough market are not far. The house is clean. We will defenetly come back

London, United KingdomJoined in July 2013
Clare User Profile

I moved to London after studying and working in Brighton, California and Spain. This flat has been my home for over 20 years but I have a wanderlust and only recently returned from spending 2 years in Nepal, a love of my life. It's great being back in London: the river, the city walks, galleries, films, neighbourhoods to explore ......
As a host, I think you'll find me relaxed and friendly. I'm certainly happy to help you out with advice and recommendations about the neighbourhood and London, so just ask. After 2 years away, I'm also making discoveries in the ever-changing city, and I'd love to hear what you recommend from your trip. If you like solitude or prefer to follow your nose, that's good too. I won't intrude.
Overseas, Nepal is my favourite destination and it's hard to imagine not making more trips there and doing more Himalayan treks. I got to explore other parts of Asia last year and I'm adding Hong Kong to my list of favourite places. Closer to home, I'm Welsh, and love going back to beautiful green Wales with its fantastic coastline and hills. I'm also looking forward to making short hops to magnificent European cities again - so many left on my list! When I travel, I tend to follow a rough plan and try to fill it out as I go along. And I'm more likely to check in a rucksack than a suitcase.
Well, that's a bit about me. Now I look forward to meeting you.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings