Skip to content
House from the tickleView from the Gold Room
The Gold Room w/ Main Tickle View
The Gold Room w/ Main Tickle View
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

The Gold Room is located on the scenic main tickle of Change Islands with views of the coming and goings of local fishing boats. The house has three private bedrooms available for rent, with the Gold Room sharing two full bathrooms. Guests have full use of the house, including a kitchen stocked with food basics and cooking utensils. Arts and crafts in the house highlight the work of local artists, writers, quilters, and woodworkers.

The space

The house has two components: the original historical house built in about 1900 and an addition built in about 1995. The interior of the original house makes use of traditional materials -- plaster walls, pine wood siding and ceilings. It also has a barrel or circular staircase, unusual for the island. The house faces across the main tickle to the south island.
The house is situated a short walk from the town center where the post office, town center, health center, school, and one of islands' two stores are located. It is also an equally short walk to the eastern trail head of the famous Squid Jiggers Trail, the Olde Shoppe Museum, and the Seal Harbour Designs craft shop.

Guest access

Guests have full access to public areas of house, including kitchen, dining room, living room, two shared full bathrooms, a porch, and a wharf on the tickle.

Interaction with guests

Jim and Madge will be available at all times to help out with information, resources, and referrals.

Other things to note

The water supply to all houses on Change Islands is "temperamental." All residents make use of a central water dispensing facility for drinking water and cooking. Tap water is used for cleaning -- bodies and things! Water conservation is highly encouraged!

Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Shampoo
Heating
Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $12 NZD
Weekly Discount: 21%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Guests use a straight stairway to the second floor bedroom.
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door
Availability
2 nights minimum stay

2 Reviews

Deb User Profile
August 2017
Please check my other review. Jim offers a great place to stay on CI.

Deb User Profile
August 2017
Gosh, where to start? From the get go, Jim's communication was clear and prompt. He is "from away", but is really becoming part of the Change Islands community. His home is full of local art, quilts, and Newfoundland reading material. He has a can of Carnation in the fridge and he's got "hard bread" in the cupboard. If you know anything about Newfoundland, that will tell you something. I have historical roots on Change Islands, and Jim helped me make personal connections with people who knew my family nearly 60 years ago. That meant so much. Jim's home is beautiful, with a scenic view of the Tickle. You can sit on his front porch and watch the boats go by, or you can hike the nearby trails. I came as a guest, and feel like I left as a friend. Thank you so much, Jim, for a wonderful stay. Xox

This host has 18 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in March 2016
Jim User Profile

I am a gay, widowed male born and bred in the US. I've lived there all my life except for several long stays outside the country in the Netherlands, Poland, and Ghana. -- the first two for pleasure and the last for work. I'm an overly educated linguist, much interested in languages. That said I'm not really a good language learner, so expect a lot of hemming and hawing if you surprise me with your fluency in Polish or Dutch.
I'm retired now from an interesting career, but staying as active as when I was working, doing volunteering and unwinding.
An important part of who I am is linked with rural living and small communities. I have two getaway places in which to indulge that part of me: one in the state of West Virginia and one in the province of Newfoundland.
I cook, bake bread, read stuff, garden, watch more junk TV than I should, bike ride, hike, stay active, talk too much, but listen a lot too. Then in political season, which is about all the time in the States now, I root hard for the progressives. I am a believer in climate change, diversity, science, free education, universal health care, and equal rights. Some folks think I'm naive. I don't agree.

Languages: English, Nederlands, Polski
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Jim’s place.
Jim
Madge helps host.
Madge

The neighbourhood

Similar listings